[LIFE VIEW] Dealing with lies regarding your character.

in #steemtrail6 years ago


Image Source

This post is going to be about my personal experience dealing with this issue. For a few years I have been dealing with this and it has been extremely hard to say the least. However I have learned a lot dealing with this issue in my life, and it has made me wiser in the fact that I've learned how to deal with it in a positive way so to speak.

You know yourself. You know your flaws, your weaknesses, your strengths, you know yourself. So that obviously means you also know the type of character you have. It may be humble, it may be prideful, it may be boastful, but you know your character. Granted if you're like 6 years old you won't (lol) but being an adult I would assume that you do. And by knowing your character you know the type of person you are.

I for instance have the following qualities... ( Good and bad )

  • Patience ( Sometimes I have a lack thereof )
  • Being appreciative for what I have
  • Looking at a situation in a positive manner
  • I'm practical
  • At times I always think I am right ( Working on this one )

So with those qualities I know the type of person I am. I have been on this planet for a long time ( I'm in my 40's ) so I know myself. I know what I will and will not put up with in my life. With that being said, I now have the facts regarding my character when someone enters my life and starts to go against those facts. I'm talking about people who label you as something or someone whom you are not. Character wise.


Image Source

The above quote rings true. Your character is revealed when you do not have an audience that is ready to praise you. For example, you walk down the street, a homeless man asks you for food, and you have just bought take out. You standing there with the food in your hands, what do you do? There is no one around. It is just you and the homeless man. If you have a character of giving, you would obviously give the man your food, because you know he needs it more than you. If you are the type that enjoys praise and only does good deeds to receive that, then obviously you won't help the homeless man, because no one is around to give you praise. Even if it is the homeless man. You would want praise from others too for what you did.

Now with that being said, let's say you are the giving type. It's who you are. It's your character. Now someone comes along and starts calling you selfish. They say things like "You never help people" or "You just want everything for yourself". Now naturally when hearing statements like this being made about you it'll invoke anger, resentment towards that person etc. But here's the thing that's going to make you a winner when that happens... You ready for it?

  • You know the truth. You know you are not that type of person. You ignore said lies about you.

That is going to help you not get angry, not to lash out with hurtful words or arguing. Because by doing that you don't achieve anything besides negative consequences. If you know you're the giving type for example, and someone says the opposite of you, then let them say whatever they want! You know your character type, you know the truth. So who cares what they think of you or what they say about you. No matter what you do they're going to think or say that anyway, so let them! Don't let it get to you. The day will come when they see the truth, when they see that you are a giving type and not a selfish type of person.


Image Source

Don't worry what other people say about you. Don't stress when people accuse you of something or someone whom you are not! Let them say whatever they want, to whomever they want. Remain calm, and don't get into an argument with them, defending yourself. Why defend yourself if you know the truth? The truth will speak for itself, your actions will speak louder than words, as the image says. Don't waste your time with people like that. Be kind, but don't be a pushover and allow them to drag you into a senseless argument where you try and tell them you are not whom they say you are. They will believe whatever they believe, so just leave them, and continue living your life.

This may seem like harsh advice, but it's what I do. It doesn't mean I don't care about the person, but I'm not wasting my time with someone who lies to my face regarding my character. Then you obviously don't know me. Get to know me better then, and then re-evaluate me so to speak. But don't come and accuse me of things that I know isn't my type of character. Please, just go away.

In closing the same goes for me writing this. I mustn't make the mistake of judging someone's character when I don't have all the facts. That in itself is exactly what we've been talking about in this post. Do not judge people. Learn from them, teach them if you can. Enrich their lives the best you can, but do not accuse someone of a character type when it is not whom they are. Just don't.


Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73