Let me Introduce Myself, a Late Bloomer

in #story6 years ago (edited)

First of all, I'm very happy that I was approved today and I want to thank @hopehuggs because I have learned a lot from her about this wonderful platform, and @jerrybanfield for his YouTube videos that are quite helpful and thank you for being here reading my first post!

I'm here because I want to make a difference in people's lives through my art, my writings, by sharing experiences. I will soon turn 74 and I consider myself a late bloomer because I'm on a path where the only way to go is going upwards, like the flowers. As long as I learn something new every day, as long as I can still help someone, as long as I can continue creating the effects I want to create, I consider I will continue to bloom. I think most of us are blooming in one way or the other.

From an unhappy child to a happy late bloomer

When I was 7, 8 and 9 I couldn't wait to turn 10 because I thought that having an age with 2 digits would make me feel different, happier or who knows what. When I was 12, I constantly thought how would it feel to be 15, or 20. Looking back, I was not able to just enjoy being the age I was. I was an angry child and a depressed teenager. As a contrast, back then I never thought how would it feel to be a senior citizen and today, knowing that I have already lived most of this lifetime years, makes me enjoy life more. Well, I feel happy and the funny things is that when I look myself on the mirror, I see someone who looks older than how I feel inside because I feel young inside! The spirit is truly ageless. 

A Life-changing Terror

I'd like to tell you a story, a true story that marked the point of how a woman set herself up to become a late bloomer.

Twenty five years ago there was a single mother of an 8 year old child. Let's call her "A". She started to get very tired and a pain developed on her left side. The pain grew and it was so severe she couldn't work and go peddling her wares any more. "A" was faced with the fact that something was very wrong with her body and though she didn't know what was going on, she suspected the worse was happening to her left ovary. She was scared of doctors, she had no insurance. But "A" did know she had to make a decision, a life or death decision, and all she could do at that moment was to have an inner talk with herself and seek her own answers.   

"I'm very tired, I cannot continue to live like this, I'm going to die if I don't do something about it"—she told herself. "Do I want to die? Or do I want to live? And what will happen if I die? If I die my child will become an orphan."—"A" concluded.

The Scream

What happened next changed the course of her life. When the word "orphan" entered her mind, the thought of leaving her child behind, without her to take care of him, was so terrifying, more terrifying than any cancer or any disease, more terrifying than being a single mom, it was completely unbearable, a completely unacceptable thought, that she screamed to the top of her lungs, with a scream that reached the confines of the universe. Really, I can't possibly describe that scream but it had such an intention,  a determination that it could not be stopped. It had to be heard! Now that I think about it, it seemed as if it was an order. She screamed "I WANT TO LIVE!!!".

How The Universe Responded

Soon things started to happen...her wealthy sister showed up unexpectedly from out of state and told her that she had dreamed with their deceased mother that had told her to take "A" to a cancer clinic in Mexico. The fact is no one knew if she had cancer or not but they went to Mexico anyway and the doctor there did diagnose "A" with left ovarian cancer. "A" followed the treatment and in a few months she was free from all symptoms and started a new life knowing that the power of a strong, unstoppable decision can change a destiny, can make things happen and manifest what was intended. “A” is still cancer free to this day.

I know this story is true because I am “A”. I know that making that day the strong and heart-felt decision to live saved my life. I thank my son, my sister and the universe because I'm still here. I agree with Ralph Waldo Emerson when he said "Once you make a decision, the universe conspires to make it happen." Maybe my story will help someone who hasn't made a life-changing decision that needs to be made, to finally make it. I truly hope so.

Sort:  

@joyfire, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73