{A Personal Story} The Best Jamaican Wood Carver in the Business [Negril, Jamaica]🇯🇲🌞

in #story5 years ago (edited)

The smell was fresh. New carvings were hung just hours before. I look in search of a beautiful piece to bring home to my mother.

I knew I was in store for a very tough bargain. This wood craftsmen is undoubtedly the best in the business, and his prices reflect his mastery skill.

Everywhere I gazed I saw a new piece. Artistry and craftsmanship of the highest appraisal.

“How much for this hanging sun,” I asked the dreadlocks Rastamon.

“Ahhh, that piece there is very expensive” he quickly replied.

“I could probably do 125 USD. That is my very best price.”

I allowed what he said to sink in for a bit. I took my attention away from the sun and continued to glance around his shop.

I had a plan in mind but I was unsure if it’d work. My hope was to counter for the sun I had spotted. I knew it was the piece that I had to bring back home. My mother collects suns and I knew she would love it.

I waited for the right moment to raise my question.

“How about 90 USD for the hanging sun?”

He turned from his work station and faced my direction. I was nervous my offer was too low for his liking.

“Young boy, I will have to think about this price. 125 was a firm price on the sun.”

What I said next may have been just what he needed to hear.

“I am buying this piece to bring home to my mother. I intend to buy it with my own hard earned money.”

Since I was only a small boy, about 10 at the time, he thought much harder about the number I had mentioned. He paused and pondered for a minute. Then he said this:

“My boy, the sun is yours to bring home to your mother.”

I remember my face lighting up with excitement and glee. I had just bargained with the toughest of them all on Negril’s 7-mile beach. I was very happy with the purchase I had made.

The sun hangs still in my mother’s kitchen. A memory and story that will live on forever.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

This is a sweet memory conradsuperb, it is a shame that we can't look like 10 year olds forever. It would make bargaining so much easier!

Such an age where we can remember everything, but we don’t quite know everything.... take me back to Jamaica, pops 🤔

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Much love and respect 🙏🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

Those carvings really do look incredible! Glad to hear you managed to get the sun and it's still there to remind you of this story. :))

Hey, you!! Long time no see... (or hear)

How’ve you been ??

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, I wasn't really active here in the last month and a half :/

But I am good! :) How are you doing?

We’ve all had those phases, let’s face it. I was in a down phase for a few months before I started regularly using @partiko

Glad to hear you are well! I would say I’m... SUPERB 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27