Series (s-6): The BROKEN TRUST

in #story6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180615_163112_624.jpg

A must read and a very interesting true life Story on the tragedy of a young pretty girl.

Episode 06

....I cried in my room as I thought over Williams' behaviour.
"have I lost him forever?
did I miscalculate by pushing my luck to the extreme? "
I wondered with tears.
I however devoted my time in being by Williams' side as his degree exams slowly drew near,
I equally pushed my fears and sorrows to the
back of my mind.
In no time, I got used to my new way of living,
hiding my fears with smiles, and taking life as I saw it.
Williams equally never gave me cause to worry, he never brought up any topic that would hurt my feelings nor even mentioned Mike's name.
He truly was the ideal guy for any woman but he wasn't destined for me. I concluded.
I felt nothing but commitment, compassion and little respect for him.

Finally the exams came and as was over just as the speed of light, Williams finally graduated.
I really can't forget the night he graduated, how happy and overjoyed he was and the miserable look on his face as he begged for sex after the celebration.
He insisted I spend the night in his room when we returned from the party his department organised.

I agreed to spend the night just to make him happy, but when he began touching me later in the night, I felt nothing but anger and irritation.
I had to push him away from me.
"I have waited so long for this moment,
Why are you denying me access to your body,
are you upset over something?
"
he asked anxiously.

IMG_20180615_194326_706.jpg

"I'm mensurating, just sleep and let me be Please " I replied a bit coldly,
but he wasn't convinced.
"It isn't fair dear, why are you like this?"
he begged.

"Seriously Williams I do appreciate your love, care and everything, but this night is going to be our last together, I have tried to develop more feelings for you but was unable to...
Moreover I know your mum no longer likes me,
So please tonight is our last night staying together
"
I plainly poured out which visibly surprised Williams.
He gasped, left the bed and slept on the floor without saying another word to me.

The next morning I left his room before he woke up. Though what I did touched me, I was very glad I did it because I really couldn't guarantee my happiness with him anymore.
He however never spake to me again. He moved out of the hostel some days later without bothering to notify me.
I was a bit distressed because I really never wanted things to end that way between us and would have wanted for us to remain good friends.

Finally, I anxiously began waiting for Mike who never showed up nor called on phone. I soon wrote my second semester exams and travelled home for Christmas months later.
Three months I waited for Mike, but not even a single phone call did I get from him. I lost all hope, but for my pride I would have called him myself.
Perhaps he wasn't in my destiny either.

IMG_20180615_195404_163.jpg

DECEMBER 22nd
I was cooking at the back yard when mum ran into the kitchen very excited and full of smiles.
"Guess who just visited us" she asked happily,
"I can't guess mum, please tell me "
I begged.
"Mike came with his parents, they are in the sitting room with your father " she said to me.
Jesus!!!
I shouted in surprise as I quickly dropped the spoon I was holding, without minding where it fell nor the rough clothes I was wearing and ran into the sitting room where Dad sat with Mike and his parents.

I greeted and welcomed them happily, my heart pounding furiously.
Mike stared at me with a smile, understanding the girlish shyness and fear that had changed me into a timid girl. He stood up without wasting time.

"Cindy please I have something to tell you"
he said to me.
My face instantly flushed at his words, eyes drooping with shyness and happiness.
"let's go outside dear"
he begged.
I breathed deeply, looked at my Dad who nodded in approval, I shrugged and left the room with him.

When we got to a lonely part of our compound, "honey I have borne my impatience and Pride for the last three monthse said, but i must speak to you, For I can bear it no longer Cindy."

Oh, do not turn away from me anymore. I can't hold my pride anymore, I love you, and I want you to be my wife...
Please be my wife and my darling and I will I love andcherish you forever.
Honey, I want to spend my whole life
In working for you, I and our unborn kids.
I have no greater hope, a hope so sweet, so dear as the hope of winning you.

he poured out.
I made no answer. Yet my silence was more eloquent than words.
It seems to be a strange thing to say but, Cindy all the time I was away, my heart was really with you, he confessed.
I listened with a happy smile playing round my lips, my eyes drooping, while my face flushed and turned from his.

