Flash Fiction: Jo

in #story6 years ago

Flash Fiction.jpg

Evening Steemians!

It's Monday night again, that means... it's Flash Fiction night!


Jo

She looked into his eyes, searching for something. It wasn’t there.
“Lilly? It’s me Lilly.”
You who? Cropped dark hair, green eyes. A little scar just under the left one.
“Do you remember what happened?”
Yes. I was shopping with… with... a man? That couldn’t be right.
“You were out with Jo. You had an accident.”
She noted the tremor in his voice. Jo. My brother. 5 years old. No, that can’t be right either…
“Lilly… He saved you. He…” the green eyes were weeping.
Hang on, my brother? He is married, two daughters. A man. Her Jo. She smiled, pleased with this piece of the puzzle.
“The bus, Lilly. Its brakes failed. He pushed you out of the way.” The man was sobbing at her side. He reached out for her hand. “It killed him Lilly.”
Don’t. Just stop. Jo! “Where’s Jo!!!” She screamed, her voice high and hoarse.
“Lilly, please don’t my love.”
My love? The green eyes look haunted through their thick glaze of tears.
“I almost lost you. I couldn’t live without you, the boys couldn’t live without you!”
The boys? My boys. “Where are my boys? Who are you?”
“Your husband. I’m your husband. They’re with your parents. They said that this could happen. Take your time.”
Time. Jo. We were late. We were running. I rushed ahead. He pushed me and I fell. A sharp pain. Metal, tarmac.
“JO!”
“Lilly, he’s gone. It killed him. I’m so sorry.”
The green eyes were on her again. And then a flicker of a memory. “Luke? You’re older. Where am I?”
“Do you remember what happened?”
Yes. I was shopping with… with… a man? That couldn’t be right.
“You were out with Jo. You had an accident.”


Hope you like it, see you tomorrow!
Eveningart x

Sort:  

Ooh, I like it! There's nothing better than when it ends the same way it starts! Those are the coolest stories!

Thank you so much - glad you enjoyed it. E x

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by eveningart from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nice writing!!!
My heart was wrenched by the end.... ugh.. starting over and over again! I've always imagined that there was nothing quite so heart-breaking as memory loss. to lose yourself, piece by piece. It's really one of the cruelest conditions.
having said that - really excellent writing - i was right there in that room!

@dreemsteem, for the Welcome Wagon

Thank you @dreemsteem- that means so much coming from you. I can't imagine how hearybreaking it would be just to keep having to explain this over and over. Have you ever seen the film 50 First Dates? Its silly- but i was always intrigued with hiw memory loss was dealt with in it. E x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28