The Fire! - Update and Humble Request for Prayer - Enjoy with Troy!

in #story6 years ago (edited)

prayer 5.jpg

Update to the Fire and why I have not been blogging.

I have spent the last week and a half away from where I live helping with the aftermath of a fire at mom's house on May 22, 2018. A faulty dehumidifier caught on fire in the basement. There was smoke damage to the basement and kitchen. Jeff Hofer, a dear friend of mine, and I hauled items from the basement to the garage. It has been a lot of hard work.

We have servePro cleaning up the residue in the basement. The carpet in the bedroom basement is trashed, the insulation is trashed, the exposed drywall will need to be replaced. Two basement windows including an egress window will need replacing. And the items we moved to the garage will need to be cleaned with a dry sponge /chem sponge and perhaps downey and then ozoned. It is a long road ahead.

The Fire

The fire occurred at 956: PM and mom was on her way to bed. She heard a poping noise or two and thought it was coming from outside. Then the smoke alarm went off. She did not know where the noise was coming from. She finally opened the basement door and saw flames down there. She thought she was dreaming and opened it a second time and the flames were larger. She called 911. The Tama police arrived first and they used the fire extinguisher to address the fire. Toledo fire dept arrived shortly thereafter. Mom was looked over in the ambiance and stayed the night at the neighbor's house.

She has been traumatized from all of this. It is a lot on a person who is soon to turn 88. I feel for her and we have both shed tears over it. We have to have a large hydrol machine go in the basement now for the week. It eats a lot of electricity but is supposed to filter the air.


IS-ad9vsdtn06sd.jpg

Photo of property when we bought the house

60 photos were taken of the damage and I will be posting them soon. We bought the house in 2012 and were so proud of it.

Faulty Dehumidifier

Sadly we bought a dehumidifier in August 2012 and the next year there was a recall on the dehumidifier. I never got the memo. It is my understanding there is a faulty cord and the machine overheats. The brand was SoleusAir by Gree model Sg-Deh - 451A. We are going to be working on filing a suit against Gree as we do not have insurance.

IS-1not19sb3fj31.jpg

Photo of egress window

The photo is taken before the fire and I will be blogging again with photos of the damage.

Prayers are so needed.

This has been hard on both of us. The emotional trauma and financial loss is overwhelming. We ask for your prayers. I do not think we will ever be the same again as this has changed our world. I may need to move back to where she lives to take care of her now. I can only guess at about $6,000.00 - $12,000.00 damages. Please, I humbly ask for your prayers for healing from this fire. It has brought us closer together and that is a good thing. But we so need prayers.

I hope to again blog articles @familyprotection, @christian-trail for @canadian-coconut, @markwhittam and my normal music/poetry blogs, but it may be a while or intermittent. Thanks for your understanding.

images (11).jpg

Feel free to comment upvote or resteem.

Sort:  

good luck and good health to all

thanks my dear friend.

I pray for you each and every day, it was nice to here throughout it all you and your mom have become even closer. I’m so blessed she wasn’t hurt! 2A56FC66-EBEB-4B42-A29C-7B30B05EE72F.jpeg

Thank you my dear Deb. We need all the prayers that are out there to get though this. Blessings.

The power of prayer. . I just upvote you kindly follow. Thanks

You have my prayers. The Lord will restore all that you've lost in Jesus' name. Amen.

Thank you my friend. We need all the prayers that are out there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70