You are my fate, my destiny, If only you will say yes to me now, then your Love would incite me to win name and fame, not for myself but for you, and your Love would crown me a king I beg of you
Please say yes to me this instant.
Surely great love wins great love and there could be no greater love than mine.

he begged desperately.
It was at this stage that our eyes met. The next moment he clasped me to his heart, pouring out a torrent of passionate words, such words, so tender, so loving, so full of passion and hope, that my face grew pace as I trembled and
Listened.

"It's love that makes life. Only to think,
My darling, that you and I may spend every hour of it together.
Just say yes to me and by Easter we will get married
"
he proposed.
I raised my eyes to the fair, calm heavens, and infinite happiness filled my soul, a deep, silent prayer ascended unspoken from my heart.
"YES MIKE I WILL MARRY YOU "
"YES MIKE I ACCEPT YOU " I finally opened up with tears.
He smiled happily as we hugged each other, but deep down I still felt an uncertain fear.

With a whimper of relief he smiled at me. His face was absolutely ashen, his lips white, he pulled me savagely into his arms, folding me into the safety of his body, cradling my head, then cupping my face in his hands and tilting it upwards.
His eyes move feverishly over my face as if he wanted to reassure himself I was really there.

"Thank God" he murmured as he bent his head, pressing his lips to my hair.
"I thought I had lost you again" he confessed.
"But what kept you away for so
Long?
"
I asked curiously.
"Honey it was my pride that kept me so long,
It ate me up like a terminal disease, but I eventually overcame it and came running with
My parents.
"

"How do I make up for my lapses, my incompetent and utter craziness?"
he asked remorsefully,
I looked away.

"I got this for you..." he said, as he let go of me for a moment, pulling out something from his pocket.
"Now I want to do it properly, before anything else comes between us" he smiled as he held out his hand.
In the center of his palm lay a golden ring.
Cindy.. He pulled me gently back into his arms, kissed my cheeks. Honey I love you so much....
he murmured.

I closed my eyes in bliss and felt the tears spilling out from beneath my lashes. Protesting against the sudden constriction of our bodies press together.
"I will forever love you, cherish you....."
he broke off, raising my hand to his lips and

IMG_20180615_214018_163.jpg

Placing a kiss on the tip of my index finger.
"comfort you, protect you...."
He kissed my middle finger.
"honour you and make an endless fantastic Love with you for all the days of my life"
holding up my third finger, he slid the ring onto it.
"if you will have me" he prayed.

Through a shimmering veil of tears, I gave a soft laugh...
I was happy, and so thrilled, because all my dreams were coming to pass.
What else could I wish for?
Together we walked into the sitting room to break the joyful news to our dear old parents.

When got to the room, I rushed to where my mother was and showed her the ring and she was very happy with me.
Mike made the necessary first payment which showed that he has reached an agreement with my family, just like our custom demanded before collecting the list of items required for our traditional marriage,
Promising to show up three weeks later for the first stage of introduction that is (presenting himself to my kinsmen).

Unluckily it never happened as we planned.
Precisely two weeks later, I got a very terrible news which almost shocked and killed me.
Hmmm it truly wasn't the kind of news I was expecting at that stage of my life, neither was is it the kind of news you are eager to read.
What could that news be?
I hope is not what am
thinking....



4pm, 10th January
Mum walked into my sitting room, with a heavily coloured and drawn face.
My heart leapt as I noticed her condition.
"mum! are you alright? " I asked curiously.
"Don't mind me dear, I just received a very terrible news from a relative".
she replied and walked to her room .
I nervously ran after her.
"Just let me be, your Dad will be in a better position to break the news to you" as she begged when she saw me enter her room.

Her words panicked me and got me more curious, instead of calming me like she expected.
"Mum you are now getting me more worried "
I held her hands, staring into her eyes. My heart pounded furiously as I wondered what could make her look so sick and nervous.

