Tell me a story and make me buy it

in #story5 years ago

I was walking in Shiraz city center, a crowded business district. Loads of thoughts in my mind and looking no where! I came across a shop, a VERY ordinary shop. They had ready meals, cookies, Pirozhki etc A very kind woman was inviting me in, with a real smile on her face.

I looked at all the stuff and thought "fried, unhealthy, fatty etc! There is no chance I eat one of these" I said to myself. The lady looked in her 60s or maybe 50s. But a shadow of hard life and daily struggle was in her eyes.

I almost left the window of the store that a man, who was standing beside me for last 30 seconds, started talking to me, with no intro "there are many of them, more than 100" he said. I asked "who?" "The ladies." He added

"5 years ago someone donated a house to 20-25 women with no house to live. Then he bought simple materials of some food for them. They cooked and they sold them to taxi drivers in the area, later to companies staff in the area and so on. The community grew bigger and now there is 100 of them, living and working in 3 houses like that, selling all the stuff in this store and another one in another area of the city" He ended his words and entered the store.

getty_497029204_309411.jpg
image source

I followed him with no will! Bought some Pirozhkis and left the store! I'm trying to tell you: if there was no story, I would never bought anything from that store! The quality, packing, hospitality .... nothing made me buy, but a story! Tell your customers a story!

First - when you tell a story, Parts of story resonate with people who listen. The more someone identifies with a story, the more connected they feel to what you're saying. That's critical as we think about the stories we tell our customers.

Second - There are elements you need to build a compelling story: the beginning, the struggle (challenge), the tipping point, and the new beginning.
It means you need to make sprints. The show must go on and the audience should be able to feel and believe the cycle.

Third - that's right, as Seth Godin says "People do not buy goods & services. They buy relations, stories & magic"

But in business: we have to tell the right story at the right time to the right customers.

Creating a story for your Brand

let's make it simple:

  1. First you need to make your story’s conflict distinguished and realized by audiences
  2. Explain your path to current status resolved
  3. Simplify the important influencing events in your road to current status
  4. Make people engage with your story, parts or all of it!

Part of this post is from my previous postings in steemit (my own account) and my Publish post recently, all are shared below. I made it more complete and corrected some parts. this is a very important topic and worth to keep on reading about it for business owners and startup developers.

I also recommend you to read this post:

Sort:  

Hello my dear @honarparvar, what a great story! A very educational, illustrated post and a great presentation.

I followed him with no will! Bought some Pirozhkis and left the store! I'm trying to tell you: if there was no story, I would never bought anything from that store! The quality, packing, hospitality .... nothing made me buy, but a story! Tell your customers a story!

Claps for you! I really caught this publication, a simple but very valuable teaching, a well told story will capture people's attention immediately and they will be attracted to what the story contains, to end up identified with your product, very good friend. I loved!

Blessings, take care!

thanks buddy 😎🙏🏼 i appreciate your comment

@crypto.piotr has set 1.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties let you earn rewards without the need for Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

  • @fucho80 has earned 0.9 STEEM. 0.891 STEEM from the creator of the bounty and 0.009 STEEM from the community!
    Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Hi @honarparvar

But a shadow of hard life and daily struggle was in her eyes.

I've seen old tired people (mostly outside europe) so often that it does make me wonder - how will my own life look like once I'm old ...

The more someone identifies with a story, the more connected they feel to what you're saying. That's critical as we think about the stories we tell our customers.

I would go even futher. If you can make your story to trigger someones emotion, then it's the best you can do. Emotional connections is everything.

The more someone identifies with a story, the more connected they feel to what you're saying. That's critical as we think about the stories we tell our customers.

I loved it. I need to remember that.

Interesting read. Upvoted already :)

ps. Perhaps next time you can really consider adding tags "palnet" i "Steemleo" (steempeak does allow to add more than 5 tags).

Yours
Piotr

thanks peter for reading and the comment and the upvote 🙏🏼😃
guess what.....?
I forgot the tags taaaadaaaa 😂

I've seen old tired people (mostly outside europe) so often that it does make me wonder - how will my own life look like once I'm old ...

Everything depends on you, as long as you maintain joy and desire to live that tiredness is never seen (appears). I know very old people who are always doing chores, like my dad, they never see the tiredness of life ... Because they came to live it and enjoy it.

Maybe they are a generation that is disappearing...

What a great idea I have upvoted your post for visibility.

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you buddy, i appreciate that

Interesting piece, the most difficult thing is to tell the right story to the right person.

This story would not make me follow that man inside and buy something.

Although I am a single mother, was a teenage mom, had a hard life I do not feel the extra need to help, buy what I do not need (eat) or cannot effort. I call that a waste.

Perhaps I would have considered it as I saw her real smile and the pain of life in her eyes but that man spoiled everything. He forced himself upon me, to me it sounds like a setup. Something that all salesmen do and why so many people hate them.
Sell a good product and I might buy the story as well and please no story about women or children with a hard life who made it thanks to some unknown saviour not mentioned on the shop.

Posted using Partiko Android

well everyone buys a different thing 😉

That is true but this is also a lesson for the salesman. Come up with something new and do not label people by gender, age, etc. You can ve wrong, very wrong.

I must say what an amazing article @honarparvar. Your article proves the theory of yours because when I started reading your story, I continuously read it without missing anything. Also there are many good lines/phrases I liked from your article.

The more someone identifies with a story, the more connected they feel to what you're saying. That's critical as we think about the stories we tell our customers.

Very well said.

There are elements you need to build a compelling story: the beginning, the struggle (challenge), the tipping point, and the new beginning.

It means you need to make sprints. The show must go on and the audience should be able to feel and believe the cycle.

Agree.

that's right, as Seth Godin says "People do not buy goods & services. They buy relations, stories & magic"

But in business: we have to tell the right story at the right time to the right customers.

I am going to save this article my friend. It is really amazing. This is first time I read of your publications I think. But after this I will try to follow every articles of yours.

Keep posting amazing content.

thank you so much buddy. i really appreciate your time and kind comment, means a lot to me 🙏🏼

The history of women also captured me. I had not seen that a story could also be used for marketing. It is remarkable the importance of giving a connotation to a business. Excellent post. It captured me from the beginning 😄

If the story is true, fine. If I get to find out it's a fake story, will advertise against such a business

Posted using Partiko Android

are you investigating all the stories brands tell you?
we get inspired by the stories themselves not truth, that's what I think

I just believe it

Posted using Partiko Android

@honarparvar, If we just see through the eyes then everything is neutral but when we see through experienced eyes then there is a story everywhere. Stay blessed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73