Tales from an Ambulance: Episode 2 - E.R.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story6 years ago

The first thing you notice is the smell. Disinfectant, like how you would imagine the factory where they make the stuff smells. The second thing you notice is the chaos. Patients in various states of intake. Staff barking out orders to anyone who will listen. Nurses scurrying purposefully from task to task. Doctors looking shell-shocked as they stare blankly at a clipboard. And then there was me, doing my best to stay out of the way but failing miserably. I stood in front of the triage desk at Franklin Memorial Hospital, hoping to catch the eye of someone seated behind the counter.

My car was parked a few blocks away, on the side of the road in one of the sketchier parts of the city. I was just an EMT student, and I wasn’t sure about the rules for the staff parking lot. Even the walk over gave me a tiny rush of adrenaline. The crumpled paper in my pocket had only the most minimal instructions: report to the triage nurse in the Emergency Room.

How funny would it be if I got mugged on the walk over and needed to actually go to the Emergency Room?

I was in the final stretch of class. The school where I was enrolled had an agreement with this particular hospital that allowed them to send one student over at a time to complete the 8 hours of clinical hands-on training required to graduate the course. When I finally caught the nurse’s attention, there was no system for her to consult or any other record of me being scheduled for that evening. I could have shown up completely unannounced as a random civilian interested in just hanging out and gotten the same result.

I caught the nurse’s eye and could tell she was flustered and in no mood to deal with me. “Can I help you?” she said.

IMG_4439.JPG

“Hi, I’m from Emergency Training LLC, here for my clinical time shift--”.

She looked down at what I presume was a schedule as she cut me off. “What kind of student are you?”

“Uh, EMT student, ma’am,” I said.

“Right, just stand over there.” I dutifully complied, shrinking into the space between an empty stretcher and a supply cart. Before anyone had come to get me, I had to relocate to the opposite side of the stretcher as a pair of EMTs came to retrieve it.

That’s going to be me one day. Assuming I can make it through today.

Eventually, a young woman in maroon scrubs approached the triage desk. I saw the nurse point in my direction without even looking away from her screen. The woman turned toward me. She was tall, attractive, and presumably college-aged. I could see her name tag said “ER TECH,” which I would learn was the career-ladder equivalent of an EMT inside the emergency room. In other words, a more or less entry-level position.

She introduced herself and guided me over to the workstation she shared with several of the other ER Techs on duty. She was very kind, and struck me as being too intelligent to be at the bottom rung. She spoke four languages, and her English was flawless. She was just biding her time doing this while she figured out what to do with her life.

IMG_2205.JPG

I also came to find out that she fairly regularly received students doing their clinical time, and there was some sort of incentive for volunteering for it. To her credit, I could tell she was not doing it for the money. Over the course of our shift she did her best to answer all my questions, get me involved in the most exciting things both inside and outside of her assigned rooms, and just generally tried to ensure I was having an enjoyable and enriching experience. I could have just as easily been plopped in a corner and told to make beds and refill linen closets.

I hope I can find a way to repay her for this. It’s so frustrating that people like this just pop in and out of your life in the blink of an eye.

Those were the shortest 8 hours of my life. There was no break. There was no downtime. The relentless crush of incoming patients never abated. True to her promise, my tech let me drift around the entire ER, being present for the most interesting bits of each patient encounter and skipping most of the mundane discharge, logistical, and administrative parts.

The Franklin Memorial Emergency Room was organized into a ring of regular rooms with a two-bed trauma bay and two intensive care rooms in the center. The most critical injuries or illnesses went directly into one of these three central rooms. Everyone else waited in the hallway or the lobby until they were assigned a regular room.

Every patient was unique. Every case was tinted with a different emotion from the one before. I learned a lot over the course of that shift. Each new room provided me with a fresh lesson.

I learned that the ER Staff can be heart-warmingly empathetic to deserving patients… but brutally critical of the ones who are not. After she had been “treated” and sent home, the staff mercilessly mocked a woman who had come in with a bad sunburn on her arm.

Note to self, do not go to the ER for anything you can treat with a trip to the pharmacy.

