The Steem Awakens… Too Soon [Steem Wars]

in #steemwars6 years ago

Made in Canva

I was supposed to get a broid to help around the cave. Didn’t think it would come with a message from some weird-looking dude who claims to be a doctor. Now the broid is intent on stealing a ship to return to its “doctor” Master. I’ve had quite enough of stalking... sorry, looking out for this lad of my last failed apprentice. Always looking to the stars. What’s wrong with the red deserts of Tutu’een?

Grabbing my pink tutu, I follow this inquisitive and stubbornly annoying hunk of junk to a starship on the outskirts of the desert. So far from home. I wish the Steem Lite were still with me. After all, who controls the Steem, controls the galaxy far far away. Sigh.

“No 80085, you can’t steal this. What kind of a name is ‘Eon Hawk’ for a starship in any case? I am Ani-won Kirsten, your new master.”

80085 beeps and boops my nose. Like Steem I can understand what it’s saying. And I’ve always liked the 80085 models, but not this carbon variant. Too fake. The silicon variants aren’t so bad, however. More natural to the touch.

When I just escaped to Tutu’een after evading the Siff Lord-turned-Emperor Palpate’Me
“Wait, don’t!” I run after the broid, into the starship that should have been decommissioned ‘eons’ ago. Its engines whir to life, and I can’t help remarking on the similarity of sound as when I get that first sip of coffee’een into my body. The starship blasts into hyperactive-space with me trapped inside. Bouncing off the walls, I struggle toward a chair in the cockatoo pit that should really have at least two seats more instead of only four.
 

If only my old master were still with me. Physically, that is. His Steem-ghost, on the other hand, never leaves me alone. Strange, he hasn’t haunted me since last night. Oh, well. About time he gets over what happened to him. It wasn’t my fault he let a goth wannabe Siff Lord kill him. Besides, I avenged him. No appreciation.

“Now what?” I turn to 80085 when the eons-old ship sort of wiggles its way out of the atmosphere. The broid beeps, comes closer, then boops again. “Stop that!” I smack its finger away, scraping my nose in the process.

“We’ll stop at that moon and get co-ordinates cleared up. I’m not going anywhere until you show me our destination.” I lean closer to the visor. A battered ball of a ship comes into view. “That’s no moon.” Sitting back, I fold my arms over my chest. My tutu’s frills tickle my forearms. “More like an asteroid.”

This is me now. Those look like a wand and sword, but really, they’re just walking canes.
Master, where are you when I need you? Typical of him. Why has the Steem Lite forsaken me? Doesn’t matter, I guess. 18 years on a desert planet, looking after an entitled brat of a nemeses will have that effect. I tinker with the controls. No idea what I’m doing, but trusting the Steem Lite to guide me.
 

The co-ordinates pop up on the 32-bit screen. Fancy tech. ‘Dagga,bra System’ is marked as our destination. Finally, some good news. The Steem is strong on one of the moons there. But what’s this? Some other ship is in the way. ‘The Darth’? Oh, great. Just my luck. Unless this is what the Steem has in mind for my destiny?

“80085, set course to intercept that ship. I feel the Steem within it.” Shuffling out my tutu, I head to the boarding lock of the Eon Hawk and prepare to meet my destiny.

...

Copyright © 2018 Anike Kirsten

All rights reserved.

This is my character introduction for the Steem Wars project that will conquer the Steem galaxy. I am Ani-won Kirsten, old Git-out Knight of the Repubic. I have heard the call from Dr. Muxx who actually called twice before but I missed them. They were picked up by my answer-machine-dohicky here and here.

...

Are you a writer and looking to hone your skills? Join us on The Writers' Block Discord server by clicking on the gif below:





Have you voted your witnesses yet?


Witness banner.jpg

Follow me and stay updated with more posts:

Short Stories | Artwork | Poetry | Non-Fiction Articles

Vectors by PublicDomainVectors.com

Sort:  

Princess KatLe'a takes note of the tutu and wonders how she can work it into her wardrobe.

Good luck with the Darth. May the Steem be with you!

Great intro, Ani-won! I intend to write mine this weekend. I plan to take this very very seriously. (Not!) :-)

Haha! Ani-won is pleased with this

The perfect mix of actual sci-fi, parody, and humor.

I like your character, but you don't seem like the tutu type. :)

Thanks, Neg!

No, not the tutu type at all. But hey, the things we do for characters and parodies. Ace Ventura inspired that detail, to hint at the current state of sanity.

LOL, a Tutu in space... Gotta love the fashionable star wayfarer. May the Steem fill your, wait sails? Fuel your cruiser? I'm not sure of the proper salutations for Steem force.

Fill my wallet would be nice, haha.

Can't rock the galaxy without a tutu. Gotta stand out, be noticed and feared.

I love the character. Heheh walking sticks.

Can't wait to read yours, Speedy. We should still discuss the mission and all that Steemy jazz.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63243.61
ETH 3078.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89