Bought Food Online & Paid with Bitcoin - Bitpay Delays Transaction!

in #story5 years ago


I made a really stupid mistake when ordering Chinese food through Takeaway.com and choosing Bitcoin as my payment method. These Bitcoin payments are handled through Bitpay and I had forgotten that you basically need to just copy the transaction into Electrum and leave everything as is.

Now my mistake was changing the fee and having 'Replace by Fee' on by default, which caused the transaction to be delayed. Meaning that I had to wait until I'd gotten a couple of confirmations before the transaction was processed.

Since it can take quite some time before you get a couple of confirmations, I had to wait an additional 45 minutes before the order was accepted. You can imagine that I felt really stupid for messing with the settings in my Electrum wallet, though I do think that Bitcoin could have mentioned something about this on their payment page.


foood.jpg


So, after 2 hours the food finally arrived and I don't think I've ever enjoyed Chinese food as much as today. To be fair, I think I would have enjoyed just about anything after that two hour waiting time...

Have you ever ordered food with Bitcoin? Let me know in the comment section!


Advertisement


Receive free Litecoins every 5 minutes

Join STEEMFOLLOWER to gain more exposure on STEEMIT


Sort:  

I like to hear stories of folks actually using crypto. This was a funny story thanks for sharing

Nice what was the transaction fee? Nice to know I order sometimes at the platform is it with every participant of Takeaway.com?

The transaction fee was 0.00002 BTC, since I use a Segwit address :)

What do you mean by 'participant'? You mean restaurants or the different local Takeaway.com websites?

Yes I mean restaurants. So you can pay btc to every restaurant on the platform

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah all payment methods are the same for each restaurant, so you can definitely pay with Bitcoin.

Some local Takeaway.com websites don't have Bitcoin payments enabled though

I couldn't part with any of my BTC yet, it seems so undervalued. Not that I have a lot, most is in SP here.

I get it weekly for my posts at the Bitcoin forum, so I don't mind spending a little bit when I can. I like to support businesses that accept Bitcoin, I'm not spending all the Bitcoins I have though :)

Would it have been the same process if you had used Litecoin? Just curious. We don't have a lot of opportunity for this sort of thing in the States like you folks do over in Europe.

We can't pay with Litecoin using Bitpay, but I don't think that Litecoin would have the same sort of issues.
Confirmations are a lot faster on Litecoin, so it would have confirmed after like 5 minutes.

Okay, good to know! I love LTC!

hey when bitcoin goes thru the roof, you will look back on this post and realize just how much that chinese cost you...I'm glad you enjoyed it. lol

Doesn't matter to me, I paid a couple of Bitcons for a Samsung Galaxy s5, back in 2013. So I know the feeling already :D

Or here's also an old purchase of mine from back in 2014. Check the Bitcoin price at the bottom :)

Oh wow, that is crazy! You must have a lot of bitcoin...

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.677 which ranks you at #5250 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 77 places in the last three days (old rank 5327).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 288 contributions, your post is ranked at #162.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I'm just catching up on this post after being away. Sadly takeaway.com isn't available in the UK - yet. We have a similar type of thing called JustEat, but it doesn't appear to take crypto. I can't wait to order food with crypto!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85