In The Dreaming: Chapter Forty Nine "Brother Bonding" (Fantasy Y/A Novel)

in #story5 years ago (edited)


-I wrote the following novel nearly two decades ago. In the years between then and now I've honed my craft, and my perception of this world; my thoughts and ideas; have changed dramatically. However, I still enjoy the premise and have decided to do an overhaul of revisions and rewrites, though likely not until sometime next year. (Though I'm sure I'll do a little as I post chapters)

For now I hope you will enjoy a glimpse into my book writing beginnings...



They are the closest of friends though they have never met in waking life.

the dreamingcover2-02 (1).jpeg


Prologue-PT1 Prologue-PT2 Chapter 1

Chapter 2 Chapter 3 Chapter 4

Chapter 5 Chapter 6 Chapter 7

Chapter 8 Chapter 9 Chapter 10

Chapter 11 Chapter 12 Chapter 13

Chapter 14 Chapter 15 Chapter 16

Chapter 17 Chapter 18 Chapter 19

Chapter 20 Chapter 21 Chapter 22

Chapter 23 Chapter 24 Chapter 25

Chapter 26 Chapter 27 Chapter 28

Chapter 29 Chapter 30 Chapter 31

Chapter 32 Chapter 33 Chapter 34

Chapter 35 Chapter 36 Chapter 37

Chapter 38 Chapter 39 Chapter 40

Chapter 41 Chapter 42 Chapter 43

Chapter 44 Chapter 45 Chapter 46

Chapter 47 Chapter 48



Chapter Forty Nine



They pulled up to the curb and Collin got out feeling a surge of love for his remaining brother, whatever anger he had once felt towards him had disappeared completely.


He walked in through the door and headed to the back where a couple of guys looked at him warily. Most likely they were there the last time he’d shown his face.

“I’m looking for Jimmy Capri, does anyone know where I might find him.”

He was greeted by suspicious silence and he sighed.

“Look, he’s my brother. The last time I was here I was angry. Something terrible has happened that he is unaware of and it’s imperative that I find him.” His voice felt strained, but the look of pain on his face was sincere and a guy in the corner shooting pool spoke up.

“He moved in with a girl and some other kids near Jones Beach. I think he’s working as a stock boy in Waldbaums out there.”

“Thanks, I really appreciate it. If for some reason I can’t find him and you speak with him, please tell him he needs to call home.”

He walked out and told John what he’d learned. They drove the 40 minutes, luckily John had GPS and they were able to locate two Waldbaums about ten miles from each other. The first one was a bust.

He walked into the second one holding his breath. He should have pushed for more information while he was there, this was impossible! If he didn’t work at this one he wouldn’t find him. He didn’t even ask the girl’s name, damn it.

He walked up to the customer service desk and caught a He explained the situation and showed his I.D. and they made an exception, giving him an address. He walked outside with the info on a piece of paper and felt a bit better. John drove him to the place which was in a trashy neighborhood on the wrong side of town.

He walked up to the front door and knocked, holding his breath again. He heard movement and a wraith of a girl stood in the doorway. It looked as if she had not eaten or seen sun in quite some time. She raised her eyebrows. “Who’re you?”

“I’m Jimmy’s brother, is he here?”

“Jimmy!” She screeched. “It’s for you, says he’s your brother.”

Jimmy came to the door wearing a white wife beater and sweatpants. “How did you find me?”

“It wasn’t easy.”

“What do you want, I thought I made it clear that I was done with you, all of you.”

“I’ve got some bad news.” For the umpteenth time that day his voice caught and cracked. Jimmy’s eyebrows raised.

“Are you going to let me in?”

He backed away from the door and Collin walked through. It was shabby but fairly clean.

He turned around to face his brother who was leaning against the wall his arms folded waiting.

“It’s Jack, Jimmy. He was in a car accident Saturday night.”

Jimmy straightened up. “Oh yeah? How is he?” Concern began to fill his face.

He looked at the ground gathering courage. “He didn’t make it.” He looked back at his brother who’s face had went from concern to shock.

“You mean he’s dead?”

Collin nodded swallowing thickly.

Jimmy just stood there for a moment with the shock still on his face. “Jack’s gone?” he whispered.

Collin nodded again.

Jimmy’s legs seem to buckle under him. “Oh God, Jesus,” he started crying then, tears streaming down his face.

Collin knelt down and put his arms around him. Jimmy leaned into him and cried into his chest.

“I wasn’t nice to him when I last saw him,” he sobbed. “I told him what I told you, that I didn’t want to see you guys again.”

Collin felt tears behind his eyes and he willed them to come. It had to feel better to cry than to walk around with a bowling ball in your stomach and something lodged in your throat. Nothing came. “Don’t do that,” he whispered. “Jack knew you were just angry at mom. He didn’t hold anything against you.”

Jimmy nodded and kept nodding. “I loved him, I did.”

“I know.”

“Did I miss the funeral?” he bit his lip.

“No, just the calling hours. The funeral’s tomorrow morning. Do you want to come back with me?”

Jimmy nodded again. “How did you get here?”

“John.”

“Oh, are you staying with them or mom?” His tears had lessened a bit but his voice was shaky. When he answered the door he had looked older than his fifteen years. Now he was a lost little boy.

“I’ve been staying with them.”

“Why not mom?”

Collin sighed. “She’s..she started drinking again.”

Jimmy nodded. “Losing your child will do that.”

Collin decided it was better to let him think that. Otherwise Jimmy might start doing what he himself was doing, blaming her. Despite his anger he hoped she and Jimmy would reconcile.

They got to their feet. “Why don’t you get a few things, I’ll wait here.”

Five minutes later they were headed back to their town.

“So, are you going to stay with mom tonight?” Jimmy asked.

“I don’t know. If you want me to I will.”

“Yeah. Yeah I do.”

“Okay, I’ll stay.”

“John..

“I’ll take you home,”

“Thanks.”

They pulled up and he told Jimmy to go in ahead of him.

“I’m dreading this,” he stated.

“We know you are honey. But I think it’s good for you to be with your family on a night like this. You can come back with us after the funeral, okay?”

“I spoke with the school,” John added, “They don’t expect you back this week.”

Collin shook his head. “I don’t know, I might want to go back.”

“Well, whatever you decide. I was also thinking that you could spend some weekends with us for awhile.”

“Yeah, I’d like that.”

“Okay, see you tomorrow.”

He stood on the lawn. He couldn’t make it through tonight without letting go of his anger, and Jimmy didn’t need another reason to hate her. The thing about death was people all of a sudden realize, at least for a short time, that this life doesn’t last forever. All of the problems that seemed so large become petty and trivial.

He walked through the door and watched his mom and brother who were hugging and crying and the last of his anger faded away. He put his arms around them both and they held each other in a circle, the first and probably last time they would all see eye to eye.


Enjoy my writing style?

Buy Your copy of The Allies of Old: Reborn

HERE

COVER REBORN BOOK (1)-page-001 (1).jpg




Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @pharesim, @yabapmatt, @teamsteem, @steempeak, @steemgigs, @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Hi, @dreemit!

You just got a 15.34% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71