A teenager was brought in at a period of the night where all the rooms were full. She was left on a bed parked in the hallway. Her problem? Extreme intoxication. They gave her a plastic contraption which looked like a feed bag for a horse that hung from her neck. I saw, heard, and smelled her vomit into it repeatedly. An hour or two later I passed her bed again to find her completely asleep under the bright fluorescent lighting in the midst of multiple medical crises.

That must have been some party.

IMG_3508.JPG

A woman who spoke no English was confined to the bed in her room due to some condition or potential diagnosis I was never able to ascertain. When she told the nurse taking her vitals that she needed to pass a bowel movement, I was the only other “staff” around. After a brief discussion with the nurse about who would wipe and who would roll her to her side and hold her, I lucked out and got the assignment without a view. Both of us still got to experience the smell, however. I think the woman tried to apologize. I made the universal gesture for “forget about it.”

Dear karma, remember this moment.

Another man who could not speak English was surrounded by family members when he was given the news that this particular trip to the ER would not end with a discharge home. His disease had progressed to the point where he needed to be admitted. Language is a funny thing – even without understanding a word that family was saying, I could still clearly hear their pain and sadness.

It took several hours, but the emergency tone in the emergency room finally sounded, indicating that someone was inbound to one of the central intensive care rooms.

My mentor for the evening interpreted the voice coming over the intercom. “Head to bay 2, make sure you put on a gown first!” she said to me with excitement.

I had no idea what to expect. A whole platoon of medical personnel descended on the cabinet that housed the protective gear. I was awkward and slow in donning the coveralls, and as a result was one of the last people to enter the bay.

No big deal, I’m just here to watch. Wait, what am I even watching?

A young man was being lifted from an ambulance stretcher to the bed in the trauma room. I quickly scanned him from head to toe. He was shirtless, and a tech was currently in the process of cutting off his pants as well. I was expecting to see something exotic: exposed bones, a gunshot wound, a gaping hole somewhere in his body. All I actually saw were some bandages around his wrists. He had a look on his face like he had just woken up from a deep sleep and was taking in the scene around him and trying to decide if he was actually awake or not.

So what’s wrong with him?

I moved a little closer to hear the report from the paramedic to the physician running the show. “. . . is fine, but the other wrist went a little deeper. I didn’t see any arterial bleeding, but after I covered it up I haven’t checked again. That’s the original bandage from about 20 minutes ago.”

He slit his wrists! He’s obviously not in critical condition, though. Probably just a cry for help more than a serious attempt.

The cynical assessment that had flashed through my brain shocked me for a second.

Just a few hours here and already I’m getting jaded? It’s no wonder nothing phases these people.

In spite of the mostly superficial wounds, the patient remained in the trauma bay. Most of the medical professionals, however, did not. The room emptied except for me and two others. With nothing between me and the patient, the nurse waved me over to help.

“Can you start cleaning him up?” she asked.

“Uh, sure, what do you want me to do?” I asked.

“Just start cleaning him up,” she repeated with a hint of irritation in her voice.

I realized that I was dressed identically to everyone else now and offered some more context. “I’m just a student here observing, you’ll have to show me where everything is.”

IMG_3537.JPG

Without a word she stomped over to a supply cabinet, retrieved a basin, a bottle of serile water, and some washcloths. She thrust them at me and I solved the equation for myself.

I began wiping his body. He was still sizing up the room, and he looked down at me as I rubbed at some dried blood on his stomach. I tried to make small talk to lessen the palpable awkwardness of the situation. “Sorry man, this doesn’t mean anything. I’m happily married.”

He smiled and chuckled. “No worries, it’s whatever.”

Neither one of us knew how to continue the conversation, so I continued cleaning in silence.

The doctor had removed the bandages before leaving, and so the wound on his wrist was now totally exposed. The upper layer was completely sliced through, and the skin had spread open to reveal the tissue below. A single drop of blood was pooled at the edge of the cut, like a tear about to fall from the corner of your eye. I caught myself staring and turned back to the dark red crust I was removing from his legs.

Thank goodness they give you plenty of gloves.

