How to buy your DREAM car, after destroying your old dream car

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Background Story

I did something very dumb 5 months ago. I reduced my 45k car to shreds. It was a happy mistake, as I tried to explain it to my shocked friends and family. Anyway, we had no more car. So after calling the insurance and making sure we got paid out (even tho we lost 2-3k overall), we started looking for a replacement car.

After almost buying 10 different cars, we ended up deciding to focus our effort on getting a Mercedes E coupe 220d for a "reasonable" price (around 47k). Plan B was to buy a random shit car if the E coupe ended up being too expensive. Plan B scared the living shit out of me, so I started using my tiny brains in order to get the E coupe.

My happy mistakeRest in pieces
OD2.jpgOD1.jpg

The E coupe starts at 52.8K, witch is already way above our budget, and with only 4 necessary options the price got bumped up to 58k. We looked at each other in the dealership and realized this was impossible to buy, unless we got some crazy reduction on the price.

HWW.png

Don't mind the Google search in the left corner..

How To Negociate Like A Boss

The first Mercedes dealership gave us 12% reduction, which is around 6k and told us it was impossible to get more than 15% anywhere else because the car is very '"exclusive". So the car was reduced to 52k at that point, which was still out of budget.

We switched strategy. We called another dealership and told them that the first dealership gave us 18% reduction on the phone, (which was not true at all). They invited us over, 'to see what they could do'. We went to them and they offered us 15%, which was pretty good, but still out of our budget. We asked them to match the fictional 18% offer that the other dealership gave us. They told us that they needed proof of that offer, which we had not, but we kept claiming that the offer was given to us on the phone, so they could not verify it.

Limitless

We kept pushing and he gave us 16%! But, my dad was still not happy and went outside. At that moment, for the first time in years, I actually managed to activate my scarce brain cells. I had like a mini "Limitless moment" when I realised that plan B was soon going to hit me like a truck.

I made a deal with the salesman behind my dad's back. The deal was that I would convince my dad to sign right now, if he gave us a record breaking 17% reduction on that E coupe. After the salesman went to the manager twice, he actually gave us the 17%. I convinced my dad to sign, on the spot, by paying 5k out of my own pocket, in front of the salesman. The salesman laughed because he thought I was a boss, but shortly after that he started crying because he realised that he actually almost made nothing on thit deal.

Result

We ended up with a stunning 48.9k car instead of 58k! If you look up the price of the cheapest USED one it is over 50k in Europe!

MBB2.jpg

MBB3.jpg

ExteriorEnjoying the car with friends
MBB4.jpgMBB5.jpg

I searched on the internet for a used one, they started at 49.9k! 1.000 more than my brand new one

hwww.png

Keep in mind, this one is ordered fresh from the factory in Germany, it is not a stock model, which you can reduce by almost 20 + % in some cases!

Hope the mentioned startegies were usefull xxx

Sort:  

Jees, you bought the car of my dream.
How old are you? 22?

Jep :)

that's impressive buddy;) But I still have 3 years to get where you are now ;)

I wish you the best of luck my friend ;)

Haha top job mate sounds like something i woul do.

I learn from the best, dad

wow this is pretty awesome... smooth ride

so what happened to the old car ? Damage does not "look" that bad.

It was 17k bad :p we sold it as it is, insurance covered the rest

Awesome car! I own a Mercedes C200 right now.

I hope a car like yours will be my next step.

I know I am already spoiled by driving a Benz.

Greetings,
Ray #lifeisforliving

Good luck my friend

Nice car for nice price)

Sick car man! Way to stick it to the dealer too lol.

I watch you, it fascinates me how passionate you are to do your job. dear @danny1995 Wow!!! I wish that many, like you, find their abilities and do what they enjoy doing, then they do not need to copy nobody, right?

Thanks my friends hope you get your dream job aswell ;)

yes of curse, thank you !!!

How much is the insurance on such a pretty dream car?20180605_185703.jpg

1500 euro a year :(

Do you have the option of tailoring your insurance coverage since you were able to buy your vehicle out right?
I'm currently getting raped for a car that is worth less in value than the actual insurance costs for the year ($2460).
I only paid $700 cash for the car....lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

I did not buy my vehicle out, I got paid a contractual fixed price (1% decrease in value/month, in my case 36% decrease of MSRP). Go maybe get a new insurance? :p

The human dreams keep changing it does not remain constant

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75