How The Allies of Old began: (Novella) BORN Chapter Eighteen "Twenty Questions"

in #story6 years ago (edited)


Reborn cover by paul.jpg


Painting in Acrylic by @therealpaul



Chapter 1 Chapter 2 Chapter 3

Chapter 4 Chapter 5 Chapter 6

Chapter 7 Chapter 8 Chapter 9

Chapter 10 Chapter 11 Chapter 12

Chapter 13 Chapter 14 Chapter 15

Chapter 16 Chapter 17


For those of you who missed the post of the release, I briefly explained how the series began as an idea for a Young Adult novel, and that I had in fact written what amounts to a novella taking place the summer before REBORN begins, and I decided to release it here on steemit.



BORN





Chapter Eighteen


When they got back to the site she accepted a round of hugs from the girls and looked around for Austin.

“I’m leaving, you asshole!”

The group turned as one to watch Gina stomp through the trees toward them. She spotted Anna and pointed, “He’s obviously hung up on you, though I have no idea why! Whatever, he’s all yours.”

Anna waited until the girl got into her car and left before pushing her way through the grove of trees Gina had just exited from. Austin had his own private spot, nearly surrounded by woods with a small canopy set up in front of his tent. She couldn’t hear anything so she assumed he was lying down on his mattress. She slowly unzipped his tent flap and poked her head in. He was indeed lying on the mattress, arms tucked behind his head. He glanced at her then away without saying anything. He was obviously still mad. She climbed in anyway, sitting down on the floor beside him.

“What happened?” She asked.

“I told her it wasn’t going to work,” he answered flatly, still looking at the ceiling of his tent.

“I’d ask why, but considering she’s Gina Rollins I don’t think I should have to.” Her tone came out harsher then she’d intended and he looked at her sharply.

“Oh yeah? So tell me, would it be better if it had been someone you liked?”

Funny, she’d already answered this question for herself once today. But his tone irked her along with his inability to tell her his real feelings, so she lied. “Yes, of course it would be better! I can’t stand that girl and you know it!”

“Right. About the same way I feel about Leo Giovanni,” he said the name like it tasted bad.

“I already apologized for that, and I didn’t take off with him!”

“No, you just took off with Tyler, guess you can’t make up your mind.”

Anna reared back, “You are such an ass!” She moved as if to leave and she suddenly found herself flat on her back, his hands clamped down on her arms, his legs straddling her.

“I’m an ass?” he hissed, “You’ve been sending mixed messages since yesterday, and I’m the ass?” His face was an inch from hers, his voice and expression filled with a banked anger that both scared and excited her at the same time.

“You’re the guy!” She cried, “You’re the one who’s supposed to make the move! And you never have!”

He stared down at her for a long moment and then his expression changed from anger to something that made her stomach spin crazily. His mouth came crashing down on hers and she met the assault with equal aggression. When he pulled away they were both breathing heavy, his face still only a couple of inches from her.

“Did you have sex with her?” She blurted. God what was wrong with her today, blurting things out without thinking!

He winced and she cringed. “You did?” she whispered.

“No. It didn’t go that far.”

“Well how far did it go?”

He made a noise of exasperation, “Do you really want to do this now?”

“Yes! I need to know.”

He rolled away and sat up, his expression wary. “Fine. She sucked me off.”

Anna blinked at the blunt statement, the image of what he said popping into her mind with vivid clarity. She swallowed hard. “Was it your first time?”

“Jesus Anna, do we really have to play twenty questions?”

“Was it?” She pressed, undeterred.

“No.”

“Really?” She asked in shock. “Have…have you had sex?”

“No.”

She made a face. “So just blow jobs?”

He barked a laugh. “No, I’ve been jerked off as well.”

Her questions dried up as she absorbed the information, suddenly feeling as if she didn’t know him half as well as she’d thought. He’d never been even remotely crude around her before, and she would’ve sworn up and down he had as much experience as her…which was none. And who were the girls? Aside from Gina she’d never even seen him with anyone. She opened her mouth to ask, then shut it as it dawned on her. His vacations to his home town of Boston twice a year, not to mention the yearly football/cheerleading camp.

He sighed. “Does it bother you?”

She bit her lip. “I’m not sure. It depends I guess.”

“On what?”

“Obviously whatever you felt for these girls didn’t amount to much, I’m just wondering where I fit in to the equation.”

He sighed and grabbed her hand, pulling her onto the mattress with him. He cupped her face with both hands.

“You don’t fit in. You’re completely outside of it, or actually above it would be more accurate. I love you small fry, I always have.”

“Really?”

“No, I’m just saying that to get in your pants.”

She punched him hard in the shoulder and he laughed, pulling her into his arms and kissing her hair. “You’re the first thought I have when I wake up in the morning, and the last thought I have before going to sleep,” he said softly. “I adore you, and if you say you’re mine I will never even look at another girl.”

She felt her face flush and smiled. “I’m yours.”

“That’s the best news I’ve heard all day.”

“Just all day?” She pouted and he leaned down and nipped her lower lip with a grin.

“Well maybe it’s the best news I’ve heard in the past couple of days…” he laughed as she punched his arm again then kissed her gently. “It’s the best news I’ve ever heard,” he whispered. “Now let’s get some sleep.”

She nodded, suddenly feeling exhausted and let him pull her down beside him and tuck the blankets around them. “G’night,” she mumbled, her eyes already closing.

“Goodnight sweetheart.”



Buy Your copy of The Allies of Old: Reborn HERE-

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=linnet+mclaughlin


COVER REBORN BOOK (1)-page-001 (1).jpg



Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @pharesim (creator of steeminvite ), @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp, @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

If you don't see their name on the list, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page- but make sure you haven't already voted or it may unvote your selection!

Sort:  

Looking at this through the lens of a parallel dimension really gives a new meaning to the interactions. It's like I know them and yet they're complete strangers. All this time I've been reading this as a direct prequel, but now it's a whole different ballgame! I hope you consider my suggestion from the other chapter.

I will definitely consider it, it's a cool idea bro!!

Hi, @dreemit!

You just got a 8.33% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hello @dreemit, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30