[NON FICTION] My fears ( Part 2 of 3 )

in #steemtrail6 years ago (edited)


Image Source

FEAR - an unpleasant emotion caused by the threat of danger, pain, or harm.
- be afraid of (someone or something) as likely to be dangerous, painful, or harmful

...continued

Heights


Image Source

Oh my gosh just looking at that picture makes me feel dizzy. I've never been a fan of great heights. It stems from my childhood I think where I used to climb onto the roof of the house and just look over the neighborhood. I wanted a bird's eye view of everything, but the cost involved wasn't worth the investment so to speak. When I'm high on top of whatever and look down I immediately get dizzy. it's like the ground is pulling me towards it. It's a horrible feeling to say the least.

Many people actually don't scare easily from great heights, but for me that isn't true. Even at theme parks, when I go on those rides I get frightened beyond belief. Yet I still go on them! LOL. I just cannot pass up that thrill you get when the ride is in motion and your stomach turns on the inside. It definitly is a rush! I do however close my eyes when in one of those rides, because I justc annot bare to look down. It freaks me out because I know I cannot exactly tell them to stop the ride. Why did I get on in the first place right?

In my adult years the fear hasn't gotten any better, or worse for that matter. I'm still frightened of heights and trust me, I stay away from high ladders or rooftops if I can help it. What am I doing to overcome this fear? Mmm, well I don't put myself in such a situation where I'm stuck wherever on top of whatever. However, if I would find myself in such a situation, I just take a deep breath and try to remain calm. Then slowly make my way down towards safety.

Snakes


Image Source

Aaaah man I really hate these things. Even those harmless mole snakes or whatever they are called, I hate 'em! To add to that hatred, I'm terrified of them too! You see, snakes are sneaky. They friggen crawl up or creep up on you when you least expect it. And it's not exactly like they're first going to give a warning before they attack. They just bite and lash out! Granted like a cobra or rattlesnake will warn you, but do you really want to be at that point already walking in a veld or in some forest?

I'm so scared of sleeping and then waking up to a snake looking me right in the eye! I'm terrified of that bite and the effects I'll suffer afterwards. Erm, duh, who isn't. I'm scared of them because they are slimey, they are dangerous, and yes most of them are lethal. I saw that Anaconda movie and oh my gosh imagine that, imagine being swallowed whole by a massive python. For me that thought is just too much to handle. I'm even terrified of handling snakes. Like those python's at the zoo or whatever, I stay far away from that if I can help it!

I'm not really sure where this fear came from? In my childhood I've never really encountered any snakes, I've never been bitten by one either. I used to play around in the fields quite a lot when I was young, and never ( luckily ) have I encountered a snake. We used to live in Kwazulu Natal and people used to get these house snakes in their post boxes because they look for warmth. Again, luckily I never experienced that. What am I doing to overcome that fear? Well, I have no desire to become friendly with snakes, so I just keep avoiding them. Fear is still there I guess.

Ghosts


Image Source

Oh man, here we go. I actually experienced this believe it or not. Yup, you read correctly. We used to live in a house that was close to a chicken farm. My brother and myself slept in the same room, and my sister used to have her boyfriend sleep over too, however he always slept in the living room. He was a nice guy, straight shooter from what I can remember. So there was this one time that he told us while he was sleeping he heard this tapping sound, like the sound of a coin being tapped on a wooden surface. My mom and dad had this cupboard thingy in the living room. He told us he distinctly heard a tapping sound in the middle of the night.

Not exactly a ghost, but definitely weird. He also heard this sound on more than one occasion while sleeping over. There was also this apparition, or whatever you call them, that used to appear to me in my room. I remember waking up and seeing this tall man with a black hat, kinda like a fedora, leaning against the wall at the entrance to our room. He had dark clothes on and all he did was lean against the wall. Never moved, never whispered, just leaned. I never really saw his face but I knew enough to know it was a male.

I used to wake my brother and he didn't see anything. I saw this apparition on more than one occasion. It was clear as day. Wasn't a dream and I wasn't sleep walking. I was fully awake. After a few minutes he would just be gone, as quick as he appeared. He didn't seem threatening in any way, but I definitely saw him a few times in the middle of the night. Really scary to say the least. What am I doing to overcome the fear of ghosts? Remain calm if I see one and don't panic. That's pretty much it. LOL

...to be continued


Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89