A Chance Encounter (A Japanese Folktale)

in #story5 years ago

A Chance Encounter


144659F0-8A28-41EA-8093-56FE7B0255BA.jpeg


Friendship is a funny thing; it begins in the strangest of ways. Let me tell you an old story about a crab and a monkey.

One warm, spring day, many, many years ago, a crab was climbing a stone staircase. The staircase was old, and it led up a steep hill to a nice little hole between two stones where the crab lived with its family. In one of its claws, the crab carried a large ball of rice that had been carefully wrapped in dried seaweed. Wait till my family sees this, the crab proudly thought.

Just as the crab was thinking this, a rough voice called out. Hey. Crab. Whatcha got there?

It was a monkey. The crab immediately froze.

I said, whatcha got there?

The monkey was standing at the top of the staircase, partially blocking the sun.

Ya know what, Crab? I think I got somethin’ for ya.

The monkey swaggered down the staircase with a big grin. Look here, Crab, it said while bending down and shoving its open hand in front of the crab’s face. You know what this is, don’t ya? It’s a persimmon seed. You know what this persimmon seed can do, don’t ya? It can grow a whole persimmon tree.

Not sure how to respond, the crab said, That’s great. One day, you’ll have a persimmon tree that’s all your own.

No. No. No! the monkey answered sharply. I knew you’d be too thick to understand. Look here. Close your eyes and picture this. You, a little crab like you, you plant this seed and you water it everyday. Ya follow?

Sure, the crab said. I plant the seed and water it everyday.

That’s right! You water this seed everyday and a great big tree grows out of the ground. Can you see it?

Sure, the crab said dully. A great big tree grows out of the ground.

That’s exactly what I’m talking about, a great big tree full of persimmons. Just think about all the persimmons you could eat.

Well, the crab said while picturing a tree full of fruit, I do like persimmons.

I knew it, the monkey answered loudly. I knew it the minute I saw you. And I bet you got a family too, a good looking crab like you.

I do, the crab replied.

Well, just think about it. Think about how many persimmons you and your family could eat every year. You’d never have to scrounge around lookin’ for secondhand rice balls again.

The crab drifted off into thought for a second.

All right! All right! Listen! the monkey said impatiently. Since I know you want it, I’ll give it to you. But you can’t have it for free. Ya understand?

Yeah, the crab answered hesitantly. I think I get the picture.

Yeah? You think you get the picture? Well, lay it on me then, Crab.

You want to trade me that persimmon seed for this rice ball, right?

Well, the monkey answered, That wasn’t quite what I was thinkin’, but … since you brought it up, all right. I’ll trade you my seed for your rice ball.

But, the crab started to say.

Immediately the monkey interrupted, But, but, but … but what? Come on! Think about it! You get a whole tree. A whole tree! And its gonna be full of fruit.

The crab looked at the rice ball it was holding. Then it imagined a huge, lush persimmon tree, its branches pulled down to the ground by the weight of its fruit. The crab pictured itself standing beneath those branches, feasting on persimmons with its son and daughter. It thought about how happy its wife would be to have fresh persimmons for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Smiling, the crab raised its rice ball up toward the monkey and said, All right. It’s a deal.

Immediately, the monkey snatched the rice ball from the crab and shouted, Yes! You’re the best, Crab! You know that? The best! Then it turned and ran up the stairs.

Hey! the crab called out. What about my persimmon seed?

Coming to a halt mid-step, the monkey turned back and said, Oh yeah. I almost forgot about that. Here ya go, and the monkey tossed the seed down the stairs.

7A43CC58-9B79-4066-8F4B-BE6F2778B8EC.jpeg

Once home, the crab rushed inside the hole where it lived.

Come here! Come here! it shouted. You’ve got to see this! Come here!

What is it? the crab’s son asked while poking its head out of its room.

Just get your mother and your sister and come outside, the crab answered. Then it scurried back out the main tunnel of its home.

One at a time, the crab’s family sidestepped their way out of the hole where they lived and asked, What is it? What is it? What is it?

When all of them were outside, the crab motioned with its right claw and said, Come have a look at this. Then it moved over to the far edge of the stone step where they lived and pointed down to the stair below.

The crab’s son went over and took a look, but all it saw was a tattered old persimmon seed, covered in scratches. What’s the big deal? he asked. It’s a seed.

I know it’s a seed, the crab answered. Just picture it …

Come on, Dad, really? his daughter interrupted skeptically.

