The cool things you see in NYC - Harry Potter

in #steemusa6 years ago

The cool things you see in NYC - Harry Potter

One of the cool things about NYC is when you are walking around you are never sure what your going to see, for example yesterday I was at 8th Ave and 34th Street just about to get in an Uber and head back to my office, when out of the corner of my eye I noticed a young guy maybe mid twenties walking passed on the roadway start naked, not a thing on.

Well as I said I was just getting into the Uber and had a big box in my hands and didnt have a chance to snap a photo and not sure if I would want to do a NSFW post so you can keep reading this post is not about that guy, but something else I saw.

Harry potter display_-3.jpg


Sony A7iii 70mm F5.6 1/125 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


One Morning I detoured through Times Square on the way to work and I saw this atop of a building in the distance and was quite intrigued as to what it was.

Harry potter display_.jpg


Sony A7iii 70mm F5.6 1/80 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


The first shot was zoomed in to see what it was, here is a wider view you can see it seems that part of this piece is not only the thing atop the building, which I am not sure how to describe, but includes work on the side of the building, which lead up to this child i guess in a nest with wings.

Harry potter display_-2.jpg


Sony A7iii 70mm F5.6 1/60 ISO 2000
Click here to view larger


But then I saw this and I am guessing this is all part of the Advertising for a Harry Potter Movie or event in NYC.

Any Harry Potter fans on here that can confirm or correct my guess?


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.757292 lat -73.985863 long Times Square NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Well, that's a pretty effective advertising technique! I imagine the production will do well, given how awesome the HP stories are. I still like the first books better than the Cursed Child, but that's me. Great post, as always!

Thanks I have only read the first book I should get into reading more of them I guess

NYC does thishuge advertising style so well for sure

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is a theatre production based on a character from JK Rowlings 7th Harry Potter book, Deathly Hollows. A good read even for adults! I am glad you didn't get a photo of the naked guy. We have a mentally ill young man who walks from Poneloya to Leon. some 25 km, in the buff at least twice a year when he goes off his medications.

I dont think even if I had my camera in hand I would have got a photo of him, I felt sorry for whatever had led him to be in that state

It is sad. You would think that in this day and age we could take better care of folks...

yes it is sad to see sight like this and people sleeping on the street in winter especially

I love Harry Potter and have heard of the Cursed Child but I haven't read the play yet. I looked it up and yeah, the sculpture is part of advertising for the show. Pretty cool. I wish I lived in NYC so I could see it.

https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/harry-potter-cursed-child-unveils-broadway-theater-marquee-1089319

Thanks for the link I must have been tired when I did my searching LOL

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-cool-things-you-see-in-nyc-harry-potter


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Oh yes! That is me! I am A big Harry Potter’s fan! Great post JJ! Congratulations

I have watched I think the first few movies I must catch up with the rest

I don't know enough about Harry Potter to confirm this but I love that piece on top of the building. The child looks so real at first glance. I'm glad you saved us from the naked man. I am sure that was a sight to see.

I dont think I would have taken a shot of the man anyway I was filled with concern about what had lead him to be in this state

Yea that's exactly what I was thinking. I was just watching a documentary the other day about some drug that makes people get naked because their body temperature rises and they feel super hot. I would have stayed away too.

That is a scary sounding drug, well there are so many scary drugs out there its a strange world we live in

Yes it certainly is. I think it was the drug Molly. Apparently if you get the cheap chinese made Molly, you take your clothes off and run in the streets naked. The documentry showed several people that were doing that. Doesnt sound very fun to me.

Wow. amazing piece of art. thanks for sharing the images with us.

And thanks for your visit and support

What an interesting looking piece. It is so sad to hear about the person walking out like that though, places can be so harsh. I am not a harry potter fan myself so I can't confirm anything about that piece, but it was a really cool observation.

I have benetold its advertising a play that’s going on inthe City thats Harry Potter based so my guess was correct

It was sad to see that guy makes me wonder what lead him to be in that state

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Great find! Your photography skills captured something even more interesting. I did not know about this either and gained some new info.

Thanks your always so kind

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34