FALLING IN LOVE WITH GREY’S ANATOMY

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Hi, everyone!

I’ve been planning to write a post about my new favorite show - Grey’s Anatomy for a while now, so today I finally did and I really hope you’ll find it interesting and decide to give it a chance.

I heard about Grey’s Anatomy when I was in elementary school, but since I’ve never been a big fan of blood, hospitals and medicine in general, it took me a long time to make myself watch the first episode. And now I’m in the middle of the season nine! An amazing script, incredibly talented actors, heartbreaking stories, funny one-liners, perfectly written couples, and, of course, interesting medical cases, have made this show last for 13 years and it’s still shooting! The executive producer of Grey’s Anatomy is Shonda Rhimes, who has won several awards for her work on the show. Thank you, Shonda!

6358512791147518201384741018_greys-anatomy-2005.jpg

The protagonist of the show is played by Ellen Pompeo who became The Highest-Paid TV Actress in 2017. The cast also includes Patrick Dempsey, Sandra Oh, Chandra Wilson, Justin Chambers, Sara Ramirez, James Pickens Jr. and so much more other actors and actresses who did a wonderful job playing the memorable doctors.

For those of you who haven’t watched it yet, I will try to introduce it to you and avoid the spoilers as far as possible. And if there are some other fans here, please, feel free to comment and express your own thoughts about the show.

I hope you’ll enjoy!

Let’s start with the beginning! Grey’s Anatomy premiered back on March 27, 2005, which was untypical, giving the fact that most of the American tv shows start their seasons somewhere at the end of September, maybe even October and finish in May. I guess that was a sign we should expect something great. It takes place in Seattle, so at the beginning of almost every episode, we can see beautiful landscapes and city sights. That feeling when I see the Space Needle and hear a well-known voice, well, that’s when the fun begins!

71ede406-c6d4-11e6-a4d5-c8fe1e20bb7b-780x520.jpg

Sometimes, when I watch the episode where doctors are supposed to save a life of a patient who has a non-operable tumor, and yet somehow they manage to come up with an idea how to do it and actually succeed, I think in myself: Yeah, right. That could happen only on-screen. But, I was beyond surprised when I saw an interview with Shonda Rhimes where she revealed that most of the surgical procedures they do on the show are based on the real-life stories. Also, what really fascinated me, and I only found out about it a few days ago, is that the organs they use during surgeries are the real animal organs.

In every surgical scene, ten to twenty nurses are standing in the OR along with the main doctors on the case. These are the actual nurses who are sometimes performing a surgery when only patient’s organs and „doctor’s“ hands are shown in the frame. Pretty cool, right?

The most memorable medical cases

Dozens of various patients have been operated on during this amazing 14 seasons. Some of them are easy to forget, mostly because their cases were not that significant. But, there are a very few patients with weird, unusual stories and diagnosis.

The man who claimed he was pregnant

2x07-11.jpg

Cement boy

416cementboy.png

Strangers impaled on a pole

sub-buzz-10319-1510341585-1.png

Conjoined twins

conjoined_twin_grey8x11.jpg

Bomb in the body

meredith with hand in chest JPEG.jpg

The baby boy with a brain outside of his skull

https_%2F%2Fmashable.com%2Fwp-content%2Fgallery%2F10-craziest-medical-emergencies-in-a-decade-of-greys-anatomy%2Feight.png

Meredith Grey

The series’ protagonist, dr Meredith Grey, in the early seasons described as „dark and twisted“, started her internship as a surgical intern at the Seattle Grace Hospital. She is a daughter of the multi-award winning general surgeon, Ellis Grey, whose focus on career and lack of empathy and care made her a bad mom. After her father left them, Meredith had to deal with a lot of trust issues and inability to let anyone in. But, after she fell in love and later married her one-night-stand, dr Derek Shepard, Meredith became all „bright and shiny“. She even managed to balance her very stressful and time-consuming job with the raising of three wonderful kids.

Every episode begins and ends with her narration about some surgical topics as well as life most important questions, lessons and decisions. The look of a girl-next-door makes me love her even more. Through the seasons, Meredith lost a lot of close people, but never the charm and capability to fascinate me with her surgical skills. From intern to the Head of General Surgery, her character developed and she became my favorite tv doctor.

meredith-meredith-grey-31301933-334-500.jpg

The M.A.G.I.C.

When four other surgical interns along with Meredith started their internship - Alex, George, Izzie and Cristina – the M.A.G.I.C. began! They made me laugh and cry. Sometimes at the same time. They were constantly teasing each other and the lunch scenes with all of them together were always my favorite. But, aside from all the fun and jokes, they had to deal with some incredibly tough situations and serious problems. The lost of the parents, failing the boards, miscarriage, cancer... They learned how to be great doctors together through their surgical residency. Some of them even fell in love with each other and eventually, got married. Unfortunately, the magic hasn’t lasted very long, because, 14 seasons later, two of them have left the hospital and one of them is dead.

alex-karev-cristina-yang-greyx27s-anatomy-meredith-grey-Favim.com-1357929.png

„The twisted sisters“

Nickname for Meredith and Cristina’s friendship. As both of them used to share the same pessimistic view of the world at the beginning of the series, Cristina quickly became Meredith’s best friend and her person. Nobody understood her depression, „dark and cloudy“ moments and love problems better than her „twisted sister“. Although Cristina has always been considered as the non-feeling robot, I love how she is not afraid to show her vulnerable side to Meredith. Their fights and non-talking to each other hit me more than some patients’ deaths.

635870481695617088-1341976231_mer and chris.png

Meredith and Derek

Aaaaaa... The MerDer love! The main love story of the show and my all-time favorite tv couple. When they met, she was just starting her internship and he was already a world-class neurosurgeon. With an age gap of 12 years and the fact that he was her boss, their relationship was not very promising at the very beginning. Not to mention the big secret he was hiding. The whole will-they-won’t-they thing was really interestingly written, but still, I really wished they settle down already.

Meredith and McDreamy (his well-known nickname) gave us a lot of emotional and heartbreaking moments, but also, there were very cute and funny ones. He proposed to her by decorating the hospital elevator with X-rays of every patient they operated on together (original, right?). One of their most memorable scenes is the post-it wedding when they wrote their vows on a sticky note since there was no time to go to the church. They even stayed married like this for two whole seasons, before they officially got married so they can legally adopt a baby. I cried when he gave her a kidney in the jar. I cried when he built her a dream house. I cried when he saved her from drowning. He really is McDreamy, isn’t he?

040511_meredith_derek_xxxx_110405183334.jpg

I feel like I haven’t told you enough. Believe me, I could go on like this forever. There are so many important characters that I haven't even mentioned, but if you decide to watch the show, you will get to know all of them.

All photos are from Google.

I hope you like my post!

Bojana :)

Sort:  

Love is very dificulty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13