"Mum I insist you tell me please "
I begged and shook her hands.
"Alright fetch me a glass of water, I'm very thirsty".
she ordered.
I quickly ran to the kitchen, filled a glass cup with water and ran back to her room.
She smiled reassuringly after drinking the water, breathed heavily and caressed my hair,
"I will tell you the news I just got, my dear.
It really isn't terrible like I earlier said, but just a bit surprising
.
"So promise me you will behave like a proper
lady when I open up to you
".
she asked of me.

"I promise I will behave properly mum "
I managed to mutter anxiously.
"Mike has a child, do you know?"
"Mike has a what...............?!! "
She broke the news to me like a
question.
I couldn't believe my ears.
"Mum please which Mike are you talking about? "
I asked fearfully.
"Your Mike of course" she replied.

We had to ask around, in order to get first hand information about the family we are giving out our daughter to, and we ended up getting this piece of information from a relative married in his locality..
She explained, while I bit my lips as sadness, disbelief and pain instantly filled my heart.
Mum clearly understood my condition, drew my head to her chest and patted me like a baby.

"You shouldn't feel very bad, you can still go ahead with the marriage, If you love him well enough to overlook the little hindrance. The child is a girl and I heard the parents never accepted both the little girl and her mother"
she consoled me.
"Mum please don't talk like that "
I heard myself asking.
According to the source, she said he got the girl pregnant about two years ago.
she replied.

I felt empty, sad and weak.
"no wonder he was very anxious to marry me quickly and his mum even hid it from me "
I cried bitterly....
I felt played, used and the trust broken...
Very uncertain of my future with him.



The next evening, Mike was in our house as if someone alerted him of what we discovered.
He came straight to my room, sat on the bed and stared at me nervously.
I sat up and stared back at him.
With a ferocious look, breathing heavily as I tried so hard to control my emotions.

IMG_20180615_213701_108.jpg

"Dearie please calm down. The love I have for you is very sincere and genuine.
Listen to me darling, please listen to me
" he pleaded nervously.
"You are just a heartless con artist, a good player. "
"You thought you could hide such a big scandal from me, or have you cooked up another lie, C'mon spill it out "
I said angrily.

He shrugged as my words hit him hard, forcing him to look down remorsefully.
"I couldn't get myself to tell you about it because I was very scared of your reaction, I couldn't risk losing you over a silly mistake"
he murmured earnestly.
"The girl was a mistake and I have nothing to do with the mother anymore. Please believe me. It was only a one night stand I regret ever doing,
Please don't judge me over it, but please Judge me for who I am now and not for who I was yesterday.
"
he begged.

"I want to see the little girl and her mother. I want to see them before I say anything else
to you
" I requested seriously.
His hands shook as he tried to hold my waist, he breathed deeply and stared at me curiously.
"Please don't tell me you are already changing your mind over us?"
he asked with a coloured face.
I scoffed and looked away.

"I'm not happy with you and I have nothing else to say till I see your little daughter and her mother " I concluded bitterly.
"This is so unfair Cindy, why do you insist on seeing them?
I can't let you see them, I just can't
"
he murmured sadly, while I forced out a dry smile.
I demanded to see the girl and her mother because I want to get first hand information concerning the level of relationship they enjoy with you.

Moreover, I really couldn't bear standing between anyone's happiness especially when a child is involved.
I know to some people it doesn't matter, but to me it matters a lot.
"What you are asking of me is very outrageous, I can't do it. Moreover they are not living with me and I can't take you to her house."
he explained seriously.
"Then invite her to your house or somewhere
Conducive for us to meet
"
I insisted.
"Meet over what?
And what exactly do you expect me to tell her huh?
That my fiancee wants to see her,??
You are very insensitive to another person's plight, you only think about yourself which isn't good.
"I understood and was reasonable with you when you were virtually living with Williams, why can't you respect my feelings?
In fact I can't stand you this evening,
I'm leaving.
"
he poured out angrily, stood up and left the room, while I silently reflected over his words.

