A Moral Story: I met a Family of Nazis when I was a kid.

in #story6 years ago (edited)

I once met a family of Nazis that moved into neighbourhood, a long time ago. I was just a kid, and didn't know their ties at first, but one day the family's two boys came over to my house. They'd had always seemed strange, but when they turned up and showed me Nazi armbands they had, I was highly unsettled... even as a young boy. In fairness, looking back they were peaceful and pretty decent towards me, but when I went to their house to play some video games, I had the shock of my life seeing memorabilia and a presumably old Nazi flag.

I told my parents, they told other people in the neighbourhood... the Nazi's neighbours on that side of the valley confirmed it and everyone steered clear of them. Within two or three months, they got the picture, sold up and left. I never really met the parents, but I was told they were the worst... the dad took a skateboard off of one of my mates just because he wasn't wearing a helmet and refused to give it back until he got one.
The irony was that he had come over to "collect" one of the Nazi kids to give him a bit of a chance. He did that... walked home in the heat 200 meters away, found his sisters helmet, walked back, retrieved his skateboard and ditched the Nazi kid on the spot. I have several other stories, including one that involved the daddy Nazi being a sexist prick towards a friend of my mother's, but that’s not the point of this little story.

My point was that those Nazis had views that the people of my neighbourhood disagreed with. They made their kids wear shit I didn't like personally and the complete disrespect they showed to our community and ways was a joke. It made us uncomfortable to know they hung a Nazi flag on their living room wall and it was not cool how the Nazi dad took my mates skateboard rather than talk to him about it. We took offence to an ideology which a lot of our grandparent fought against. Were we wrong?

No. We had a little bit of pride in our safe community, respect for one another to the point where we’d leave the keys in our cars so people could move them if they were in the way... messages of joking abuse about big bums left on dirty windows. We trusted one another because we didn’t use the veil of an ideology or religion to show who we were, it was our personal merit and reputation that earned an everlasting place in that community. I can still go back and everyone knows me and I am welcome because people can see and recognize my face... they know me as an individual and not by the things I stand by.

I believe as a culture, we need to find that pride again. The West is losing a sense of identity, a heritage being traded for whatever strolls over the border. A very left-wing governance has allowed many changes which have had some dire consequences due to the sheer lack and disregard for how European culture should be. They’ve made it illegal to voice your opinion over certain matters calling it hate crime and even hate speech! I think they stole that idea from Orwell, except we willingly put the screens and cameras that watch us into our pockets. I wish to leave you with a quote from the the man:

“Intellectual honesty is a crime in any totalitarian country; but even in England it is not exactly profitable to speak and write the truth.”

Sort:  

Hello @elduderino, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83