[NON FICTION] Things I like ( Part 4 of 5 )

in #steemtrail6 years ago (edited)


Image Source

Encouraging others


Image Source

I love encouraging others. I love trying to build people up, to try and make them see the positive side to every situation. I used to suffer from depression way back in the day, so I know what it feels like when everything seems lost, when all hope seems to have faded. It is an absolute horrible place to be in, and I do not wish it upon anyone, no matter how badly they treat me.

Everyone every now and then needs encouragement. If you are going through a difficulty or a trail, and someone speaks positive things or thoughts into your life, it uplifts you. it gives you hope. Encouraging others gives me a feeling of happiness, not because I can take their problems away, but because they have someone who can uplift their spirits, speak hope into them. If someone loses their job, encourage them that they'll find another job. No matter how long it takes. Help them where you can.

These motivational speakers do pretty much the same thing. How many times after watching one of those videos you feel fired up, ready to face your fear or troubles huh? It's encouragement, positive words ( which aren't just words ). However you can encourage someone until you're blue in the face, if they don't listen to your words and put it into practice then it's pretty much a waste of time. I love encouraging people because I believe everyone has the potential to be great, to be victorious in any situation.

Smoking


Image Source

Oh my gosh, here we go. Ok, let me have it. How can this be something that you like! Are you mad! That stuff is going to kill you! Yes and yes, I am mad for liking this, but hey at least I'm honest. You want to know what the funny thing is... I don't even smoke for the stress. I smoke purely out of habit. A very bad habit to say the least, which started because I wanted to be part of the "cool" gang. Yea, look where that got me.

I've been smoking for longer than a decade. It's weird though because I'm not really sure why I like it. I've quit smoking for a year way back in the day, then I started again. I think I like it because after a long day it's nice to just have a smoke and relax. Sure there are other ways to relax like reading a book or watching a movie or doing yoga, but for some reason I just like to "chill" and have a cigarette. It's a habit I definitely want to shake because it's just so expensive and the health reasons are reason enough to quit.

Maybe I should at least try and quit. But you see, I don't believe I'll succeed in breaking the habit until I get to the point where I want to quit. I believe unless you really want to do something, or have the determination to shake a bad habit, you'll never truly succeed, because there will always be that part of you that still wants to do whatever you're trying to shake. Ugh, that kinda sucks now me reading it to myself. LOL. But for now, yes, I like smoking.

Reading


Image Source

Ooh here's something that I used to do a lot when I was in high school. Man, I used to read so many books. Fiction, non fiction, basically anything. At one point I even "read" the dictionary. Can you believe it! Fiction I really enjoyed, like those spy thrilelrs. I got so caught up in the story that I could visualise everything that was written. I used to read 600 page books in like 3 days. Remember though, that I was about 16 at the time I think, possibly younger.

These days with the internet and all E-Books are pretty much the norm. It's so easy to download something in .pdf form and read it on your phone or tablet. Which is actually really cool considering you don't have to carry the book around with you everywhere in hardcover form or whatever. But there's just something about holding a book that makes it feel like a book. The sound of turning a page, the smell of the book, stuff like that. I've also noticed that reading improves your vocabulary tremendously!

It also improves your knowledge, well, non fiction does. I guess fiction can also teach you something, like how to better describe a situation or something that has happened to you using your words. Sadly I don't read that much anymore but I really want to get back into it. I spend way too much time on the internet as is, however Steemit is a good way to get back into reading if you ask me! All these wonderful articles we have on this platform ( cough cough ) LOL. Yea, I should definitely start reading more seeing how I like it so much!


Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75