Musical Genius

in #story6 years ago

Time for one of the - or maybe THE - master(s) of electronic music, Ricardo Villalobos. I got to know his music at the time he was defining click house, the 'modern' minimal (techno) of 15+ years ago. Although I didn't like that style too much, I already understood then he is a genius! Techno is his home, but he is able to create something super unique, with great grooves, mixing different styles into his sets and productions.

For today I selected the most techno sounding set I could find on Soundcloud, one that has the title Berghain Berlin. Well, I'm pretty sure he didn't play at the Berghain floor. Either it was at Panoramabar - the other floor under the same roof - but I would not be surprised if he would have played this set outdoor, at the Berghain terrace. A good friend once told me he was playing the terrace, starting with vinyl, but when time progressed more and more stuff was pulled out of his studio onto the floor; his modular equipment. Apparently he was so into playing and making music, he continued hour after hour messing up the lineup completely. Owwww, I still wish I would have been there.


© Ricardo Villalobos (source)

In October he is back in Amsterdam; During Amsterdam Dance Event he plays his usual gig for the Hyte guys. I never missed an addition last so many years, and certainly will not miss the upcoming one. Early August he plays at Dekmantel festival, one the of the best Techno festivals in the Netherlands, much much much better than the well known Awakenings festival.

For now I have to use a HIFI system to get his sounds into my ears.

Get Yourself a Surprise

Simply Hit the Play Button below


Artist: Ricardo Villalobos
Set: Berghain Berlin
Year: 2013
Country: Chile

source soundcloud

Artist Music

Spotify Beatport Soundcloud YouTube

Artist Discography

Discogs

Artist Gigs

Resident Advisor

Previous Posts

Ricardo Villalobos - Bionic Sad (2016) ... track | play | post
Ricardo Villalobos - Empirical House (2017) ... EP | play | post


Music Library with more than 200 Entries

blockchain curator and reviewer for @illuminati-inc
you like stories and music? check @qsounds

Sort:  

Good sounds buddy! I am not sure I can post today on the topic - maybe @musicgeek can.

Let the geek and music speak! :)

based on popular request and synching issue of certain offerings the geek posted some sexy visual video tunes to make the life of a German whale easier lol

All for the German Whale(s) :)

Hello @edje, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much!

Please don't click on this my father has been hacked and they took his account and are trying to infect others.

Thanks, user is on mute.

Get More Upvote - FREE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86