Hermann Is Forced Into Exile

in #story5 years ago (edited)

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

We're in a series about the Wild West and the incredible story of an 11 year old German boy, Hermann, who was captured by an Apache war party from his family's farm in 1870 in Central Texas.

He's now about 15-16 years old at this point in the story and has become a full blown warrior who hates and fears the White man.

Yesterday's post

In the last post Hermann's band was in a battle with another band of Apaches and they were beaten badly. In fact, Hermann's best friend, chief, and adopted father had been killed.

Amazingly, Hermann was able to avenge his death by killing the medicine man.

Today's story

When Hermann finished off he medicine man he took the man's cartridge belt and Winchester rifle and went up into the rocks a good distance away but where he could see his band's camp.

The attacking warriors were shouting their victory shouts so he knew that the rest of the men in the camp were run away or had been killed.

He could hear the shrieks and wailing of the squaws. When he watched a group go back to where the medicine man was there were howls of rage and shock going up when they found his body.

They searched the area but he was well concealed high above them in the rocks.

He was desperate to see the chief's sister

When night came he knew he had to leave the area but first he wanted to see the only person left which he cared about and who cared deeply for him and that was Ete, the chief's sister.

She had always been very kind to him and he loved her dearly. He HAD to see her one last time.

She needed to know what happened

So he slipped into the camp late at night and into her tepee. He explained how the chief had died and that his death was avenged. She thanked him and said that she would never forget him but that he had to ride.

She gave him blankets, provisions, and told him what horse to take. It was the greatest gift she could give him.

That particular horse was the fastest horse in the tribe, with tremendous endurance also. So they cried and hugged then Hermann stealthily made his way to where they kept their horses and located the specific one that Ete told him about.

Ete gave him a great horse

By sunrise he was many miles away from there, riding East. To where he didn't know. At the time, although the Apache and Comanche had made a treaty of peace between them to fight the whites, that wasn't lasting very well and they were at each other's throats again.

Plus, Hermann didn't know their language and he thought there was a good chance that they'd kill him if they saw him. So that wasn't an option. He hated the whites and didn't want anything to do with them so that wasn't an option either.

So he was heading into the unknown.. isolated, with no one he could talk to. No friends, not even an enemy to talk to. Just his horse. The land felt as lonely as he did for it was barren with nothing but sagebrush and cactus as far as he could see.

download (17).jpgsource

Hermann rode steady all day long with no stopping because he knew they would be coming for him. In the evening he came upon a creek so he stopped to slake his thirst and of course his horse. After resting a bit he rode up on a ridge near the creek.

On the other side was a little valley with grass so he let his horse graze while he went back up to the top of the ridge which allowed him to see many miles in the distance from the direction he came. The sun was getting ready to set when he saw specks on the horizon.

It was a war party on his trail. He went down to gather his horse, mounted up and rode on.

a0esw215rr.png

Side note:

After Hermann had been back in the white civilization for many years, probably nearly 50 years...he received a letter from Eta. Well, someone had written it for her but they had written what she said. She asked him to come and visit her before she died.

She was living on the Apache reservation in New Mexico among the Apaches. She said she was almost blind and very old. He wanted to go see her but sadly he didn't dare.

There were still warriors living there who would not hesitate to avenge the death of the medicine man after all these years. I reckon some things they didn't forgive.

a0esw215rr.png

Hermann's desperate flight continues on the next post. Thanks so much for reading, God bless you all!

-jonboy
Texas
the gentleman redneck

uvsylyennv.png

l1xgphrt5d.png

9gp9m219kw.png
source

Sort:  

Oh that's too bad that he wasn't able to go back and see her all those years later. Imagine the things they would have had to talk about after 50 years had passed.
I am getting anxious to hear how he gets reunited with his family.

Howdy tonight Melinda! I know, that would have been something else!
You might have to wait awhile for him to get back with his family. lol. I think he still has quite a few adventures out in the wilderness ahead of him, but then I haven't read ahead so I don't really know how much longer. I hope he talks about how all this affected his White life.

But how has your day been?

It's been a good day. Most of it was spent trying to make the v2 app work on my phone. I finally figured out that it works wonderfully when I cleared the cookies on my phone I've already got over 1000 Tokens. Now it will be fun to see what they can be used for!

Clearing cookies is sometimes the key. I've tried that with trying to get surfer to work, but that wasn't the problem. I'm going to try to reload it tonight. you're going to be rich in tokens!

Howdy Sir @janton, well for one thing, Hermann is out on his own now and he is alive. I am sure that he has also learnt how to live off the land and he is staying ahead of his followers. Let's hope they don't catch up to him.
Thank you also to @dandays for showing us how to perform a link.
Blessings!

haha! I know, sir @dandays can be a real gentleman.. sometimes. lol. Much thanks to him because I set that up on today's post. But as for Hermann, yes he has proven that he is very strong and resourceful and capable of being on his own now.

