A LOVE STORY-Melina episode 4

in #stories6 years ago

MELINA
Episode 4
My phone rang after the stress of the day and it was my mum .
"Mom what's it?"
I screamed as I could hear her cry , she was sounding like someone was dead but I assumed on falsehood.
"Your father .....your father "
"My father what?"....I said quickly as every atom of patience in me had disappeared.
Before I could spell "what" she had hung , I became worried , and I called Henry asap .
"Henry ...I need to travel right now ,my mum just called and she ain't sounding nice ,please cover up for me , when I am back I will tell you everything, and how it went ...thank you ."
I rapd it all up without allowing him say a thing , I hung , gathered few clothes and took the night bus .
As I was sitting in the bus , I was thinking and over thinking .
"Could it be that dad is dead !?
"What about my education?
I tried my mom line again and it was switched off .
When I got home , no one was at home except Linda .
Linda is the daughter of my late aunty , she has been staying with us since when her mother died and her daddy married another .
"Linda what's happening!"
I asked as I rushed into the compound like someone who was being chased .
"Broda!, Your dad had an accident with his bike as he was coming back from market , he has Being taken to the general hospital beside the market square "...she said with tears .
"Okay ...keep my bag let me rush , don't cry yet , papa will be okay , I assured her with a shattered heart .."
I ran towards the east direction of the town ,as I approached the hospital , I could hear my mum's crying voice , immediately I opened the gate , momma rushed towards me .
"Two million naira ,my son , two million,where will I get that type of money , will I steal? , what will I do !...." She lamented bitterly as she fell on me .
"Mama don't worry, she will be fine "
I tried so hard to console her ,hiding my own emotions .
"Where is the doctor in charge ?"
I asked ,as the nurse looking at our emotional scene led me to the room ,my dad was admitted .
When I met the doctor ,he took me to his office , so we could talk .
"My son , your dad's leg is seriously damaged , we have saved his life but he has to undergo a surgery before he can be on his feet again , here is the x-ray.......
He handed me a black cabon with a white smoked figures on it , before he continued .
"...... To get that leg straight and strong again we will need the sum of two million naira , or else he will be on wheel chair till he leaves this world " ...
I was dumbfounded, what to say wasn't there , I wanted to say something but I ended up closing my mouth after opening it.
"But he is alive ?"
I managed to ask , a question the facial expression on the doctor's face showed "unexpected" and "unbelievable".
"Yes , just that he won't be able to walk "
"Does the surgery have a limited time that it can't work out again ?"....I asked with a low tone .
"Yes , at the expiration of two years , you can't do a thing again ." The doctor stated with pity .
"But I can be paying in installments? Maybe a hundred thousand a month when I pay up to half of the money , you can start ?".....I asked with hope , but how do I even get a hundred thousand to pay every month ,I don't even own a job , and I was not prepared to tell anyone about it , not even henry .
"Boy....we don't run it like that , but out of impulse , I feel I should help you , so I can allow you do it that way " ......he said with a lil smile .
"Thank you sir , I appreciate"
I said standing up and giving a handshake with my cold vibrating hand .
" I am Gabriel .
"You are welcome
"Doctor John .
He said as he shook my hands .
I left the office to my mom , and explained to her what the doctor said , I told her I was going to get a part time job ,at the end of the month we add it up together on a 70:30 ratio and pay .
After two days , we got dad home ,mom had gotten a wheel chair for him , he has to stop work , and the source of my education funding is limited and the only option is to get a part time to cover up .
When I got back to school the next week , I went to Henry's house to check on notes , assessments and assignments.
"Bro what's up , what happened ?"
Henry asked without allowing me sit down .
"Nothing really , she was bitten by a scorpion in the farm , you know women , they are good at this drama ish ..."
I managed to lie , struggling so hard with my face not to show it .
"Lol , momma's are funny" ...he said laughing .
"That's it bro ".....I replied with a short laugh that was not coming from my heart .
"What's up with school ?"
I asked ,trying to swerve the topic .


Written by Elcarimimages.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86