The unfortunate mistake - Short story- part 2

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Danny felt very awkward and said: "Married? I'm sure you must be mistaken. I don't know you at all."
Hillary looked angry. "This is not what you told me last night. You said I meant the world to you and that you will be by my side forever." She looked at Danny with tears in her eyes.

He had no clue what to say to her and secretly hoped that he was still asleep and in the middle of a nightmare.
"I'm sorry...I know this seems weird, but I have no clue what happened last night, and I will surely not be so stupid as to get married while under the influence. "

"Well then perhaps you are stupid, or perhaps it's me that's stupid. You married me, and I was stupid enough to fall for it."

Danny felt anxious. "What is your name by the way and where are we?"

"My name is Hillary, same surname as yours, and we are in my apartment."

"I'm sorry Hillary. I have no clue who you are, and it seems awkward, but I need to go home. I have a meeting today with my new boss, and I really have to get going. Do you mind if we sorted out this mess a bit later? "

"And if you go now, I'll never see you again right?" Hillary said looking very sad.

"I'll come back, I'm not that type of person." Hillary jumped up and kissed him right on the mouth.

"Goodbye husband, I'll have dinner ready when you get home tonight."

With that last sentence stuck in his mind, he finally put his clothes on, grabbed his phone and left without even saying a proper goodbye. He walked to the elevator and thought to himself.

What type of person was he? He has never done anything this stupid in his whole life. He felt totally ashamed and he couldn't get that poor girl's face out of his mind. He should seriously overthink going out with those guys again. Gosh, if these were his friends who needed enemies.

He grabbed a cab and went straight home to take a shower. He looked at himself in the mirror and totally saw a different person. He had always had good norms and values, and now everything was thrown overboard.

He took a cab to his new offices, and felt so messed up. He was so focused yesterday and now his brain was all clogged up with nonsense.

As he walked into the lobby, he saw his so called friends sitting there waiting for him. They all burst out laughing when they saw him looking so distraught and confused.

"You bastards! What happened last night? I have no clue how I got here, and why didn't you stop me from making the biggest mistake of my life?"

"Oh Danny cheer up! You didn't really get married. We just wanted to play a trick on you."

"Who is the girl then....and did....did anything happen between us?" he asked rather anxiously.

"No man, you were way too drunk. Hillary is my sister, and she was just glad to play along." Jerry, his best friend said and laughed again.

Danny felt like he could breath for the first time today. He felt angry at his friends, but in the end he could see the funny side of it all.

He had a great meeting with his boss, and that night he went back to Hillary's apartment. She was surprised to see him, but she seemed like a fun girl and he wanted to see her one last time. He turned out to like her quite a lot. He took her to dinner and they had a great time.

After a few months of dating, he knew that he had found his soulmate. What originally started of as a prank, ended like a fantasy.

They were married six months later and his friends were all there to cheer him on. Jerry was of course his best man, his best friend, and now his brother in law.

What started off as an unfortunate mistake, turned into a very fortunate one.

Sort:  

Wow! You got me good!

Your work is truly awesome!

Get More Upvote - FREE

Steem[DOT]Link/sbd

Get 0.1 Steem free on signup !

in the end is happy ending. As i told in my comment before. you make a short story and it very good. Every sentence build a plot and the reader will be pleased to read it.
I wait what will you tell in next story, tragedy may be or whatever, We wait it.
i just post https://steemit.com/life/@rokhani/keep-the-kitchen-steam-and-mattress-stay-warm-menjaga-dapur-tetap-mengepul-dan-kasur-tetap-hangat
If you have time you can visit it
It an honour if you are willing to visit my post.

warm regard from Indonesia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75