Not Your Average Poltergeist

in #story6 years ago

f2beafd9-680b-4756-824c-58c0305b893b-fotolia_60687131_subscription_monthly_m.jpg

I was never the type to go out of the house really often and if I did, it was usually very early in the morning or really late at night where there are less people on the streets. You could say that I was an awkward introvert. Given, I was also a bit spoiled by my parents but finally I decided to go independent and rented an apartment where I could live alone.

The apartment I recently moved into was big and pretty cheap. For someone who is struggling to finish college, I can say it’s a pretty good bargain. Not to mention it’s a few blocks away from the university I go to and the neighbours are actually quite friendly. After the last of my personal belongings were moved into the apartment, I plopped down on the mattress, opened my laptop and proceeded to at least update my personal blog. Everything was going quite well until I heard the bathroom door close with a loud bang. My eyes jolted up from the computer screen and hovered over to where the bathroom was. I thought it might have been the wind but it was impossible since I was next to the open window and have not felt anything, even a small breeze. After witnessing something like that, you could say I was pretty terrified but then I shrugged it off as nothing and the day continued on as normal.

The next day, I woke up pretty early for a morning jog. I was just slipping on my running shoes until I heard knocking on the front door. I thought maybe someone mistook my flat for someone’s? Either way, the knocking stopped eventually. I stepped out of my apartment to check if anyone was outside. Funny, no one was out. Could anyone be out this early? I shook my head in dismay and proceeded with my jogging.

After school, I invited my best friend, Stella and our other group mate Jake, over since we still have to finish a project due the very next week. Then it happens. One of my cups just fell onto the floor in the kitchen. We were in the living room with our backs to the kitchen and have not noticed anything weird before the happening. Normally, I’d freak out if I was by myself but Jake reassures us that the cup was probably misplaced. We cleaned it up, continued, and after a while, they had to go.

After saying goodbye, I cleaned up the living area and got ready for bed. I stepped into my room to find my dresser opened and almost all of my clothes lying, trashing the floor. I was puzzled but I really, really needed sleep after a long day. So, I put all of my clothes aside and lied down.

Now I can tell why the rent was pretty cheap.

This went on for months. Plates would go smashing, lights went out but the transformer would be fine, I would come home to find the apartment in an absolute mess and I would go back to my parents’ house to spend the night.

One day, I was in the shower, paranoid of what might happen next. I was clearly living inside an apartment being haunted by a violent poltergeist. Everything was actually fine today so I stepped out of the shower and then I noticed some writings on the mirror:

Sorry for breaking things and scaring you, it was actually to haunt you at first but I actually pitied you since you clearly have no social life. So I tried to trash things to get you to go out more. Get a clue will ya?! I’m actually getting tired of it. Also, it’s obvious that you have a thing for that Jake guy so why don’t you just tell him and get him to be your boyfriend?!

Sincerely,
The ghost that’s been living in your apartment.

Man, I could tell you, it did not have the best penmanship.

Sort:  

Hahahahahaha that was hilarious! Did not think the ghost had some kind of sympathy over her 😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70