Into the Dreaming: PROLOGUE Part Two: "A Child's Perception" (Fantasy Y/A Novel)

in #story5 years ago (edited)


-I wrote the following novel nearly two decades ago. In the years between then and now I've honed my craft, and my perception of this world; my thoughts and ideas; have changed dramatically. However, I still enjoy the premise and have decided to do an overhaul of revisions and rewrites, though likely not until sometime next year. (Though I'm sure I'll do a little as I post chapters)

For now I hope you will enjoy a glimpse into my book writing beginnings...



They are the closest of friends though they have never met in waking life.

the dreamingcover2-02 (1).jpeg


Prologue PT1



Prologue Part Two



Aliyah sat quietly at the breakfast table, intent it seemed, on sinking her cheerios. But just as trick candles keep on relighting, the crunchy circles kept on resurfacing. She was not bothered by this because her mind was in another place, a place with silvery leaves.

Her mother paused in her dish washing and frowned slightly as she watched her little girl.

Karen Schuyler was a lady in love with her two children, so completely involved in their little lives that she seemed to know everything that went on in their active minds. But her five-year old’s uncharacteristic silence for the past several mornings was beginning to wear on her. Especially since she had yet to discover where the quiet contemplation had sprung from.

Once again she tried to bring out her daughter’s normally outgoing and even overly chatty personality. Karen felt the root of the problem must be the fact that school was fast approaching. Yet after the morning silence the two days prior she would talk excitedly and non-stop about nothing else. But that didn't mean she didn't have some worries- after all she had not gone to pre-school. She went to Sunday school so she was no stranger to kids and classrooms, but Karen had educated her at home, wanting to keep her there as long as possible.

“Only two more weeks until the big day!" Karen stated in an effort to draw her out.

Aliyah looked up and smiled dreamily, nodded absently, then looked back down at the now soggy cereal pieces.

“Are you tired sweetheart?”

Aliyah shook her head without looking up.

“Well, why are you so quiet then?”

“Jus’ thinking mom.”

Karen chuckled. Well that was a start. “What are you jus’ thinking about?”

“The place in my dream that I go.”

"Wh-"

“Mommy, mmmmoommmyy, I done!” Two year old, Ephram punctuated this fact by tossing his bowl overboard.

“Oh no, sweetie, we don’t throw our bowls, that makes mommy upset.”

Ephram giggled, “Ceral done, no more ceral.”

“Yes, I see that.” Karen grumbled as she cleaned up the mess, temporarily forgetting her daughter’s statement.

“Well, well, looks like you have mommy working early today!” John sauntered in with a big smile.

“Hi daddy,” Aliyah grinned up at her hero.

“Daddy, daddy, mommy cweans ceral!”

“Uh huh, I see little Ephram’s mess.”

Karen looked at her daughter again as she put the milky sponge in the sink. She seemed to be coming out of her daze now, which was a relief, but Karen still wanted to get to the bottom of it.

“Tell me and daddy about the dream Aliyah.”

“What dream baby, did you have a bad dream?” John looked at Karen, concerned.

“No daddy, it wasn’t a bad dream. I dreamed it,” she paused looking down at her fingers, “um, five times I think, but it isn’t scary.”

“Well, what’s it about?”

Aliyah explained the dream exactly as it happened, describing the stream and the boy. She told them that the first two times she was at the stream alone, than the boy showed up.

Karen and John exchanged concerned glances.

“Are you sure you don’t know the boy? Maybe he was in a T.V. show you saw?” John suggested.

Looking at her dad’s odd expression, she decided to nod. “Maybe. Yeah, he was probably on T.V.”

She got up from the table and put her bowl in the sink. “Let's go watch cartoons,” she said to her little brother, taking hold of his hand and heading the living room.

“Ca’toons, yay!” He exclaimed, looking up at his big sister in adoration.

Once they were settled on the couch, John and Karen discussed the dream.


“Honey, don’t worry, I had a recurring dream or two when I was young. I still remember one in particular about fairies who were trying to teach me how to fly. That didn’t mean anything, and I’m sure this doesn’t either.” John hugged his wife tight. “Okay?”

“Okay, I guess you’re right, it just seems odd, her remembering every detail of it like that.”

“What can I say, she’s exceptionally bright like her old man.” He breathed on his knuckles and polished them on his shirt with a wry smile.

“All right smarty pants, I guess I can see where she might get the eccentricity from.”

Aliyah sat on the couch pretending to watch the screen, but what she was really doing was making up her mind not to mention the dreams to her parents anymore. They had looked so worried and she hated them to look like that.

From now on she would only think about the dreams when they wouldn’t notice.


Continue on to Chapter One


Buy Your copy of The Allies of Old: Reborn HERE-

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=linnet+mclaughlin

COVER REBORN BOOK (1)-page-001 (1).jpg


Check out my new author's website: https://www.linnetmclaughlin.com/



Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @pharesim, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp, @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

If you don't see their name on the list, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page- but make sure you haven't already voted or it may unvote your selection!

Sort:  

Woah! I would've never thought she was five. Well, I should've considering The Playground Series. Me thinks Aliyah's taking things too seriously at such an early age. I'm not sure if I had thoughts like that when I was five... or maybe I did!

I forgot to mention it in my comment on part one, but a decade ago, I wrote a story entitled... Under a Steel-Leaf Tree!! Talk about coincidence huh!?

I can honestly say that at the time I wrote this, which was much nearer to the age of five than I am now lol, it was true to who I was at that age. Even now I can recall a few vivid memories of myself at five- I knew how to read for more than a year before I entered Kindergarten and constantly got in trouble by the teacher for being 'disruptive' aka bored out of my mind as she taught the ABC's. Until my dad found out and raised hell with the teacher, told her that if she had any sense she would have the more advanced children set up with books while she did that part of the lesson :) But more importantly I remember I was terrified of the dark...but it pissed me off so I started shutting all the lights off in the vicinity of my bedroom at night and forced myself to lie in the pitch blackness until I not only conquered the fear but began to prefer it that way.

I would venture a guess you did have thoughts like that, we are a unique breed, self aware and aware of surroundings at an early age :)

Hi, @dreemit!

You just got a 15.97% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85