Unproven Chapter Seventy Four "Drunk as a Skunk"

in #story6 years ago (edited)


If you're loved by someone, you're never rejected, decide what to be and GO BE IT
-The Avett brothers


unprovensteemitcover2.jpeg


Recommend Reading Introduction to Unproven

DEFINITELY READ Prologue

Chapter One Chapter Two Chapter Three

Chapter Four Chapter Five Chapter Six

Chapter Seven Chapter Eight Chapter Nine

Chapter Ten Chapter Eleven Chapter Twelve

Chapter Thirteen Chapter Fourteen Chapter Fifteen

Chapter Sixteen Chapter Seventeen Chapter Eighteen

Chapter Nineteen Chapter Twenty Chapter Twenty One

Chapter Twenty Two Chapter Twenty Three Chapter Twenty Four

Chapter Twenty Five Chapter Twenty Six Chapter Twenty Seven

Chapter Twenty Eight Chapter Twenty Nine Chapter Thirty

Chapter Thirty One Chapter Thirty Two Chapter Thirty Three

Chapter Thirty Four Chapter Thirty Five Chapter Thirty Six

Chapter Thirty Seven Chapter Thirty EightChapter Thirty Nine

Chapter Forty Chapter Forty One Chapter Forty Two

Chapter Forty Three Chapter Forty Four Chapter Forty Five

Chapter Forty Six Chapter Forty Seven Chapter Forty Eight

Chapter Forty Nine Chapter Fifty Chapter Fifty One

Chapter Fifty Two Chapter Fifty Three Chapter Fifty Four

Chapter Fifty Five Chapter Fifty Six Chapter Fifty Seven

Chapter Fifty Eight Chapter Fifty Nine Chapter Sixty

Chapter Sixty One Chapter Sixty Two Chapter Sixty Three

Chapter Sixty Four Chapter Sixty Five Chapter Sixty Six

Chapter Sixty Seven Chapter Sixty Eight Chapter Sixty Nine

Chapter Seventy Chapter Seventy Chapter Seventy Two

Chapter Seventy Three



Chapter Seventy Four

"I can see why you like those two," Dori commented as they stood in front of Ary's full-length mirror, assessing their ensembles for the party at Andie's. "Andie has that ‘Say it like it is’ thing I admire, even if it comes across a little bitchy at times. It's obvious that she's a true friend. And Sonya...Well she's a little silly, but amazingly solid too."

Ary smiled at her in the mirror, nodding in agreement.

"What I don't understand is, how did Amanda fit in?" Dori leaned in to the mirror and brushed some light purple shadow over her eyelids.

"She wasn't always the way she is now." Ary frowned, "I mean, at least not when we were still kids, like ten, eleven. I think she started to change in junior high, always talking about the popular crowd as if they were despicable, yet you could tell she was envious. But still she was pretty much loyal to us. Though now that I think about it, it was probably due to lack of options. She wouldn't have been accepted into Brooke, Lisa, and Kara's crew, so she stuck with us. Or was stuck with us; I wouldn't be surprised if she saw it that way."

Dori made a face. "You would think now that she's been so utterly ostracized she would have attempted to earn you guys back, apologized, groveled if need be. You're a pretty forgiving group, she might have stood a chance."

Ary looked at her, "I told you about how she tried to sit with me my first day back."

"Yeah, but only to talk about Grayson, no apology, is she really that idiotic? She always did well in school from what I remember."

Ary lifted a shoulder, "You know, I don't get it either. I mean I guess I always realized she was a bit shallow, but this goes way beyond that, a complete lack of substance and the ability to even fake it. Do you think Grayson could have damaged her that much?"

Dori frowned, "I don't think it's fair to blame other people for our behavior. I mean, yeah he might have hurt her enough to cause some damage, but he was only with her for a few weeks, that should not be enough time to steal somebody's soul."