"Oh My God, he just accused me of being
Insensitive and selfish. Is he alright?
"
I gasped and wondered.
Mum ran into my room few minutes later, with concern written all over her face.
"Hope you weren't hard on him?"
She curiously asked, while I picked my nose.
"The poor boy is in bad shape, looking very
troubled and sad in the sitting room. tell me, what did you say to him?
"
She inquired seriously.

"I only asked to see his daughter before deciding anything, but he suddenly grew very intense and annoying.
Imagine the boldness
" I complained to mum,
Who calmly sat beside me, held my left hand and smiled at me.

"You should have been more understanding and diplomatic with your request. go and talk to him dear, I believe you guys can sort things out or are you changing your mind about him already?
She asked.
I rolled my eyes and smiled at her.
"
Oh mum don't ask me that question, but the
truth is that I can't help but feel for the little child and her mother.

I can imagine what he told the poor girl before doing the deed which got her
pregnant
. "
I explained.

"You are right my dear" she said with a nod,
"You are always very considerate of other people's feelings"
She said softly.
I smiled.
"But mum, imagine, Mike Just accused me of being selfish and insensitive " I murmured.
"Oh please, go and settle with him dear"
She stood up and dragged me to the sitting room where Mike sat with a drawn face.
I quietly sat on his laps, mum smiled and left us alone.

I'm very sorry for being rude, I never intended to disrespect you nor hurt your feelings, but as your future wife it's my duty to know everything about you and I believe I have every right to know your daughter and her mother,
Honey Please don't deny that from me, I beg of you.

I pleaded calmly with all my heart.
He looked away thoughtfully, breathed deeply
and stared into my eyes.
"Alright your wish will be granted, you leave me with no choice than to make it happen but I am having a very bad feeling about it"
he said with a forced smile, while I heaved a sigh of relief.
"I will invite her to my apartment in town on Saturday, but i will be here on Friday evening to pick you up"
he added.
"No dear, I will prefer you come on Saturday morning so I can bring my school things along "
I requested humbly.
"alright I will be here very early on Saturday morning"
he accepted with a dry smile.

"It wasn't that hard after all, was it?"
Mum asked with a smile as soon as he left.
I rolled my eyes and ran to the kitchen without answering her, praying silently that things would work out between Mike and I, because with the way things are going, I was a bit scared of my future with him.

I nervously waited for Saturday which slowly
approached like a snail. I woke up that fateful day with a huge boil under my armpit.

Mike showed up by 7:30am, coming with smiles as he walked into our house.
"Please don't be too hard on him or to yourself my dear, and please behave like a
good girl which you are, okay!
I will be expecting you next weekend"

mum advised as she kissed me goodbye.
I finally left our house that fateful Saturday morning with Mike who had a new self confidence in him.

Silently he drove to the capital, while my thoughts kept me company as I thought about school, my future, my life and even about Williams.
"Who knows how he is? "I wondered with mixed feelings.
He silently drove without bringing up any conversation, till we got to my lodge (hostel) an hour and half later.

"This place surely brings back memories"
he murmured with a smile as he stopped the cars engine.
"Surely it does " I responded before alighting.
He dutifully helped me carry up my luggage and I arranged my room while he sat on my chair watching me.

Fifteen minutes later, We headed to his apartment which was just few Kilometers away from my lodge. It really wasn't the first time I was visiting his apartment, and even though he wasn't a stranger to me, I still felt a bit nervous, which made him stare at me curiously, as soon as we arrived.
"My dear why do you look so intense?"
he asked with a smile.
"...because it's the first time I'm visiting a place you rented with your money "
I replied with a smile.

He scratched his head and laughed.
"So my family house you visited months ago
Isn't mine right?
"
he joked.
I smiled silently.
His three bedroom apartment including the kitchen was very simple and a bit scanty, Perhaps because he was yet to save enough money for adequate furnishing.
The chairs in the sitting room were quite neat, however a plasma screen TV, sound system and some simple gadgets adorned it.