Yes, honey. Think about it. Trees grow from seeds. Fruit grows from trees. We’ll have all the food we could possibly want!

Oh my gosh. You can’t be serious.

What do you mean? Of course I am. This seed is going to grow into a huge persimmon tree. Mark my words.

Uninterested, the crab’s son and daughter sidestepped their way back into their home.

The crab turned to its wife. She looked at him briefly. Then she asked, Is this all you brought back today?

Yes. It is. But think about it, the crab started to say. Think about it for just one second. When the crab saw the expression on its wife’s face, it stopped talking. Disappointed, the crab climbed down to where the persimmon seed was and started rolling it up the hill, past its house, in silence.

At the top of the hill, the crab dug a small hole in the ground with its front pincers. Then it pushed the persimmon seed into the hole, turned around, and started pushing the loose dirt over the seed with its hind legs. When the seed was fully covered, the crab fetched two small buckets from its home and started the long walk down the staircase to get water from the river.

5013482C-CD10-446B-BCBE-3B96116536DE.jpeg

The next morning, the crab got up early.

Once again, it made the long trip down to the river, filled its two small buckets with water, carried them up to the top of the hill, and poured them over the spot where it buried the persimmon seed the evening before.

When it finished, the crab looked out over the horizon. The sun was just breaking the surface of the sea and beginning to rise up into the sky. Seeing this, the crab suddenly became awash in inspiration. It raised its pincers high up into the air and hollered as loudly and as wildly as it could. Then it leapt up into the air and started pounding on the ground with its claws. As it did so, the crab danced around the persimmon seed one time, two times, three times, shouting all the while, Quickly! Quickly! Send up your shoots! If you don’t, I’ll cut up your roots.

For five days, the crab repeated this process twice daily. Once in the morning and once in the evening it walked all the way down to the river with its two small buckets, filled them with water, and carefully carried them back up the long staircase, past its home, to the top of the hill. At the top of the hill, the crab poured the water over the mound of earth that covered the persimmon seed, pounded the ground with its claws, and danced wildly about while loudly chanting its incantation.

On the sixth morning, when the crab arrived at the top of the hill with its two small buckets full of water, it found a thin, wiry sapling poking out of the ground. The sapling was already twice as tall as the crab itself.

When the crab first saw the sapling, it dropped its buckets right where it was standing and whooped out loud, Ha-haaaa! I did it! I actually did it! Ha haaa! Then it picked up its buckets, ran over to the sapling, and doused it with water. As it did so, the crab immediately began doing a new dance. With its claws raised high above its head, the crab leapt back and forth, from its right legs to its left legs and back again. While it danced, the crab began a new chant, Hurry up! Hurry up! Bear me your fruit! If you don’t, I’ll dig up your roots!

DF6B5823-AB1F-423C-9BC1-7DB75F02B49E.jpeg

That summer, without fail, the crab diligently attended to its growing persimmon tree.

Everyday it carried water from the river up the stairs, and everyday it danced and chanted to the tree. The tree grew quickly. It grew faster than the crab ever imagined that it could. By the beginning of autumn it was full grown, and small fruits were appearing all over it.

At the sight of the young persimmons, the crab decided it was time to tell its family that the persimmon seed had grown into a huge tree and was beginning to bear fruit. When its wife, son, and daughter saw the tree, they couldn’t believe it.

How did you do it? they asked.

Well, the crab explained, I watered it twice a day, and I did this dance. Raising its claws into the air, the crab began leaping about and chanting loudly.

The crab’s wife looked at her husband. Then she looked at the tree. Then she looked at her children and gave them a little nod. Instantly, the three of them leapt into action and joined the crab. Together, the four crabs danced around the persimmon seed chanting loudly, Hurry up! Hurry up! Bear me your fruit! If you don’t, I’ll cut up your roots!

From that day on, the crab’s wife and children worked together with him everyday. They helped him carry the buckets of water up to the top of the hill and they took turns pouring water over the tree’s roots. After they finished watering the tree, they all raised their claws to the sky, made a circle around the tree, and danced and chanted in unison.

56F493F0-1F9C-4028-BDE3-6BDB82B03E4D.jpeg

One morning, in late November,

as the crab and its family crested the top of the hill, they all stopped where they were and looked at the persimmon tree. It was huge, much bigger than any other persimmon tree they had ever seen, and every one of its branches drooped under the weight of its fruit.

Turning to its wife, the crab said, I think it’s time.

I think so too, she answered.

Well then, let’s eat! the crab shouted excitedly. Then it started running toward the base of the persimmon tree.

