Mania

in #story6 years ago (edited)

image

My eyes flung open at the sound of birds chirping. Slowly and reluctantly, I uncover my face from the sheets and blinked a few times before sitting up and looking at the clock that read 5:58 am. I smiled a victorious smile realizing that I had woken up before my alarm even sounded. Without a hint of drowsiness in my eyes, I stood up and went to get ready. I can already tell, this was going to be the best day of my life.

I got downstairs to find my father in front of the television, reading the daily newspaper while watching his favourite morning talk show. "Hey dad, where's mom?" I asked. "She's in the kitchen preparing breakfast... You sure are up pretty early today." He replied, his eyes never leaving the paper he was reading. "Apparently, my body decided to wake up early and I feel this day is gonna be a great day." I said cheerfully as I danced my way to the kitchen. "Good morning, mom!" I sing-songed to my mother who had just whipped up a plate of pancakes. "Look who's up early." She smiled as she set the plate of pancakes down on the table. I sat down and started to pour maple syrup over three stacks and quickly devoured it. "I feel like I want to eat cake today..." I muttered between bites of my food. I heard my mom laugh from the counter and then scolded me to not talk about food while eating. "But if it makes you feel any better, I just learned a recipe for chocolate cake. We can have that as dessert after supper." She added. "You're the best, mom!" I beamed. After finishing the last of my pancakes I grabbed my bag from the living room, "Bye, dad." I said and left for school.

School was usually boring but I had a blast. Nothing special really happened, the usual. Only the thought of having chocolate cake after dinner was making me really excited to get through the day and go home.

While a long way from my house on the bus I noticed black smoke rising from what seems to be our neighborhood. I was starting to get worried as I heard sirens echoing in the distance.

No.

image

The bus left me standing, watching in horror at what was once my house, now burning embers of bright red and orange. "My parents!" I cried, tears starting to form in my eyes as I ran towards the commotion. An officer stopped me from going any nearer to the flames. "Let me go! My parents! They're still in there!" I cried louder. The grip he had on me was strong and I couldn't fight back even if I troed to so I helplessly knelt down on the ground bawling my eyes out, begging them to help my mother and father. More police officers tried to take me away from the scene and forcefully tried to get me into one of their patrol cars. I struggled, using all of my strength, to escape until I blacked out.

I awoke in an enclosed room that was all white. A single dim light dangles above, slightly illuminating the room. My head hurt like crazy so I tried to bring my hand to my head, wanting to massage it to ease the pain a bit but I found I could not move my hands nor fingers a single inch. I was horrified to find myself wrapped in a strait jacket. I wriggled like a worm trying to loosen the jacket around me. "What am I doing here?!" I screamed angrily, "Where are my parents?! Please!" A woman in a white labcoat enters the room. "Oh my god! Please help! M-my house! My parents!" I was panicking at whatever was happening. The woman only stares. Two men in black trench coats enter the room. The woman helps me sit on the bed I was lying on. "What is going on?!" Tears started streaming down my face again. I hated crying but everything was terrifying. "I'm not crazy! Why am I here? In a strait jacket!?" I screamed. The two men in trench coats looked at each other with a puzzled look. One sighed and began to ask me what my ears could not believe,

"What did you do to your parents?"

"What? Are you crazy? They died in the fire because you refused to save them while the house was burning!" They had the nerve to ask me that when they killed my parents and made me lose my home.

An hour passed by with them asking the same question over and over while I answered them the same thing. The men gave each other reluctant looks before they exited, leaving me by myself. It looks like I'm not getting out of here any sooner.


"It has been proven that the bodies found at the scene were already dead before they were burned in the fire."

Two nurses gathered, gossiping about the newly admitted patient.

"Apparently, she was abused by both her parents and she had already killed her parents days before the fire started. Then, she continued to act as if nothing happened and trying to decieve herself with the illusion of a happy family."

"Oh? How so?"

"Their neighbors complained about a rotting smell coming from the house. The police were spying on that house ever since one of their neighbors reported seeing a rotting corpse on their sofa."

"And the fire? Was it all her idea to get rid of the evidence?"

"Well.... I think that part was an accident since

the cause of fire came from an unattended oven."


Wrote this as a stress reliever to get rid of the anxiety of the fact that no one in here probably reads literary stuff so I decided to post some of my content here to my quotev account. Don't worry, I'll still post content tho ^^.
Also check out this logo I made... Will be using this soon as a cover photo 😉
image

Also, wow! My followers went up to 63 after just 20+. Thank you guys! When I get to 200 I'll be posting a song cover as a tribute. Cheers!

Photocredits:
https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/technology-science/mystery-birds-fly-v-formation-3025188
http://wqad.com/2016/01/05/body-found-inside-a-vehicle-inside-a-burning-house-in-princeton/

Sort:  

You definitely deserve more followers and your posts deserves more value than what they currently have! I wish I have a mind like yours. I'll always appreciate your works. This one is beautiful. Keep on Steeming Eliza. 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11