My heart skipped five beats when I got to his kitchen and saw lots of dirty dishes and pots filled up in a big basin, waiting to be washed. I had no choice than to get to work immediately, even though he weakly objected.
"I'm the happiest man in the world right now,
You are so lovely, so beautiful, so enchanting, Honey I will forever worship you
."
he kept singing praises to me with hands in his trouser pocket as I did the washing.

"when is she coming?" I asked after a while,
Interrupting his praises.
he glanced at his watch and shrugged.
"She should be here by now, she promised to show up before 11am, now is past twelve" he replied.
"I hope you didn't trick me into coming to your
house?
" I asked suspiciously.
"Of course not" he answered innocently.

At exactly 2 pm his phone rang,
''she's at the door" he said to me after answering the phonecall, rushed to the entrance door and opened it.
My eyes followed him expectantly, while my heart pounded very fast.
A young girl soon walked into the sitting room carrying a child with her. She froze as our eyes met, while my heart melted with pity. She looked so young and beautiful, but was wrapped up in sadness.

I'm so glad you came. Mike said to her with a quick smile.
She nodded and stared at me suspiciously.
"Meet my fiance Cindy"
he introduced me to her.
"Cindy meet Stella the mother of my daughter" he said to me.
I rose up politely reached out and made to carry her baby, but she drew back and stared at me murderously.
Tears quickly formed in her eyes, while her lips shook.
"What?
Mike did you just say your fianc....ccc...e.."
"Jeez I can't believe my ears, your what?"
She asked.
Who instantly looked away, placing his right hand on his head.
"You are his fiancee huuuuh"
she asked, facing me angrily.

"Yes and I asked him to invite you so we could straighten things out "
I murmured nervously.
"Straighten what??
You must be mad if you think you can involve me in your little prank.
he abandoned his responsibility for your sake and you are now here playing the saint.
I'm not a fool sis. I'm not"
she sobbed.

"calm down dear, I have your interest at heart,
sit down let's talk Please
"
I begged.
"I can't calm down, and I can't stand this scene either. I'm leaving this moment, but I assure you that i will be back.
Go ahead be his fiancee, enjoy yourself"
She poured out with tears , before running out of the sitting room with her child.

Her action and tears really touched my spirit, but I equally was a bit angry at her for not calming down and listening to me.
"You have now seen for yourself what I have
been avoiding. I knew it wasn't a good idea getting you to meet her.

You see?"
Mike murmured bitterly, while I looked up at him searchingly.
"Now what do you think?" he asked.
"I just don't know, but I'm having a very badf eeling right now " I replied calmly.

He quickly drew close and held me.
"I think it's better we get married before Easter. Let's move our wedding forward, I can start making the necessary arrangements instantly" he proposed nervously.
I breathed deeply, raising my eyebrows.
"I think it's better we shift it further, perhaps
Move it to December
"
I said thoughtfully, while he gasped with disbelief.
"Or maybe till we settle issues with her first "
I added cautiously,
"Babe what's there to settle with her?!!" he asked sadly.
"a lot my dear, a lot, because I don't believe she will just sit calmly and watch us get married "
I replied with a quick smile.

He quietly sat on the floor, looking dejected and
sad like a man who just lost a big fortune. Even though I appeared calm and relaxed, I was equally far from being pleased with the direction I feared our relationship was heading.
I felt like visiting a fortune teller that moment.
A moment later the lady came back with another mask on her face.

"Stop being obnoxious and uncivil, it isn't going to get you anywhere. "
I advised her with a frown.
"/Stay out of this, it's none of your business"
She fired back furiously.
"
It's my business dear, because I forced him to invite you* " I replied.
She scoffed, dropped her child on the floor and advanced towards me.
"You want to make it your business right? So shall it be"
she threatened murderously,
While I shook with fright.
It was very obvious she was extremely angry and dangerous.

Judging by how furious she was, I knew I was no match to her. Mike instantly came forward, grabbed her from behind and dragged her towards the door.
She shoved and resisted but Mike's grip was stronger.
With a last minute ferocious move, she levelled her two legs against the walla s soon as Mike got her to the door, using the wall as leverage tosend himbackwards.
Mike staggered backwards loosening his grip a
Little, which gave the angry girl an opportunity to bite his hands without mercy.

