In The Dreaming: Chapter Fifty Five "Hey Jealousy" (Fantasy Y/A Novel)

in #story5 years ago


-I wrote the following novel nearly two decades ago. In the years between then and now I've honed my craft, and my perception of this world; my thoughts and ideas; have changed dramatically. However, I still enjoy the premise and have decided to do an overhaul of revisions and rewrites, though likely not until sometime next year. (Though I'm sure I'll do a little as I post chapters)

For now I hope you will enjoy a glimpse into my book writing beginnings...



They are the closest of friends though they have never met in waking life.

the dreamingcover2-02 (1).jpeg


Prologue-PT1 Prologue-PT2 Chapter 1

Chapter 2 Chapter 3 Chapter 4

Chapter 5 Chapter 6 Chapter 7

Chapter 8 Chapter 9 Chapter 10

Chapter 11 Chapter 12 Chapter 13

Chapter 14 Chapter 15 Chapter 16

Chapter 17 Chapter 18 Chapter 19

Chapter 20 Chapter 21 Chapter 22

Chapter 23 Chapter 24 Chapter 25

Chapter 26 Chapter 27 Chapter 28

Chapter 29 Chapter 30 Chapter 31

Chapter 32 Chapter 33 Chapter 34

Chapter 35 Chapter 36 Chapter 37

Chapter 38 Chapter 39 Chapter 40

Chapter 41 Chapter 42 Chapter 43

Chapter 44 Chapter 45 Chapter 46

Chapter 47 Chapter 48 Chapter 49

Chapter 50 Chapter 51 Chapter 52

Chapter 53 Chapter 54



Chapter Fifty Five



Aliyah stood by the cooler shaking her head, tears stinging her eyes. Why did she have to go and tell him about Chris, damn it, that was so stupid. She looked at the beer in her hand and mentally yelled at it for making her talk. She cocked her hand back to throw it, then reconsidered. Forget that, he’s being a baby. I danced with the guy, big deal.

Now where did Amy go?

She made her way through the people and spotted Janie in an animated conversation with Jared. You go girl, she thought just as she located Amy sitting by the bonfire on Greg’s lap. She waved to get her attention, then waved her over.

“What’s wrong?” Amy asked, seeing the look on her face.

“I’m such an idiot. I drank too much too fast and then found myself telling him about our yacht experience.”

“What do you mean?”

“He called me a first timer, then I couldn’t help but dispute him. Next thing I know I was getting the third degree- where were we, who were we with, what were we doing, blah blah. I told him we were on a yacht, we were drinking with your Long Island friends, we were dancing. He’s like, With who? I didn’t answer right away and he goes “You were dancing with some guy? Fast or slow?” I tell him both, he gets up all irritated, then I make the mistake of saying Chris’s name. Now he’s really pissed at me.”

“Does he think you did anything else?”

“I told him I didn’t, I said I didn’t understand why he was so mad, I only danced with the guy, it’s not like I kissed him or something, then he says “If you kissed him or Something, I wouldn’t just be mad, we would be over.” Then he tells me to go find my friends, he needs some space.”

“Oh my God, that’s so stupid , what’s the big deal?”

Aliyah shook her head. “I don’t freaking know."

They walked around for a bit and saw him standing with a couple of his teammates..along with Pamela Ann and Carrie. Of-freaking-course.

“What a jerk!” Amy stated with a scowl. “He’s getting back at you by talking to them, you know that right? He knows you can’t stand them!”

“Or maybe he just wanted an excuse to hang out with them. Well he can piss off, I’m going drink and have a good time.”

“That’s the spirit.”

They went back over to the fire where the music was and a number of people were now gathered.

She finished her beer and was greeted by a male voice behind her.

“Aliyah? I didn’t expect to find you here!”

His name was Brett and he was on the cross country team. He was two years older, a world class runner, and very cute.

She smiled. “Well, I’m here.”

“You drinking?”

“Yup,” she leaned over and took a beer out of a case sitting on the ground.

“People can surprise you- so where’s your boyfriend?”

She huffed. “Who cares?”

“Uh oh, you guys having trouble?”

“Whatever, he’s being a jerk.”

“That’s too bad.” The look on his face said otherwise.

They sat on the ground near the fire. Amy was back on Greg’s lap across the way and she raised her eyebrows. Aliyah just smiled.

A drinking game spiked up among the fire gatherers, anyone who said a first name had to drink along with the person’s name that was said. It got ridiculous with people willing to drink just so the other person would have to drink. Before she knew it, she was pretty wasted and laughing hysterically. It drew attention from other areas of the party and Dave wandered over with his drooling groupies. At the exact moment he arrived Brett had his hand on Aliyah’s back urging her to drink again.

He came around the fire, eyes blazing. “What the hell, Masterson, get your hand off my girlfriend!”

“Your girlfriend huh? I guess I figured you had moved on to other ventures, Jameson.” He indicated Carrie and Pamela Ann.

“You figured wrong!”

Brett stood up, “Do you want to do something about it?”

Dave leapt at him and they fell to the ground wrestling. They each got a shot in before two groups of guys pulled them apart.

Greg was talking in Dave’s ear and calmed him down. Aliyah had moved over to Amy when the fight started and she stood there frozen in place.

Brett had obviously not had enough. “Hey faggot, why don’t you leave Aliyah alone, she deserves better than you!”

Dave lunged at him again and his friends couldn’t hold him back. Aliyah jumped in the middle of them and grabbed Dave’s arms.

“Stop it, stop! Come on let’s take a walk and talk about this.”

He sneered at Brett for a second longer than let Aliyah lead him away.

“What were you doing with that guy?” he demanded.

“Okay, you have to stop. I wasn’t doing anything, we were playing a drinking game.” She had managed to sober up a little bit over the last few minutes so her thinking was fairly coherent. “You were the one who walked off on me, remember? Told me to go find my friends, you needed space, and apparently that space involved the only two people in school that I truly despise.”

Dave looked away and sighed. “You’re right. I was just mad, getting back at you, it was stupid.”

“Look at me.” He did. “Do you want to be with me? Or do you need to break up so you can see other people?” She held her breath, scared of his answer.

“No. No, I don’t want to break up.” He pulled her into his arms and hugged her. “Seeing you with Brett…I couldn’t stand you being with someone else, it would kill me.”

“Good. But you can’t act like that every time a guy talks to me or touches my arm or something. That will drive me crazy!”

“I know, I’m sorry. I trust you, it’s just, you should have told me about that yacht thing right after it happened.”

“And you should have told me that you’ve been partying with Greg.”

“Touche. Okay, from now on we have to be honest with each other, or this isn’t going to work.”

“I agree.”

He smiled with one side of his mouth. “Can we kiss and make up now?”

“I think we can do that.”

They found a place to sit and kissed for five solid minutes. When they broke apart Aliyah joked “Make up kissing is the best.”

“Yeah, we should fight more often.” He waggled his eyebrows and kissed her again.


Enjoy my writing style?

Buy Your copy of The Allies of Old: Reborn

HERE

COVER REBORN BOOK (1)-page-001 (1).jpg




Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @pharesim, @yabapmatt, @teamsteem, @steempeak, @steemgigs, @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Hi, @dreemit!

You just got a 13.99% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78