The Playground Series; Reality In Fiction Returns: Season Two, Episode One "Borders and Columbus"

in #story5 years ago (edited)


I first posted this series of short stories when I started here on steemit nearly two years ago, and it was the writing that got my foot in the door. Philosophical in nature I've labeled it Reality In Fiction- for the readers of my novels it is very different than my usual style though I still feel you'll enjoy them.

I've been distracted by other projects in the meantime, but I was inspired to begin again by a conversation I recently had with my husband and a good friend.

The chapter's aren't extremely long, so if you have some time I would recommend beginning at the beginning.
The Playground Series Episode 9- "Swear No Oaths"- contains links to previous 8 chapters

However if you don't, this new chapter could stand alone so feel free to read on :)


dreemit2.jpg


If I attempted to enter another country without papers, I could be shot for it.

This is a concept that I keep finding myself stuck on recently- men believing so strongly in the invisible lines drawn on a map that they will actually put a bullet in someone to keep them from crossing over those lines. Or at the very least kidnap them and put them in a cage.

How I long for Ijustam to magically appear out of the woods, it has become very lonely in my world since he vanished. No one to share these thoughts with- no one who wouldn't think I had lost my mind if I did.

I sit in history class and marvel at how we call ourselves a 'sophisticated society'- exactly how are we so different from tribes of long ago? Because they used spears instead of automatic weapons to fight over territory? And are they really still teaching us that the war after 9/11 was justifiable? Even if we accepted the official story of terrorists led by a single Pakistani man- what did Iraq have to do with it again? Hey teach- how about we play the video of George W. making a joke out of the weapons of mass destruction that they didn't find, now that is educational.

I watch as my classmates obediently scribble notes, then regurgitate these notes when called on, and an eerie feeling steals over me. I don't fit in here anymore.


It has been more than a year since I laid eyes on the boy who grabbed my hand and led me out of the cave. A very long year and the longest part of it was the summer. I was at the playground almost every single day, waiting, but he never came. How long until I see him again?

I don't doubt his existence. I know most would begin to believe they had dreamed him up, but he was more real than anything in my life to this day. Certainly nothing and no one has affected me so profoundly.


The bell rings and I get to my feet thinking about this Pavlovian conditioning system with an inner eye roll as I gather my things. Does anyone else know that Ivan Petrovich Pavlov was the Professor of Pharmacology at St. Petersburg's Military Medical Academy? I suppose it's impressive that such a man influences the public school system almost a century after his death. And pharma has certainly begun playing as major a role as conditioning in recent years.

I look around the room and for a moment I consider saying "Hey guys, did you know pharma" comes from the greek word pharamakeia and that it's defined as 'witchcraft, magic, the use of spells and potions of magic, often involving drugs–a magic spell'?" Somehow I doubt that will make it into a lesson plan anytime soon. But the internet has provided us with a vast library of information at our fingertips- how is it that so many people still take this garbage being fed to us in this oppressive brick juvenile prison as gospel when it's so easily contradicted now?

I move through the halls and watch as my classmates glazed expressions transform in the precious few minutes they have between 'lessons'. It makes me smile to notice this- no matter how hard they try, those in power will never completely stamp out the spirits within.

Ironically I no longer share their glazed expressions when in the classroom, instead I listen and write notes so I can go home and research it for myself. "Columbus discovered the new world, he's such a hero we have a holiday in his name." Eh, wrongo. He was a murdering, enslaving, rapist tyrant. This is not top secret information, or a conspiracy theory- there is backup upon backup to these claims yet they're still teaching children "Columbus sailed the ocean blue in 1492..." Does no one else think that is a bit of a sick joke at this point?

I do.

His face flashes across my brain as the words whisper inside my mind and the pain of loss flares inside of me.

I know you do- where the hell are you so we can talk about it?

He doesn't answer, which is probably good since I might actually have to question my sanity if he did. But suddenly there's this feeling in the pit of my stomach and when the last bell rings I know where I'll be heading.

Maybe today is the day.




dreemit3.jpg



Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @pharesim, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp, @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

If you don't see their name on the list, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page- but make sure you haven't already voted or it may unvote your selection!

Sort:  

I'm a bit biased about this series, so I'm not sure how objective I can be. This was the series you were posting when we first stumbled upon each other, so I hold this in a very special place. I'm happy to see its triumphant return! And, a second season no less! I'm glad that newer members would be able to read this series. One could really see the maturity in terms of philosophy. I guess it's a natural progression from Season One. Thanks for bringing this back, sis!

Here's hoping fall magic continues to inspire me :) It holds a special place in my heart because of you too- and Paul :) xo

It seems Pauly B and I will forever be intertwined as well!

Hey! I missed this last week, or 8 days ago, can't upvote now! Nice to see the old playground again.

I'm glad this one's making the rounds again, I think it was one of these ones that I tripped over you on :)

I think it was- that or Today Again, which I have pulled up and am now starting to plot further so hopefully you'll be seeing that one making the rounds again too :)

Aargh I can't remember but I know I read bits of both! XD

So glad I took a minute to check my feed. :)

Me too! I actually wrote that a few days ago and didn't even remember that Columbus day was this week, so it seemed serendipitous I post it today :)

I don't know how I missed this Playground last week, but I'm happy to see it now!

I was wondering where you were on that one, haha!

It's ok, I just upvoted your reply here, worth a few pennies more now too! Really happy to see this series being expanded, the Playground's lessons need to be heard by all.

Very happy to see a new season of this!

I'm glad- how are you? :)

OK-ish, but don't seem to have the energy for RL and Steemit at the moment. Keep thinking it will get better, but so far it hasn't...

I'm sorry to hear that :( Have you ever heard of Kratom tea? I'm going to link you a site- basically it's made from the leaves of different Mitragyna Speciosa plants grown in places like Thailand, Bali, Malaysia- it's medicinal and there's definitely a strain that gives energy. https://www.kratomiq.com/about-kratom-mitragyna-speciosa/ Of course it will depend if it's legal in your country. There are a few states here that don't allow it- which is utter crap since it's such a better alternative to pharmaceuticals.

well this is different , but I do certainly like it , you are very talented x

Why thank you :) It does have a mystical element to it, but otherwise yes it is extremely different

Hi, @dreemit!

You just got a 9.17% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @dreemit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76