OJIMA: Scene 2 (A One-Act Play)

in #story6 years ago

image
Link to scene 1



***SCENE 2***


*Light comes on stage. Inside Ekondu’s house Ojima was dressing the bed when Ekondu came in.*

EKONDU: I can see you are already dressing the bed for Omale our visitor.

OJIMA: yes my husband, you know its getting late already and he travelled a very long distance to see us.

EKONDU: yes yes and make sure you satisfy him very well, you know this is our first visitor since we got married (Ojima has a surprise look on her face and asked her husband)

OJIMA: satisfy him as how, what do you mean by that.

EKONDU: I mean satisfy him sexually.

OJIMA: what! You mean you want me to sleep with your friend? Me! Your wife!

EKONDU: And whats wrong with that, don’t you know that it’s the custom and tradition that when a man comes to visit, his wife should sleep with him; that is what we use as kola-nut, your mother did it too, yours will not be different so go and give yourself to Omale as kola-nut and don’t make an issue out of this.

OJIMA:: my husband, I will not do it, am your wife and cannot sleep with another man, if our mothers did it, I Ojima will not do it, I refuse to be used as kola-nut and thank goodness im on my monthly flow (Ekondu leaves the room to meet his friend outside)

OMALE: my friend is everything set now? Can I go in?

EKONDU: theres a little problem.

OMALE: (frowns) what is it?

EKONDU: my wife is on her monthly flow.

OMALE: Hmmn, okay I will wait.

EKONDU: (smiles) thank you my friend, please don’t be offended, I assure you as soon as she is through, you will have your kola-nut please.

OMALE: its okay my friend, let me go and sleep then, im tired, may the break, good night.

EKONDU: (talking to himself) I hope Ojima is not bent on disgracing me because I wont have it at all (exits all)

[Light off stage and comes back slowly, after 4 days Ojima was sitting inside the room when Ekodu walks in with anger].

EKONDU: Ojima what am I hearing? Omale said you refused his advances towards you?

OJIMA: yes! I cannot sleep with him, I cant do it never!

EKONDU: why are you so stubborn ? do you want to bring a curse upon this household? You must sleep with him that’s our kola-nut to him as a visitor.

OJIMA: I will not do it (exit ojima from the room)

EKONDU: ojima come back here (Ojima payed deaf ears, I think I know what to do, exits Ekondu)

Lights on stage. At Bems house, Ojima’s father

EKONDU: I have tried everything that I could but she still insists that she will not do it.

BEM: I see, Ojima so that’s how you disrespect your husband don’t you know its an abormination not to give kola-nut, your mother gave out before she died, now go home with your husband and do the right thing.

OJIMA: (dragging her feet) papa I cant oh, I cant do it.

EKONDU: my inlaw you can see for yourself I am going (exit

BEM: don’t worry she will do it, Ojima that is our tradition our wives must offer themselves as kola-nut to visitors , you cannot change I now go home.

(Ojima left and went straight to the community hospital Agwan hospital, there she met with nurse Iholu. Light out.)

Thanks for reading, Watch out for next scene

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by aauthespian from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @aauthespian1! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

This was quite an interesting but strange story, i can't wait to see the next episode so atleast i can understand what culture Ekondu comes from

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27