Forgetting their buckets of water, the crab’s family quickly followed.

Being the fastest, the crab’s son was the first to arrive at the persimmon tree. Without stopping, the crab’s son tried charging right up the trunk of the tree, but after a few steps, it lost its footing and slid back down to the ground.

Arriving shortly after its son, the crab did the same thing. It used its momentum to throw itself a little ways up the trunk of the tree. Then, it slid back down to where it had started.

Seeing this, the crab’s wife and daughter laughed hysterically. What’s the matter? they asked. Don’t you two know how to climb trees?

The crab’s wife and daughter proudly walked up to the tree and attempted to climb straight its trunk to the first branch, which was three meters above their heads. Like the crab and his son before him, the crab’s wife and daughter made it only a little way up the side of the tree before sliding right back to where they had started.

I can’t believe this! the crab’s son said.

What’s that? the crab asked.

This!

What do you mean, this?

I mean this situation, the crab’s son explained. Look up. Look at all of that fruit. It’s right there. It’s so close. And we can’t even climb up and get it. This totally sucks!

Yeah, it does! the crab’s daughter added. Sometimes I swear this family has the worst luck!

Just then a deep husky voice interrupted the conversation, Well, well, well. Looky what we have here?

It was a monkey, and it was swaggering over the crest of the hill, grinning widely.

You’re that crab, aren’t ya? the monkey called out. The one I gave that persimmon seed to. I can’t believe it! You actually did it, didn’t you? You actually grew that seed into a tree.

Huh? the crab jumped in surprise.

And this must be your family, the monkey continued. Well, I’ll be. I never thought you’d be able to grow a tree like this. Look at all that fruit!

Do you know this monkey, Dad? the crab’s son asked.

I think so, the crab answered.

Well, maybe he can help us.

Help you? the monkey immediately asked. Wait a minute … You don’t mean to tell me … The monkey paused. No way! I can’t believe it! You can’t climb trees, can you?

Yes, we can, the crab answered defensively.

Yeah, I’m sure, a little crab like you. Look. I know what you want. You want me to climb up there and get those persimmons for ya, don’t ya?

Would you? the crab’s daughter asked.

The monkey laughed. Then it stepped over the crab and its family and moved toward the tree: Sure, it said, I’ll help you. I’ll help you real good.

That’s great! the crab’s son exclaimed.

We sure would appreciate it, the crab added.

Grabbing ahold of the trunk of the tree, the monkey quickly and effortlessly climbed up to the highest branches. There, hidden from the crab and its family, it sat down comfortably on a thin but sturdy branch, smiled to itself, and began feasting on persimmons.

A few minutes later, the crab called out, Is everything all right? How does the fruit look? Can you reach any of the persimmons?

Of course I can reach them, the monkey answered. I’ve already grabbed like ten of them. They’re incredible! I’ve never tasted persimmons as good as these before!

Taste? the crab asked. What do you mean by taste?

I mean they have this flavor that’s, like, incredible, the monkey laughed. You should really try one.

Turning bright red, the crab and its son raised their pincers and yelled, Those are our persimmons! What do you think you’re doing?

I’m helping ya, the monkey said. Just like I said I would. Then the monkey started climbing down the tree to the lower branches.

The crab and its family watched as the tree shook from top to bottom. Suddenly, the monkey swung down to the lowest branch, cocked its arm back and started firing persimmon seeds at them. Here ya go, it cackled. Take these! Ha, ha, ha.

One seed bounced off the ground near the crab’s feet. Another one smashed into the top of the crab’s wife’s shell.

Ouch! she cried.

More seeds ripped past the crab’s son and daughter. Soon after, whole persimmons began crashing down around them.

Throwing one persimmon after another, the monkey antagonized the crabs: See? I told you I’d help you. Just think of all the trees you can grow with these seeds. Think of all the fruit you’ll have. And I’m not even charging you anything. These are all yours. For free. Ha, ha, ha!

With no way to protect themselves, the crab and its family scurried away from the tree. As they fled, persimmons smashed into the ground just in front of and behind them. When they reached the edge of the hill, the crab and its family stopped and turned back one last time. The monkey was still throwing persimmons at them. One of the persimmons, a hard, unripe one came rolling straight for the crab and its family. They all scattered out of the persimmon’s path, then hurried over the edge of the hill toward their home.

3D0F336C-9FA5-47A7-945E-E66CAEF242AB.jpeg

I can’t believe the nerve of that monkey! the crab said furiously inside its house.