Besides, I'm sure he had a mama and probably a grandma praying for him and there is something about that relationship that God honors so well, I've seen miracles my whole life come to pass when you have that intercession, and for some reason it seems like it's usually a grandma. Just been my experiance anyway.

Hahaha, funny thing that I was also raised in my youth by my grandma.
She died when I was 13 years old and she was a true angel.
Blessings!

Howdy today sir papilloncharity! Well then..I don't want to pry but that fact naturally prompts the question of what happened to your mother if you were raised by your grandmother? But if that's too personal you can just ignore the question. lol.

Howdy Sir @janton, a long story put into a nutshell here!
My mom got a divorce and we were rejected by the people, as the children in a divorce were stigmatized. (1950s)
We were kicked off the farm and moved to the city.
It was my gran, me and my two sisters and my mom.
My mom had to work double shifts in the printing works to keep us alive and we hardly ever saw her.
My gran had the task of raising us.
Simple and sweet!
Blessings!

wow that had to be rough! Especially on your mom, I'm sorry she had to live like that. Did things eventually get better for her?

Howdy Sir @janton, it was indeed a great struggle, a woman alone with no support fighting the odds to protect her little family.
She never fully recovered and was taken away in a car accident at the age of 51.
Blessings.

Howdy today sir papilloncharity! 51! That is way too young, I'm so sorry to hear that and she didn't get
to enjoy the fruits or her labor. At least not here on earth.

Congratulations @janton! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 4000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Evenin’ Cowboy! If he was riding on one of those saddles, he must be sore. I think Hermann is soon to be captured by the whites for he can’t return to his life with the tribe.

howdy tonight redheadpei! Just LOOKING at those saddles makes me sore! But by that time he was very used to them.
I haven't even read the whole story like I usually do so I don't know how long it will be, I'm only a couple pages ahead. But
yes that sounds like a very logical guess.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

That takes some real resilience to keep going like that, with no one and nothing. Maybe not resilience so much as adrenaline.

Howdy again ginnyannette! Well, from the very first Hermann proved that he'd do anything in order to survive so going out on his own is one of the easier things he's been through!

Ha, that's a good point.

Morning janton, that medicine man was one powerful dude and one bad man. I am going to put my money on Hermann getting away from the war party. Did Hermann have an Indian name?

Howdy angiemitchell! I'm not sure if he had an Indian name or not, I'm sure he did but I don't think he's talked about it yet. Yeah I wonder what they called him? Probably "scrawny white boy!"

Haha, I would not be surprised. That scrawny white boy obviously developed a brown skin tone with the sun! He probably looked Indian from a distance.

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 6.07% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Oh man, that was a great ending! I thought you were going to say he saw her one last time. Good job again, sir—it’s exciting again.

@janton, when you mention your last post and do a quick follow, you say “in the last post”.... Have you ever considered linking your previous post where you say “last post?” The reason I’m suggesting it is because I missed your last one and needed to catch up, it would be nice if there was a link right here for me.

Thanks for telling the exciting tale of Hermann. See ya soon, Janton.

Howdy sir dandays! Thanks for the kind words, lets me know someone is reading the posts.
I have thought about doing a link to my last post but I didn't know how so I forgot about it! lol,.
But if I have some time I'll find out how to do that.

My pleasure. Yeah, you’ve done a real good job captivating your audience.

You’re linking your “source” on your images, it’s the same thing.

<a href=your web address here
Put one of these: “>” at the end on the above line where it says “your web address here.”
At the end of “>” you write your link, like “this” and close it in with one of these “<“ and finally one of these: “/a>” and you’re done.

Here is a link how I linked here twice. 👍🏿

Howdy sir dandays! thanks for the information. If I'm not too lazy I'll try that today. I have a laziness problem and a procrastination problem. That wouldn't work where you're at except maybe today because everything is shut down anyway. lol. What is the plan for today then, go bike riding?

We went for a drive today, only 15 miles away but on dirt and hills so it took about 30 minutes to get there. Play Panama, a beach we hadn’t been to yet but heard a lot about, we just walked in the door and I’m plugging in my phone and Pura Vida is making her hummus for the second time which means we’re filming it next time. 👍🏿

Howdy today sir dandays! Oh that sounds great, are you guys joining the dtubers? That's a great way to build your account.

Dtubers? Is that another group or platform?

well most dtubers think so but I was just talking about people who use dtube but I don't know if they have a seperate group, they talk like it most of the time though. It's the most consistent money maker though, once you get established with them the upvotes are tremendous.

You got a 18.50% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @janton! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05