[NON FICTION] My fears. ( Part 1 of 3 )

in #steemtrail6 years ago (edited)


Image Source

FEAR - an unpleasant emotion caused by the threat of danger, pain, or harm.
- be afraid of (someone or something) as likely to be dangerous, painful, or harmful

Hello and welcome. Today I want to tell you about my fears, where they originated from, and what I'm doing to overcome them. Fear is a horrible thing. it can cripple you to the worst degree, it can make you lose your speech, dryout your mouth, make you stutter, even paralyze you. Fear when not confronted can be a very, very powerful force. Then again, not all fears are bad. Fear of certain things can invoke motivation, which is obviously a good thing. So not all fears are bad, but not all are good either.

My fear of water


Image Source

Sweet motherless. Just looking at that image gives me the creeps. Now before I begin I just want to say that I'm not afraid of water in general. Like taking showers and baths I'm totally ok with. If it rains, I'm fine with that. I actually love the rain to be honest. I'm talking about large amounts of water, or deep water. That is what I am afraid of! It all started back in the day when I was super young, probably around the age of 15 or so. Our family went on a vacation to some place that had these pools.

The pools were filled with warm water, they were called warm baths. I distinctly remember the one day I was swimming with my sister. The water wasn't dirty, but it wasn't clear, from what I can remember. I was swimming underwater and she was standing upright in the pool. The objective was to swim between her legs and come out the other end. As I went underwater I had my eyes open. So here I am swimming towards her, underwater, and as I'm between her legs, she closes them. Which in turn had me trapped underwater. Now granted being siblings she was playing around, but I think at that moment something triggered, and I panicked.

I felt trapped, with no way out. After a few seconds she allowed me to pass through, and it was all in goof fun. I cannot remember freaking out on her, but since that day I've had this immense phobia for water and tsunami's etc. I'm so afraid of an asteroid hitting the ocean and creating this massively huge tsunami that's coming to destroy me, and that there is nothing I can do about it. I don't swim at beaches or in pools. How I'm trying to overcome this fear is to go to the beach and just sit there, enjoying the waves and things like sunsets. I'm scared yes, but little by little I'm overcoming the fear of a tsunami.

My fear of space, the unknown.


Image Source

This fear has been with me for a while, or for as long as I can remember. Maybe it's the damn movies I watch or something, but I have this immense fear of space, blackholes, the unknown so to speak. It really does scare me. The biggest fear of this is me thingking what would happen if I was "lost in space". I mean, it's not like there are any road signs or anything like that. What if I woke up one day and found myself drifting in space, just drifting, with no hope.

How I can relate to this fear so to speak is from the movie "Gravity". Watching that really scared me, oh my gosh. Imagine just floating in space, with only your suit and limited air supply. That would freak me out. At some point that air is going to run out, and then what? Suffocate to death? Which in itself is horrible just thinking about it! You cannot re-enter earth's atmosphere, erm, duh, with just a space suit? Yea, good luck with that. Blackholes also as mucha s they interest me, they scare the heck outta me.

Imagine being sucked into a blackhole. Not knowing where you will end up or for how long you're going to be in there. Sheesh. No thank you! The gravitational pull of a black hole is so strong that not even light can escape it. And here you are, being sucked into it. Just thinking about it gives me goosebumps. However, theories exist that time travel could be possible through blackholes, so maybe I'll end up in 1980 or something. hahaha. What am I doing to overcome this fear? Not much a person can do right. Just got to pretty much live it it I guess. Not like I'm going to throw myself into a blackhole so I can "face" that fear. LOL

Tornadoes


Image Source

The dark side of nature. Yet another natural disaster which scares the heck outta me. But you know the funny thing about natural disasters? They fascinate me, yet scare me at the same time. Weird, I know. Tornadoes fascinate me. Just that immense air pressure that builds up to create it, and the fact that you never really know where one is going to hit. Ok, I lie. You can have an idea, but I'm sure you cannot know for sure as in being able to pinpoint it.

The fear I have regarding tornadoes is being sucked up by one. I guess that is everyone's fear, but when I think about it, imagine being in the core, being right smack inside the tornado. Imagine that force that is present inside there. The sound, the noise, the fear of being pretty much certain you're going to die inside there. If not there, then when you're "spat" out by the "creature". I cannot handle that, that feeling of being inside it. It terrifies me, it really does.

I live in South Africa, Cape Town where tornadoes pretty much don't really exist here. Lucky for me! I have never experience one, I have never even seen once, and thank goodness for that! I do have a desire to see one, from far away though. From within a safe distance. But here where I live natural disasters don't really occur that often. What am I doing to overcome this fear? Nothing to be honest, LOL. If I move overseas I'll first check which cities are known for tornado activity, and avoid them at all costs. LOL


Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78