Ary nodded, "Yeah, I feel the same way. I said pretty much that exact thing to Andie when she was on her kick about the lives he's ruined. And I met a couple of those girls…It's beyond me how he has that much power over them, even now. I don't want to sound like a hypocrite though, I still cry every time I think too much about him."

"That's different. For one thing you were with him for nearly eight months; almost three times as long as anyone else he's ever been with; and for another it's still fresh, it’s only been a week since you broke up. Plus, you really do love him. But you also love yourself, which is what I'm thinking the problem is with these other girls. He could convince them they weren't worth it because deep down that's what they already believed, whereas you know you're worth it. You know that he's the fool in the situation."

Ary smiled, "Yes, I do."

Dori grinned at her, "Okay, are we ready?"

"Yep, let's do the party thing."


"Holy shiz-it!" Dori exclaimed over the music as they pushed their way through the throng of people in Andie's living room and headed for the kitchen.

"You took the words right out of my mouth!" Ary agreed, "I am certain the Connelly residence has never seen so many people, and her parents are pretty damn social!"

"Heyyyyy!" Andie called to them as they made it into the room. "Come get a drink!" She pointed to the keg in the corner of the room and Grant met them there and filled their cups.

"Why thank you!" Ary told him.

He flashed his boyish grin, "You got it!"

"I am so getting drunk tonight!" Ary declared.

"Right there with you girl," Dori agreed.

Ary grabbed her and Andie's hands and pulled them toward the living room, "Dancing time!" she exclaimed.

Andie rolled her eyes with a smirk, waving at Grant as they slipped through the door.


"Hey Ty, you made it!" Grant clapped his cousin's hand and they gripped and held for a second, grinning at each other.

"Hell yeah, I made it. So who's this chic you're trying to set me up with?"

"Andie's trying to set you up with," Grant corrected, "she's her best friend."

Ty lifted a dark brow, "Be straight with me man, is she a dog?"

"No, not at all, she's a cutie."

"A porky cutie?"

Grant laughed, "Nope, she's petite but still has some kicking curves. Check her out for yourself, she's the blonde in the middle of the living room dancing her ass off with Andie and a couple other girls."

Tyler walked out to the edge of the living room. He was a couple of inches over six feet so he had no trouble looking past the other party-goers to the spectacle of gyrating women in the center of the crowd. He located the blonde immediately and as he watched her shake her ass he grinned and tipped his beer back. Now this was a setup he could work with.


"Soooo, Tyler…He's pretty hot." Andie said as she sat next to Ary on the couch in the den. The party had thinned substantially, and those still rocking out had mostly migrated to the back patio.

Ary let her head flop to the side and gave Andie a look, then giggled, unable to hold a serious expression in her drunken state.

"He was dancing with you a lot tonight,” she continued.

"Mhmm, and do I smell matchmaking? Matchmaker, matchmaker make me a match," she sang before erupting into giggles again.

"Well maybe just a little matchmaking. Come on what did you think?"

"Mmm, he's very good looking, and a good dancer," she wiggled her hips in demonstration, giggling again.

"So you don't mind that I invited him to that sidewalk festival we're going to tomorrow?"

Ary blinked at her, trying to blend the two Andie's she was currently seeing. "Um...Huh...No, don't mind, why would I mind?"

Andie laughed, "You are seriously trashed right now."

"Ummm, yup. Yuppers. Drunk as a skunk."

"Okay, I think it's time to go upstairs."


proofunproven1.pdfsoftcover-1.jpg



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp and @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
If you don't see their name, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page.

To better understand what a witness does read @dragosroua's post Witnesses: What they are and why you should care

Sort:  

I am glad she her in head is not in the clouds after the break up , as Dori said you love yourself and I think thats what is different about her

I can see myself doing the party thing as well!!!

No, really? I would never have guessed that. LOL, hee hee

I want this to work between Tyler and Ary, but being a believer of second chances, I want Grayson back to!

I am a similar believer...lol ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71