Into the Dreaming: PROLOGUE "A Place of Silvery Leaves" (Fantasy Y/A novel)

in #story5 years ago (edited)


-I wrote the following novel nearly two decades ago. In the years between then and now I've not only honed my craft; my perception of this world, my thoughts and ideas, have changed dramatically. I still enjoy the premise however, and have decided to do an overhaul of revisions and rewrites in the future.

For now I hope you will enjoy a glimpse into my book writing beginnings...



the dreamingcover2-02 (1).jpeg



Prologue



Aliyah found herself in a strange place all alone, and although she was only five, she wasn’t afraid. She didn’t know how she came to be here, but somehow it all seemed very familiar. Her thoughtful little mind puzzled over it, then decided she must be dreaming. It was very different from her usual dreams though- she didn't normally know she was asleep in those.

She was sitting on a rock next to a stream like the one way up behind her house in the woods. She’d only ever been to that one once, but she could tell this wasn’t the same place because the trees were different. They were much taller and the leaves, which were moving restlessly from a breeze high above her head, were tinted with silver. The moon was full and because she was not in the thick of the woods the area around her was lit up. She glanced toward the forest and was strangely unafraid of how dark it appeared.

She heard a rustling noise and was delighted to see a deer only a short distance away, headed for the water. She watched him quietly as he drank.

A sound startled her and her animal companion.

“Who’s over there?” A boy’s voice called.

The deer ran back the way it came as the boy came into view. He was on the other side of the busy water, and she had a chance to look him over before he noticed her, the moonlight outlining him clearly.

He looked about eight or nine years old, with dark brown-almost black-hair, and dark eyes. She didn‘t think she’d ever seen him before, and even though she was only five, somehow she knew that it was strange to see an unfamiliar face in a dream.

Finally his eyes settled on her, and he blinked in surprise.

“Who are you?” He called across.

“Who are you?” She echoed.

“I asked first. Why are you in my dream?”

“I thought you were in my dream.” She responded with a frown, wondering if it was possible to be in someone else’s dream.

“I’m going to walk down this way,” he pointed to his right, “and see if I can cross, so don’t go anywhere, okay?”

She nodded and watched him go, but the dream began to change. Instead of the woods it was becoming a vast sandy beach, the water spreading out before her and turning into waves. She called out to the boy, but she could no longer see him.

She woke abruptly, and sat up in bed, her heart beating rapidly. She remembered every single detail, and even at her age she knew it was odd to recall a slight chill in the air. Who was that boy? She wondered. Then laid back down and closed her eyes in hopes of finding out.


Go on to Part Two of the prologue


Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @pharesim, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp, @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

If you don't see their name on the list, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page- but make sure you haven't already voted or it may unvote your selection!

Buy Your copy of The Allies of Old: Reborn HERE-

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=linnet+mclaughlin

COVER REBORN BOOK (1)-page-001 (1).jpg


Check out my new author's website: https://www.linnetmclaughlin.com/

Sort:  

Fascinating premise! If it were me, I wouldn't have thought that it was another living person. I do take dreams seriously though, but more along the line of a premonition. I like how the changing environment signified the change caused by the absence of the boy. Sign me up for this one!

I've had some lucid dreams in my life, but rarely did they include other people and the one that I distinctly remember...I could tell they weren't real, it was spooky. I think if someone was real in a dream it would be obvious for me, I can feel a person's spirit :)

I like it, a good start!

Why thank you me boom :)

Nice little scene, it kinda looks like that now back in the garden, a bright moon tonight.

Should also let you know, with prices falling this far we've decided to stop selling and start buying again now that the winter business has begun (next week). I don't feel so bad having sold a few thousand at eighty some cents now, haha! I can replace it for half as much or less :) But I'm also going to be working on building my steemmonster collection, buying while they're low as well. Not packs, but individuals. Already started on that with my available steem. I'm thinking about doing half and half- steem/steemmonsters as we buy.

Thanks! Yeah I can't bear to sell any at these prices, glad I don't have to right now. I was thinking about submitting some voice auditions for the Monsters game, but got busy and missed the deadline. I just went to the page for the first time in a while, there's new characters since I last checked in, and the market page is a lot different now!

Yeah, the moon has been crazy bright for days here. (Thanks :)

You sound a bit younger in this one XD Premise is definitely sound, will try not to miss the next one :D

Ha, I definitely do. Excellent, thanks!

Awesome! How are you doing darling?

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi, @dreemit!

You just got a 19.35% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98