He screamed with surprise as he felt her bite, Flinching her away from his body, before descending on her with two slaps, which brought out a loud scream from the fighting girl.
But instead of backing out, she launched yet another attack, diving forward with intention of jerking him through the mid section.
A very silly move which earned her a knock out punch from an angry Mike.
She fell backwards, grabbed her jaw as tears freely flowed down her eyes.

Her little baby began to cry that moment, moving my fragile heart and getting me more confused, as I contemplated on going for the child or not.
Mike advanced towards her again to render more finishing blows,but I sprang up and held him.
"I will have none of this Mike, what has gotten into you? "
I asked nervously,
"I'm only defending myself from this witch,
Don't you see she could have easily taken me out?
"
he answered angrily .

"You laid your hands on me Mike?
You guys don't know me yet, I will be back shortly"
The angry girl threatened and left the house,
Leaving her baby behind.
A cold shiver instantly ran down my spine.
"What is she up to? "
I wondered fearfully. I knew Mike also
asked himself the same question.

"Dear, what do we do nowwhat do we do? "
I nervously asked as I picked up the crying Baby.
"I don't know my dear, I guess you have to wait for her to come for the child, hope you ain't planning on leaving me here alone?"
he asked fearfully.
"
Of course not, how do you think I will leave this
child with you* " I answered.
he heaved a sigh of relief.

Anxiously we waited for Stella to show up, the clock soon struck 7:00 pm but she was yet to return.
8:00 pm I got very worried and anxious,
What if she isn't coming for her baby? asked Mike who simply shrugged with confusion.
There's no way she could have left for town by that hour,
I have a feeling she's at her brothers apartment
her elder brother is a police A.S.P, a graduate in police uniform. he explained lightly.
I simply stared at him, extremely shake and confused.

"I think I still remember the house address the brother once gave me when I was settling
her case with the family, I will return the child first thing tomorrow
"
he added with a blank expression.
"Seriously Mike, how did you get yourself involved with such obnoxious girl uhh? "
I asked curiously.
He silently scratched his head and
Shrugged.
"It's a long Story my dear.
A very terrible mistake which is slowly eating me up like cancer" he murmured weakly, collapsed on a Chair and sighed.

My stomach growled and bit, I was very hungry but had no appetite whatsoever to eat. I knew Mike equally felt the same way.
Exactly 8:38 pm, we heard gentle knocks on the entrance door. Mike breathed deeply, stood up and opened his door.
I instantly gasped as I saw him leap backwards, while two uniform Policemen jumped into the room, grabbing his trouser by the waist.

Another guy on mufti gently walked in with Stella by his side.
"There she is" I heard Stella say, pointing
at me, "he's the lady that orchestrated the whole plan to steal my child"
She said to the policemen.
My heart instantly skipped ten beats, I felt like disappearing that moment.
"What's happening here, how dare you guys barge into my house to intimidate me, I know my rights!!" Mike yelled.
"then you have to start calling your lawyers,
because you are in for a very big case
"
"Assault and battery, attempted murder and child theft, my friend you ain't getting easily away this time.

IMG_20180615_193748_053.jpg

"You can't humiliate my younger sister and get away with it whatever be her fault"
The guy on mufti barked angrily.
While the two policemen, dragged us into a waiting police van. My first visit to Mike's apartment was a big disaster, it earned me a night at the police station.

Stay tuned for the next episode in 48hrs.
Next episode loading by 1 a.m UTC.
Don't forget to upvote and drop your comment.

UpvoteFollowResteem.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by aRsH from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @abdane: this post has been upvoted by @minnowhelpme!!
This is a free upvote bot, part of the project called @steemrepo , made for you by the witness @yanosh01.
Thanks for being here!!

Waze Your Excellent Post This post reminds me of a picture so please do not let me say your post is very much like my thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94