Another student, probably a medical resident, came in to stitch the wound closed. I slowed the pace of my cleaning to ensure there would still be a reason for me to stay there to watch. I had never seen sutures go in before. I was riveted as I watched the entire process. Skin is remarkably durable, and you have to apply some real pressure to puncture it. The tool you use to do it looks like a fish hook. The resident did a fine job and left about the time I was finished cleaning.

That’s some pretty cool stuff.

While the resident was finishing up, another trauma alert came across the intercom. I found myself excited to already be properly attired this time and secretly hoping for something more serious than Mr. Goth over there. A minute later, an elderly woman was rolled into the room with the accompanying gaggle of medical professionals.

IMG_1720.JPG

I stood in the space between both beds to watch. It was immediately clear that this woman had some sort of mental condition. Whether she was born with it or whether it was a product of severe dementia was unclear, but the takeaway was that she couldn’t tell anyone what was wrong. I caught bits and pieces of the multiple conversations occurring simultaneously around her and was able to piece together that she had taken a pretty bad fall at her nursing home, and they suspected a neck injury.

10 minutes and a mobile X-ray later, they determined that nothing was seriously wrong with her and began preparations to move her to a regular room for observation.

I feel terrible thinking this, but it’s kind of disappointing how anti-climactic that was.

Just then, commotion from the opposite side of the room as the skeleton crew attending to the young man called for help.

“Doctor, can you come over here? Something happened to our patient.”

I pivoted to look at the man I had just finished cleaning. He was slumped over, eyes closed, and the nurse was shaking his shoulder.

“What happened?” the doctor asked.

“I’m not sure, I was just bandaging his wrist and he just passed out.”

The doctor put a hand on the patient’s shoulder and squeezed. “Mr. Hewitt? Mr. Hewitt!” He started shaking the shoulder somewhat vigorously.

The young mans eyes flickered open.

“Hey, welcome back,” the doctor said. “You can’t go doing that, you gave my staff quite a scare.”

The young man looked around again and nodded. “Sorry,” he managed.

“You gotta stay awake, OK? No sleeping in the ER.”

The doctor took off his gloves and tossed them in the trash bin as he left the room. I hung around for another couple minutes and then did the same. After I removed my coveralls, I went to find my mentor.

With any luck, there will be a real emergency before I leave.

Later that shift, I learned that you need to be careful what you wish for.


To be continued.



@DollarsAndSense is a father, veteran, participant in the rat race, freelance writer, and volunteer EMT. Want to read more of my EMT posts?

Tales from an Ambulance: Episode 1 - D.O.A.
A shift on the ambulance
What it's like to be a volunteer EMT

Unless otherwise noted, all text and pictures in this post are my own and may not be reused without my permission.


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Holy smokes, I couldn't stop reading your post. Plus a real life cliffhanger ..... A scary and an amazing experience to share with us all.

Wow! Yes, be careful what you wish for!! I'm glad you found the one woman who was so helpful for you; it seems so many hospital staff just don't have the time for that sort of thing anymore.

Congratulations on the curie vote too! Very exciting stuff :)

Thank you! Yes that was extremely motivating! I appreciate the feedback and the engagement from the rest of the community, too!

She really was a wonderful mentor for that shift. You're right, it's great that people like her are out there because one bad experience could set the tone for your entire career in a way.

I love the descriptive pattern in your writing. the way the mode of urgency shifts from patient to patient. thanks for sharing :-)

Thanks @abmakko! I appreciate the compliment. Glad I could take you along for the ride!

Awesome! Really enjoyable read. As I was reading, I was thoroughly impressed by your knowledge of the topic, and upon reaching the end, had one of those 'Aha' moments, when I saw that you are a volunteer EMT.

I'll be checking out some of your other EMT posts.

Yes sir! Been doing that for about a year now, so I’m starting to collect some interesting stories and I figured I would share. I think people really like this kind of “peek behind the curtain” writing, so this is a good overlap for me and my own personal experience.

