The Little Blue Heron

in #steemusawrite6 years ago (edited)

STEEM (1).png
STEEM.png
image from the Steemusa post

The Little Blue Heron

Oh, not again. fish for dinner!! Can't my mom think of anything else? Fish, fish, fish.
I want a juicy gopher for a change. Uncle egret told me about how tasty they are and I can't wait to have one.
Mom always says in that way she has - looking down her peak at you like you are just a little bird - nothing else. Well, she says that no self-respecting blue heron would ever want to eat gopher.
What does she know? Uncle told me how tasty they are. And I am here in this water and I can see myself. I am not a little kid anymore that deserves those lectures. Self-respecting Blue heron my butt. She always tells us not to do things.
No wonder brother decided to move out and be on his own. Or maybe he just liked that girl? He says he wants his own nest but he promised to come and visit sometime. But i haven't seen him in forever.
When I think about it, I am a little bit happy because he always ate most of the food mom and dad brought home. And he took up so much space in the nest.
But we used to come together down here to the water and see who could poke the most fish. So much fun!
There is a trick, you know. You have to stand really, really still and wait.
Be patient, he would say. Just like mom. She keeps talking about being patient and learning and paying attention.
I am.
Look. Don't I look beautiful in the water? I look big and grown up.
I can do what I want!
Today is the day.
I am going to fly all over the field and find myself a gopher.

This is an entry to the new writing contest by @steemusa. Look for a new prompt every Thursday. Here is the latest

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Freewrite.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

Sometimes you just have ta go fer it. Patience be damned, time to spread the wings and set flight to new heights.

Right? We just have to do it!!

Patience what is that I somehow missed that when I was put together, could be why I never go fishing

Greta story and entry

I don't like fishing either 😄

Fantastic way to use this prompt! It was even better because you left it based on a decision the bird made yet the story is still open, could go anywhere. Very enjoyable POV. Thanks for joining the challenge.

Thank you for organizing it!

Great post! I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mariannewest from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15