Who does he think he is?

I don’t know, the crab’s son said, but he definitely needs to be taught a lesson..

I absolutely agree, the crab’s wife added.

Looking at its wife, who winced as she walked, and whose shell had been scratched by one of the seeds the monkey had thrown, the crab boiled with rage. I’ll be back, it said angrily. Everyone stay here! Then it stormed out of the house, marched down the staircase, and went to an aging fishing shack by the river where it knew it would find its friends, the bee, the chestnut, and the old wooden mortar.

Once inside the shack, the crab banged on the side of a rusted kettle that had been left on the floor and called out, Hey, hey, hey! I need to talk! Where are you guys?

The chestnut answered first, What is it? Then it rolled off the shelf where it had been resting.

You’re never going to believe this. Where’s the bee and the mortar?

I’m coming, the mortar called out from a corner.

What about the bee? Where’s the bee? the crab asked.

I don’t know, the chestnut said. He’ll probably be back soon

All right, well, listen. I’ve got a problem. Remember that monkey I told you about, the one that gave me that persimmon seed over the summer?

Yeah.

Well, he came back today, and you know what he did?

No. What?

He offered to help me pick some persimmons, and then he climbed up into my tree and started eating all of my fruit. When I told him to stop, he attacked me and my family.

What do you mean he attacked you? the chestnut asked.

He started throwing seeds and persimmons at us. He hit my wife so hard with a seed that she’s got a gash in her shell and she’s walking with a limp. I’m not gonna let him get away with this.

All right, well, the mortar said, what do you want to do about it?

I’ve got an idea, but we need the bee to make it work.

I’m sure he’ll be back soon, the chestnut said. What’s your idea?

Well, first we need to find out where the monkey lives. I’m thinking that the bee can follow him home and show us how to get to his house. Once we know where he lives, we can stake out his house and wait till he leaves. As soon as he leaves, we’ll go into his house and set up a trap.

What kind of a trap? the mortar asked.

Well, the crab said. What’s the first thing you do when you get home?

I don’t know, the mortar answered. I rarely leave this place.

Okay, the crab said. What about you, Chestnut?

I rarely leave either.

All right. Well, the crab started, My guess is that the monkey sits down somewhere. We’ll look around his house, figure out where he’s most likely to sit down, and then you can hide somewhere near that spot, Chestnut.

Me?

Yeah, you. Just as the monkey is about to sit down, you can roll right under him and stab him with your spikes.

Ohhh, I see. I got it now.

Then the bee can fly out of hiding and start stinging him over and over again. If you and the bee stab him and sting him enough times, I’m sure he’ll run right out of his house. That’s where the Mortar and I will be waiting for him. What do you think?

It could work, the mortar said.

What could work? a high pitched voice chimed in.

Bee! You’re back, the crab called out. Come here. I’ve got a favor to ask you.

What is it?

Well, there’s this monkey that stole a bunch of my persimmons and attacked my family. I want to know where he lives. Can you follow him home tonight?

Sure. No problem.

Great. Thanks!

Do you know where he is? the bee asked.

I think he’s still in my tree at the top of the hill.

I’ll go have a look, the bee answered. Then, without question, the bee flew out of the fishing shack and off toward the crab’s persimmon tree.

87421E0C-0329-497B-8AE8-3C49ED7592D4.jpeg

While the bee was gone,

the crab waited in the old fishing shack with the chestnut and the mortar. Just as the sky was beginning to darken, the bee came buzzing into the hut. Okay. Okay. I know where he lives! It’s not too far from here, but it is a little bit of a hike. Do you want to go right now?

I don’t know, the crab answered. What do you think? it asked the mortar.

Let’s do it! Let’s go now!

What do you think, Chestnut?

Sure. Why not?

The crab, the chestnut, and the mortar followed the bee out of the hut and along the river toward the mountains. After a little ways, they veered away from the river, and started climbing a steep hill up into a nearby forest. The day’s final rays of light cast long shadows through the forest as they walked.

Twenty minutes later, the bee turned to the crab and his friends and said, Shhh … The monkey’s hut is just over there.

Slowly and quietly, the crab, the mortar, the chestnut, and the bee snuck up to a large rock that was near the monkey’s hut. From behind the rock, they surveyed the scene. There was one large opening in the wall. It had a covering of some kind hanging over it. A soft glow was seeping out from around the edges of the covering. The crab sent the bee into the hut to have a closer look. When the bee reported back, it said, The monkey’s not in there. He must have stepped out.