Definitely interesting, and your writing style makes them (this one in particular - I haven't got to the rest yet) genuinely compelling! My Mum's been in ICU for the past 2 weeks, so I've managed to generate a bit of an understanding of the demands of working in a hospital - not necessarily an emergency area, but of the rigours personnel in these environments go through.

I’m sorry to hear that! I hope everything works out for the best. I’m sure she’s in good hands - the knowledge and skill of these people is staggering to me. And they all truly love fixing problems and caring for people.

Thanks. She's getting really good care, so I'm sure it'll work out just fine. I've had some immensely interesting conversations with ICU doctors over the past few days. Even just getting an insight into their mentality, and the (I guess this is kind of what it is...) philosophical ideals that surround the purpose and role of an ICU. As you said, quite amazing and caring people.

Amazing write-up. As someone who has worked in medical fields I could appreciate

Dear karma, remember this moment.

It DOES require an awful lot of empathy to work these jobs, especially the ER room. The emotional exhaustion at the end of the day can be as intense as the physical.
Very, very well written. You packed a lot of emotion, astute observations, and vivid imagery into this.

Oh that’s right, you were a navy Corpsman! For some reason I keep thinking you were a Marine.

Thank you for the kind feedback! I’m always kind of torn about sharing this sort of stuff, since it’s coming from my observations of someone else’s infinitely worse day. But I try to be respectful of their stories and protective of their identities so I guess I’ll continue?

I think that the Curie vote is a good indicator that your observations are greatly appreciated and I didn't feel as if there was any privacy breech, especially if you were there mostly as an observer, not an employee. If you became employed by the hospital that would be a different situation, and you might want to consider looking in to the legality of sharing the inner workings of their facility while being an employee.
I got my EMT-B before I separated from the military and did my ambulance ride-alongs. However, in California the jobs available to someone with an EMT-B have a lot of competition, it doesn't really thin out until you get Paramedic. It looks good on a resume though and if you are considering joining a fire department, it sometimes is required.

Yeah it’s an over saturated pool of workers here as well. When I volunteered with the town I’m with now, there were other people who were just there to get experience so they could go apply for a full time EMT position with a commercial company. Crazy. But I guess that’s what happens in a decently paid field with a mere 3 month long barrier to entry.

Cool man. I’m doing my EMT-B training now.

Oh yeah? That’s awesome! Hopefully your instructors have plenty of entertaining stories to tell. I know some nights class got a little boring with them...

You gonna do it full time when you’re done?

Hoping to actually. I’m more interested in being a medic than doing fire. Hoping to do a paramedic associates then an RN.

That’s great! Good career path, and once you get there you’ll have a mountain of experience to draw on.

One of these days I may go for a paramedic degree. You’ll have to tell me how it all goes!

I already have some college so I figured it may be a breeze through a technical college.

I will for sure. We’ll see how it goes. Maybe I’ll end up liking fire a bunch. I’m just excited to get started.

I'll bet! Everyone keeps telling me that if you have the fire certs and your paramedic cert, you are basically guaranteed a great paying job anywhere in the country.

Around here you can’t get a job without both.

Hi dollarsandsense,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much! Always a wonderful feeling and a huge motivator when this happens!

Oh wow- this was an intense read, but so interesting... sorry to ask- I will hunt around your blog later- but is this from life or is this fiction. Because if it's fiction- wow. And frankly, if it's real life WOW! Either way- your storytelling ability has my respect! I'm looking forward to reading more of your posts.
E x

No worries! I would be wondering the same thing! I’ve changed a few names and modified some other identifying details, but for the most part this is an actual account of what I did and saw that day.

That's better than T.V. - some real life drama. It's funny how we react to emergencies and we tend to want to see more (that is to a point). I'm so curious now as to what happened next in the ER. Thanks for sharing!

I felt terrible about being somewhat disappointed that I didn’t get to see something truly gory, but you’re right: isn’t that kind of what some of us think as we creep through traffic toward an accident on the highway?

Plus, I’m pretty sure this voyeuristic tendency is the entire reason both NASCAR and UFC exist at all 😂

Very interesting read @dollarsandsense. Sounds like you had quite the experience.

Glad you liked it! Never a dull moment in the ER!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25