Inert 26

in #story6 years ago

images (43).jpg

Day of the competition
The theatre was packed, luckily Eunice and I got seated next to one weird guy who was looking at me. The competition was really entertaining and I really enjoyed it. Ima was the last contestant and when it was her turn to perform, the Dj had problems with his system and he couldnt find the song. I could see how stressed and worried Ima was getting so I got up and went over to the Dj stand and took over from him. I connected my phone to his laptop and played the song. Immediately I put the headphones on, I felt like I was in the song so when the song ended, I played another and another and another, mixing them all together the way Djs do. I created a mad jam and lucky for me I recorded it all. I was so lost in the music I forgot I was in front of people, I was just busy with my passion when the thought hit me and I looked up to see the crowd cheering. I kindda freaked out when I saw everyone's eyes on me; I stopped the music, took the headphones off and....
Crowd: girl why now? Abegg continue.....mad jamz mehn.
I walked quickly to my seat and everyone seated around me where just cheering and taking pictures. I sat down, looked at Eunice and said...
Me: dont even say anything.
I just kept my head down while the judges decided on a winner.
Mc: today has been interesting but sadly we're coming to an end and we cant end without picking a winner and we obviously know who the winner is.
Crowd: yes o
Mc: starting from the 3rd runner up..... Vanessa with her amazing voice.
Crowd: (cheers).
Mc: the 2nd runner up is.... Kelvin with his amazing art work.
Crowd: (cheers)
Mc: the first runner up is.... Imabong Akpan with her amazing dance moves.
Crowd: cheers.
I wanted to scream for my cousin but I dint want to draw more attention so I just smiled, clapped and gave her a thumbs up when she went on stage.
Mc: and the winner is.....
Crowd: Dj Rose! Dj Rose!! Dj Rose!!!.
I wasnt even hearing them coz after they called Ima's name,I had my earpiece on listening to what I recorded.
Mc: We were going to call her Rose Dennis but things change.. The winner is Dj Rose...
Crowd: (cheers)
Eunice hit me and I took off my earpiece. Noticing the cheers, the excitedness and focus on me, I was like....
Me: (to eunice) whatsup? (confused) why are they all lookin and pointing at me?
Eunice: you won
me: (really shocked) what?
Mc: Dj rose can you come on stage?
Rose: no, this is a mistake.
Eunice: go jhor and she gave me a push.
I walked to the stage with my head bowed.
Me: (to mc) am sorry but this is a mistake, I didnt even enter into the competition.
Mc: yes but u showcased your talent and this is a talent hunt so you're our big winner.
I was awarded and given gifts.
Crowd: encore encore.
Mc: you have to give the people what they want.
I walked back to the Dj stand and did my thing.
That was the beginning of a new school life for me.
To be continued..
stay tuned.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75