Are you sure? the crab asked.

Yeah, I’m sure. There’s hardly anything in that place. He’s definitely not there.

This is our chance! the mortar said excitedly.

You think so? asked the crab.

Yeah, the mortar answered. We’ve already come all the way out here. Let’s do this now!

He’s right, you know? the chestnut said.

All right then, the crab affirmed. Let’s do this.

The crab, the mortar, the chestnut, and the bee all hurried up to the monkey’s hut and snuck in under the covering that hung over the entrance. Once inside, they took a quick look around. In the middle of the room, there was a sunken hearth. In the hearth, a pile of hot orange coals faintly illuminated the room. Next to the hearth was a futon, and off to the side of the room was a basin that captured some water trickling in through a bamboo pipe.

This is perfect, the crab said pointing to the futon on the floor. There’s no place for the monkey to sit down but here. Then it nodded toward the hearth and suggested to the chestnut,Why don’t you hide down there?

Okay. I’ll wait for the monkey right in this corner.

Great! What about you bee? the crab asked. Do you see any good places to hide?

Yeah, I think I do. I can hide under that bamboo pipe over there by the sink.

Okay. That just leaves you and me, Mortar. Let’s go outside and get ready to give that monkey a big surprise!

F26930E0-EB1E-4E78-B7E6-E84C2D30AE8F.jpeg

When the monkey came home,

it stumbled into its house holding its stomach and moaning, What was I thinking eating all of those persimmons? it said. Ohhh, my stomach is killin’ me. I gotta lay down. Straight away, it staggered over to its futon and began to sit down.

Just as the monkey did so, the chestnut jumped out of the corner of the warm hearth and rolled itself onto the monkey’s futon.

Without knowing it, the monkey sat down right on top of the chestnut. Eeoww! it screamed, and immediately jumped up. What was that?

Looking down at its futon, the monkey saw the chestnut rolling toward it, threatening to stab its feet. Instinctively, the monkey took a step backward. Its foot landed on the edge of the sunken hearth and slipped, right into the hot pile of coals.

Yahhhh! the monkey shrieked and, yanking its foot out of the coals, immediately began hopping toward the basin of cold water across the room. Just as the monkey was about to plunge its foot into the basin, the bee flew out from behind the bamboo pipe and started stinging the monkey over and over and over again.

Ouch! the monkey yelled. What is going on around here? It spun around wildly, swatting at its back, its neck, its head, and its arms.

Over and over again, the bee stung the monkey. At the same time, the chestnut rolled across the room and slammed into the monkey’s feet. With no place to go, the monkey hobbled toward the entrance of its home. There, while swatting at the bee, it stumbled over the chestnut and fell forward, through the covered entrance of its hut. Before the monkey could get back to its feet and start running away, the mortar rolled itself off the roof where it had been hiding and came crashing down onto the monkey’s back.

Ooof! the monkey gasped. Rolling around on the ground wincing in pain, it asked, Why are you doing this to me? What did I do?

What did you do? the crab asked while stepping out from behind a group of nearby trees. I think you know what you did.

Wait a minute, the monkey said while looking out into the darkness. Who is that?

Where were you today? the crab asked.

Rolling around on the ground, the monkey squinted into the darkness. Who is that? it asked again. I know that voice.

Where were today? the crab demanded.

I was out and about, the monkey moaned.

Yeah? And what’d you eat? the crab inquired.

Wait a minute, the monkey answered. It’s you, isn’t it? You’re that Crab.

That’s right. I am, the crab said. Then it stepped into the small ring of light that was seeping out of the monkey’s hut. Now do you know what you did today?

The monkey looked at the crab. It was stepping toward the monkey with its pincers extended aggressively.

You stole my fruit and you hurt wife, the crab recalled. You threatened my children. What makes you think you can do that?

As the crab spoke, the bee, the chestnut, and the mortar surrounded the monkey. They inched closer and closer to him. As they closed in on him, the monkey groaned and lifted itself up onto its knees. Briefly, it looked the crab straight in the eyes. Then, suddenly, it bent forward and prostrated itself. You’re right, the monkey said abruptly. I’m sorry. I should have helped you pick those persimmons. And I never should have attacked you and your family.

Shocked by the monkey’s apology, the bee, the chestnut, and the mortar halted their advance and looked at the crab.

Not sure what to do, the crab looked at each of its friends.

I’ll never do anything like that again, the monkey continued. I swear.

The crab looked down at the monkey. Its hands were flat on the ground in front of its head. Its face was pressed against the ground. Its back was flat and straight.

