Short and sweet

in #story6 years ago

I can’t sleep. All I can think about is the fishing trip I have planned for tomorrow. Every time I close my eyes all I see is my fly line whipping back and forth as the sun peaks over the horizon and hits the glassy waters in front of me.

8DF7BE19-B206-427C-8EE7-96623C522929.jpeg
Photo taken by @borntofly

Laying the perfect line out and watching as my fly touched down on the surface, creating the smallest of ripples when it does. Then as I start to strip my line back in towards me the only thing I can hope to see is something like this

39201824-390E-4B3A-B614-C12C46A6AF9B.jpeg
Photo taken by me

With the end result of....

E5CA1F71-479E-42F1-9176-3974E49342E0.jpeg
Photo taken by me using the timer option on my iPhone

And that my friends, is what I am hoping for bright and early at 6am (six hours from now) in the morning. Because right now I can think of no better way to decompress after a long week of hard work.

Sort:  

Nice catch. Love the photos. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @mtnmeadowmomma. Congratulations.

Thank you! Im glad my stuff is already getting out there for others to see!

I was a little late to give you an upvote on the post, Like energyaddict22 I found you via the same method. Fishing, in the right place is always relaxing, the fewer people in the way the better. I thought I would try combat fishing once on the Kenai river, but thought again after pulling in and looking at all the people.

If I can find a fishing spot that I don’t see another person for the full trip... That’s as close to heaven as I will get lol

Here is combat fishing Alaska Style on the Kenai River:

source:https://gwinslodge.wordpress.com/2012/02/13/the-fishing-vocabulary/

I passed, and that is a light day of fishing activity.

Good god!! Pass every time! I would go nuts there! That’s not what fishing is about for be lol

Wanted to let you know that @mtnmeadowmomma featured you in their entry to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest.

There is a first time entry bonus for those who come join the contest that you might be interested in. Read that post for how to qualify for the bonus.

Funny how getting sleep the night before doing something your excited about can be so challenging. Then the next day you wish you had slept better as you find yourself a little tired.

Hey thanks @thedarkhorse I will look into that for sure! I hate it (not getting sleep the night before) but I'm only tired the next morning up until I get on the river or until I start doing whatever it is I planned that day. Then I just get hyper focused on what I am doing in that moment and everything else fades away

Oh for sure, once you are doing what you love you forget all about being tired. I have said for years that tired is just a mental state. My proof is just what you explained. Go on very little sleep and do something you want to do for a day and you are good to go. But little sleep and have to go to work and you think about how tired you are all day.

BTW, forgot to say cool pics and nice catch! Never been fly fishing but it's on my list of things to do one of these days. Seems like you would be much more in touch with everything as you are fishing vs just tossing a lure all day. Then again nothing wrong with tossing a line with a bobber on it and sitting around having a couple beers with friends while "fishing".

That is one of the reasons I fly fish. You have to focus a lot more and pay attention to your surroundings, down to what bugs are landing on the water and getting eaten. The constant motion of floating the line and getting the perfect cast is one of the most therapeutic things I have ever done in my life. It is well worth the frustration of first learning how to fly fish!

Congratulations @daywoo0311! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

That is a nice catch!!!

Thank you!! And to think it came from a stream that was 3 feet wide at most!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86