When You Decide To Enroll The College Again At The Age Of 50

in #story6 years ago

The day is cloudy and sleepy but warm. I would like to stay in my bed, just lie down and do nothing, not even thinking. That kind of a week is behind me, and not a lot different one (I already know) is in front of me. What encouragement!?!

But, of course, that's not all. The new school year started, and my classes begin today. The funniest part is that it's not teaching classes where I am the lecturer. Oh, no! That would be an easy or at least an easier task.

library education universityPhoto from Pixabay. Credits to USA-Reiseblogger for education-university, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

I really don't know what and who the heck pushed me to enroll in another college, again, at the age of 50!?! But yeah, that's precisely what I did last year. In spring I passed the end-year exam after finishing the first year of study and now my second year is starting.

Another funny thing is that it's not the kind of study unfamiliar to me where are I would learn something tremendously new. I'm familiar with the territory for ages by now and even somewhat working in it.

So, there were two main reasons for my last year of enrollment. The first one was to support my daughter who also enrolled previous year and at the beginning dwindled being uncertain and somewhat insecure should she take that study or not. The second reason was to finally get the diploma for something that I already knew and was practicing.

studentPhoto from Pixabay. Credits to pedrogoncalvesjardim for student, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

And here I am, at the beginning of the second year of studies chasing my diploma although I'm not going to hang it on the wall (I'm just collecting them in a special drawer), and although my daughter doesn't need my encouragement and support for this study anymore.

The good part of these studies, although I already "swim" in this area of knowledge, is that there is always something new that we can learn, and I like that. The not so good part is that I'm not ready for the lectures yet or at least not today.

never stop learningPhoto from Pixabay. Credits to geralt for adult-education, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

Filled with other obligations, with the whole list of 'to do' task floating in a circle inside my head, I'm also not quite prepared to lose this weekend by sitting in the classroom listening to the combo of something already familiar and known and something just a bit new.

In short, the whole this school year started too soon for me this year. The summer was too short, even though this autumn month of September still pretends to be a beautiful warm summer instead of rainy and windy fall. So, if we are going to judge the season according to the current weather the summer, in fact, still lasts.

shockingly surprisedPhoto from Pixabay. Credits to mohamed_hassan for woman, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

As well and to be honest, I also forgot (almost until yesterday or the day before yesterday) that the lectures start this weekend. Being overworked it just slipped off my mind. But, what can I do now?!

I'm packing my books and notebooks and going to be a good and disciplined, although 50-year-old, pupil again! Wish me luck!


Posted on Saturday, September 15, 2018


SteemitBoard Ana-Maria Personal Badges - 2 Years on Steemit

Sort:  

Salute! And wish you all the best! 💪💪💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much, dear Eliza! 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Great to have some diploma in your drawer and enjoying some autmm september in pool of knowledge @ana-maria knowledge is something that never finishes...and you still have the zeal to know more...pack up for the new session....👍

Posted using Partiko Android

lol - Yeah, right! Who knows, maybe one day I will decide to make the entire exhibition of the whole collection. - hahaha - 🤣😂🤣
Never the less, thank you very much for your support and the comment. 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha..you may put up an exihibition on SF some day 😜...why to keep them in drawer...put them in walls.

Posted using Partiko Android

lol 😂 - In that case I would have to buy frames. Not worthy and too expensive. 😉😄

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha..@ana-maria is it?? Even steem is down ...so no extra expense ..😜

Posted using Partiko Android

Hmmm... 🤔 Not quite getting it! What does framing the diplomas has to do with Steem?! 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohhh...i didnt meant anything wrong.....as you you said ...framig would be expensive so with falling steem price it would be difficult to cover the cost....sorry if meant something else

Posted using Partiko Android

I know that you didn't mean anything wrong. I just couldn't follow and get your thoughts flow that far, but now I got it. 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Good for you! It is never too late exercising your brain cells! And yes, good luck with that!

Thank you very much for your support and good wishes! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @ana-maria!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.419 which ranks you at #2017 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 2027).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 429 contributions, your post is ranked at #178.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Limited Time << 10 STEEM >> AIRDROP

This is a limited time offer only for first 2000 members who join and get 10 steem.

We have many resteem and upvote service.
Upvote worth $21
Resteem over 90000 followers

JOIN NOW

Keep your phishing comments away from my blog! You have been DOWNVOTED!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43