Little girls (My grandmother as a little girl in Ireland).

in #steepshot6 years ago (edited)

49e6c3f7-3c4a-48c0-9b24-1792f2634394.jpeg


When I was a little boy at my mother's knee, she used to sing to me:

"Little girls are made of sugar and spice and everything nice.
Little boys are made of snakes and snails and puppy dog tails"

The trauma from repeated listening to this must have been so extensive that here I am, a lifetime later, still without a successful relationship!

Thanks a lot Mom!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

A Grandmother is someone special in your life Someone who always has time, Time to listen, time to play Time to visit the zoo Time to linger and look at the things I want to do Time to laugh, time to sing,Time for me, her grandchild, just to be Time to read, time to walk Time to let me just play at the dock.
Your grandmother looks really adorable, I haven't seen such a pic of my grand mother. Your really are lucky.
"Little girls are made of sugar and spice and everything nice.
Little boys are made of snakes and snails and puppy dog tails"

These words are really awesome.

The words are NOT awesome! They are a lie :-)

My Mother should have warned me that there is at least a little bit of snake in little girls (and big ones too!).

Maybe it wasn't the age to tell you so, and I think your mother knew that you will learn that by yourself

I never even got to see or know my mother not to talk of grandmother, I guess I hardly know how these memories feel like @onceuponatime

Your grandmother was Little Red Riding Hood? And was your grandpa the wolf? Is that why your mum sang this rhyme to you?

By the way, my grandma would sing things that went like:
"those juicy lemons look like my grandma's breasts" (in greek it rhymes). Apparently early hearings take their toll on adult life!

Apparently they do!

And for sure my Grandfather was a wolf, but also a snake charmer!

A wolf and a snake charmer? He mut have been a hybrid?😀

Mysterious creatures those ancestors! :)
I wonder what their descendants were like...

@ruth-girl this what I thought too
lol

As Robert Greene would say, we all have unfinish business from childhood. We can either seek help or learn how to deal with them in order to subside their effect on us.

Sounds like he knows what he is talking about!

Your grandmother is sooo beautiful in that photo!! :))

Regarding the "cute" song... I guess not all girls are made of sugar and spice and everything nice :P Same for boys.. That's a bit misleading :)

"a bit"

LOL

Oh my!. Mama lied huh? Hahaha. She must have her reasons I guess. At least you have @twiceuponatime

Do you think that @twiceuponatime will stick with me to the end? For better or for worse? I don't trust him!

Hahaha I think he will. He might annoy you a little bit more, try to take credit for your hard works or take some girls away from You, but he doesn't look like he is going away anytime soon.

I don't trust him too hahaha...but I think he will stay.

Same here had to learn all that on my own. Could save me so much time hahah!))
Well... your grandmother on the photo is a very beautiful little angel when she was a child. So no snakes there.

Your grandmother in this photo as an illustration to the fairy tale "Little Red Riding Hood". Even the grey wolf is near! Well, about the song, don't blame your mom for the injury. Most likely, mothers sing that girls are made of sugar, so that boys take care of girls and dream of a sugar kiss)))

You are so romantic!

Beautiful photo. it may be God's will, not to have a successful relationship :(
i wish you all the best from now on..

God does seem to have a sense of humour, eh?

He may be not have sometimes... :)))

:)

Gorgeous photo and I am not just saying this to flatter you. Actually, your grandma looked like a beautiful girl from a German fairy-tale of the 18th century. A real treasure that photo is!!!

But she was Irish!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29