Are these chem trails?

in #steepshot5 years ago (edited)

357f2d7f-e7f7-4b89-82b3-8585e725d785.jpeg


Just got out a bit and wearing my sunglases I could take a look towards the sunny sky and to my amazement I saw this plane trails that seem to have spent some time on the blue blue sky without wanishing. Thing that got me asking myself if they were chem trails. I read many years ago by such things and I know that you can't expect anything good from them. I saw them very often in big cities, but over a small town never. Or at least I wasn't paying attention. What do you think are these chem trails, do you think that the conspiracy theory of such practices is viable and why would "they" do that?

Thanks for your attention


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

There is the #lookup tag, populated by @aboveus, @lyndsaybowes, @hickorymack and others.

I must say that among all conspiracy theories, this one seems to be the more credible: there is some geoengineering going on, possibly to mitigate the effect of the greenhouse effect.

I'm not convinced there is any conspiracy going on, but on the question "does contrails affect the climate", the answer is definitively "yes". There does exist some research on it, some quick googling and I found those two articles: https://www.nesdis.noaa.gov/content/do-contrails-affect-conditions-surface and https://news.psu.edu/story/361041/2015/06/18/research/jet-contrails-affect-surface-temperatures.

There are far too many airplanes in the air. Personally I've drastically reduced my flying miles after I settled down in Oslo and changed job, in addition we're doing less flying as we do most of our vacations on our sailing boat. At the other hand, the children are still having grandparents in St.Petersburg and Tromsø, that does incite some flying. Nowadays we rarely bother to do those travels by land or sea.

Oh, on another note - the contrail climate effect does to some extent offset the greenhouse effect - but is it good? Not at all. It does indeed mask the effect a bit, but while the greenhouse emissions are accumulating and it will take many centuries to reverse them, while the contrail effect disappears within 12 hours. I'm concerned that the contrail climate effect is masking the greenhouse effect a bit, hence making it less obvious that the greenhouse effect is a problem that should be tackled urgently ... just like an efficient fan would remove smoke and heat, and make it less obvious that the house is on fire ...

In Norway everyone is ecstatic about electric propulsion and batteries - and the plane enthusiasts keep telling that we'll have electric airplanes in some few decades. That may help curb the greenhouse emissions, and it will probably also reduce the contrail problem.

Electric cars and planes will definitely have a positive impact on the climate, but untill we will see almost all of them electric will pass some more years. Sailing can be an alternative but a slow one. Enjoyable though if you get passed the sea sick.
I am still wondering though about the chemtrails theories that claim such trails contain heavy metals and all sort of viruses. Will check tommorow the links you shared. I am using my smartphone and it's not at hand at all.

@acesontop Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79