The crab hesitated for a moment, evaluating the monkey and its words. Never? it asked.

Never, the monkey answered. I swear.

Then, extending its claw to help the monkey to its feet, the crab said, I believe you.

32198959-0B93-4E54-B3A7-DA7EBB5C79C6.jpeg


This is an original interpretation of a Japanese Folk Tale called Saru Kani Kassen. The text that I used to base this interpretation on can be found at https://hukumusume.com/douwa/. This site has a large database of basic Japanese folk tales written in Japanese.
All images were found at https://ukiyo-e.org.
Sort:  

amazing post, reading the start I really wanted to continue reading as the story was good. I bet that took you some time to write. I am sharing this on twitter as an example of awesome content on steem

Wow, thank you! I really appreciate that and your comment. Yes, this did take me a while to write. I feel like it’s at a pretty finished state now, but when I look at it in a month, I may think otherwise. That’s what led to this story actually. I took out a different version of this story that I thought was almost finished and ended up scrapping the whole thing and starting afresh with this one;-)

you must really enjoy writing like this if you keep trying to improve it.

It’s funny that you say that. Why do I spend my time writing stories like this and is it really worth my time is a question that I’ve been trying to answer recently. I just find myself drawn to these ole stories and trying to breathe new life into them. I’m not sure why, though.

Wow....very very cool art 🎨 ...i love it ...my dear friend

I like these block prints a lot too.

Pretty interesting reading this

Thanks. Hopefully, you enjoyed it.

Quite a long one!

I tried taking a different approach and it led to this. I have a feeling I need to shorten it in some way. Thanks for reading. How’s all on your end?

Busy and mixed lol.

I do enjoy your folktales... And the paintings that accompanied it are beautiful... Thank you for sharing this!

Thanks for reading. How did you feel about the length of this one? Did it get boring anywhere along the way, or was the dialogue unnatural at any part?

I thought the reading was fine... I wasn't bored at all! May be long for some - especially 'kids' these days... ;) - but it did offer some unexpected turns... in the sense of 'normal' tales... But with your Japanese tales, I somehow have come to expect that, that they don't take the normal run of stories... :)

Thank you for the feedback. I appreciate it.

Do these tales take unexpected turns? I don’t really notice when I’m writing them. I did, however, reread two older translations recently, and there were a couple plot twists I had forgotten all about and that surprised me;-)

Unexpected, as in, not run-of-the-mill type of turns... and is also more 'enduring'... :)

Wow! You didn't just translate this one, you gave the tale a modern feel and really gave the characters their own personalities. Great choices for the accompanying art too. Looking forward to the next one.

I took a lot of liberties this time around. Writing this one was kind of a strange experience. I only meant to revise an old draft, but when I read the draft, I thought it was horrible and decided to try redoing the whole thing. Somehow that became a 5,000 word story that took a full month to write.

After finishing this (maybe it’s finished), I went back and read my original draft again. The second time around, I liked it. I have no idea what I didn’t like about it. So now I’m a little confused as to how to proceed.

I’ve begun looking into how to get these published, and it seems to me I’m going to need an angle. I’m hoping a modern feel will interest a publisher somewhere.

It would be great to see these stories published in a nice hardbound edition, but an option you might not have considered would be a paperback book marketed to the military exchanges on American bases in Japan. Military families assigned to foreign bases love to learn about the folktales and legends of their host countries.

That’s a market that never would have occurred to me. Do they have bookstores on military bases, or libraries? I wonder how I or a publisher would make military bases a target audience.

I’m starting to do the legwork that I’ve always found too daunting to carry through with in the past: looking for journals and publishes, researching competing books, contacting other authors for advice, etc. I’ve finally just accepted it as a reality that I have to face. We’ll see what happens over the course of the next year;-)

American bases in Japan have schools and libraries on base. Books are sold in an area within the Exchange, which is a department store on base that sells clothing, appliances, electronics, etc. When we lived in Japan, I bought books on learning Japanese on base, and in Guam I bought books about Guam, including a book of Guamanian folktales and legends. You might be able to get some information by calling the Exchange. Here's the contact info for the exchange at Misawa Air Base.

I’ll make a note of that. Thank you!

Nice story!!

Thank you for stopping by:-)

Good story
bad monkey
Honest crab
But crab after by irritated
he Will also to Counterattack

Watch out for this crab, right? He doesn’t mess around.

Congratulations @boxcarblue! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2750 replies. Your next target is to reach 3000 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09