SteemWorld ~ Newsletter #4 / March, 2018

in #steemworld6 years ago (edited)

Awesome times ahead! I've finished developing the SteemWorld Web API and Desktop Notifications and I'm now in the phase of testing and optimizing it so that it will hopefully be ready to use in the coming week. Tomorrow I will register a new server that is only being used for running a steem node and parsing new blocks every minute.

The server costs are ~ 90$/month (very fast machine) and I hope that I can pay it with my rewards here on Steemit. In my local tests the requests were executed really fast (~ 1-10ms) by using SQLite (on SSD).

This post is meant to be for testing purposes in the coming days and to give you a small preview of what is about to come soon...

Preview (some things might change)

A click on one of the Notifications brings us directly to the Mentions/Followers Overview:

Overview for new followers (date & time will be added soon)

Links


@steemchiller (Test)

That's not all ~ More details in the next Newsletter ;)
Thanks for your support!

Sort:  
Loading...
Loading...

Danke für deine unermüdliche Arbeit für die Community.
Ich freu mich auf die neuen Entwicklungen und denke, da ist Einiges für mich dabei. Wenn du so weiter machst, wirst du die Serverkosten mit links drinne haben und ich hoffe, du verdienst was dran :D

very great!

I really love your steemworld, which is so fast and convenient! I wonder where you get the data, directly from the chain or by steem-sql?

Thanks! Most of the data comes directly from the steem nodes via the 'Steem JS API'. When my server is ready I will change some requests to work with my own webservice so that the other nodes are no longer being required and I'm not so much dependent on external data sources.

Thank you for your great work.
Another question, does that mean you are trying to set up a steem full node and create a webservice based on that? Based on my experience, a full node need at least 200GB memory.

Wonder how you can implement that. I also have a similar requirement for that, still don't have a good way to achieve that.

A full node requires way too much RAM in my eyes. I'm building an own solution with PHP and SQLite on SSD. Important to know is that you can't use all the API functions with a simple node but it is still possible to receive blocks.

I'm going through all these blocks and put the relevant data in indexed form into my own SQLite DBs. From there it is available for super fast access by the requests from the clients. It has been a lot of work in the past weeks for me but it works really fast and enables me to do much more than the default node APIs provides to us.

Edit:
An example of what I can show only by parsing the whole chain is the real post count. The field 'post count' on SteemWorld will display the real number of posts and comments (separated). That's even not being shown on Steemit because it is not possible with a full node.

Thanks for your full explanation. It sounds similar to https://github.com/steemit/sbds

Yes, that goes into that direction. I've tried to get sbds to run but no chance... :) I now prefer to stick to my own service so that I don't loose much time on finding out how external developments work.

awesome!!!! thanks steemchiller!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you for the great work! :) Loved the website!

Hi! You ve done a great job and I am definitely looking forward to see the desktop notifier in action @steemchiller (let s see if you receive the mention notification!).
I would like to know if you plan to make your API open when ready?
EDIT: upvoting myself for visibility.

Thanks! Yeah I've received the notification ;) I want to make the API public as soon as I can make a living with my rewards on Steemit. It would be best to put it on an own server so that the performance on SteemWorld is not being influenced by external tools. Another way could be to make the server scripts open source so that other devs can easily start their own webservice with it.

Well sure, and making it opensource could bring you additional rewards from Utopian. Also you should take a look at the @budgets initiative from @jerrybanfield, he might help you financing your project.
I am developing the Steemplus extention (Idk if you heard of it), and am always looking for new ways to add value to my users. Are you active on Discord or steem.chat?

I'm on steemit.chat but not really active, because I want to concentrate fully on my work currently. I sign in once a week or so to answer the received messages.

It is indeed the best global service ever done to manage your steem account. I'm using in a daily basis.
Thanks @steemchiller .
By the way, would not you be interested on continue or renew the steemwhales seervice or anything similar?
I really miss it as well. Have a look to this post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@toofasteddie/anyone-knows-why-steemwhales-does-not-work-anymore

and specially the comments of the post.

Cheers

Thanks! Yes, the steemwhales overview is one of the next points on my list. The parsed db enables me to implement many more cool features ;)

That will be the perfect app then! 👍🏻

Thanks for the continuous development of SteemWorld! I'll promote it always in my signature because it's one of the most useful visualizations for user profile since i discovered it months ago. Resteemed and.. of course my full upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73