My House Was Broken Into By A Drunk College Student

in #story6 years ago

Today I thought I'd share a humorous story about one of the strangest things to happen to me in life....

It's was six years ago when my husband and I lived in South Dakota. It's the first time we ever lived in a town where we felt safe leaving our home unlocked when we would only be gone a short time. During our years in South Dakota I subscribed to the local paper and my favorite section was the local crimes articles. They were filled with criminal acts of minor offenses...underage drinking at college parties, bars serving underage college kids, drunk kids getting caught doing stupid things....you get the picture. The town we lived in really didn't have major crimes as an issue and I loved it. It was a wonderful feeling living in a town where you felt safe. We lived 10 minutes from the college we attended and it was a great time in our life.

Our home in South Dakota Years Ago

32087_579212496926_1132423_n.jpg

Anyways, it was one night in early spring when my husband and I realized we forgot to pay the electric bill. We knew we needed to put our payment in their overnight drop box or else we'd have to pay a late fee the next day. It was only a 10 minute drive from our house to drop the bill off. It was around 11:00 PM and we both were up for a ride so we loaded into the car and went off to pay the bill. We didn't lock the back door since we would be right back.

We had a nice ride and arrived home. We came in through the kitchen door and I headed to the bedroom and my husband to the living room. As I went in the bedroom I heard my husband yelling my name. He was yelling that there was someone in the house in a freaked out voice. I ran towards the living room, my heart pumping. There passed out on our couch was a drunk college student. He looked like a baby. His face was young and he looked like he was probably fresh out of high school. The kid was in a sitting position on our couch with his head hung forward passed out. He smelled like he took a bath in alcohol.

The Back Door To The Kitchen

32087_579212551816_1636497_n.jpg

My husband was just standing there staring at him, perplexed. I should explain...we'd heard myths of college students getting drunk and passing out in the wrong houses before. People in our town loved sharing stories of all the stupid things drunk kids did. When we saw this kid passed out on our couch my husband and I both knew....we were living the myth.

Instead of freaking out, my husband calmly woke the kid up. He was SOOO drunk!!! He thought our house was his friends house. He was slurring his words. My husband managed to get the guy to get his phone out and call a friend. After a the phone call the guy was ready to go meet his friend and his friend told him how to get to his house from where he was at. The kid left and my husband and I breathed a sigh of relief....

Not the end of the story...After 10 minutes my husband and I started talking and wondered if the kid was okay enough to get to his buddies house down the street. We decided to get in the car and drive down the street to check on him. As we walked out the door we saw the kid in the distance. He had walked around the block and ended up right back heading towards our house. Did I mention he was SOOOO drunk!!!

Park Near Our House Where The Kid Walked Around The Corner to Our Street

51732_593945995876_3675867_o.jpg

Picture is after some bad rain storms when the park flooded.

We loaded the kid in our car and drove him to his friends house. It was around five minutes from our house but a good ways down some curved roads. We waited until he was inside to head home. Looking back it was such a weird night but my husband and I agreed we got a great story out of it.

It never once crossed our minds to call the cops when we discovered the guy passed out on our couch. We knew from stories the guy was mostly likely a drunk college student who didn't mean any harm and probably got lost. No need to call the cops who would pick him up and possibly cause him problems for being underage. I hope the guy learned a lesson about drinking too much that night. Then again I highly doubt he even remembers the event he was so trashed.

Lessons Learned:

My husband and I started locking our doors every single time we left home after that. The kid was an innocent and didn't mean any harm but we didn't want anymore drunk kids wandering in our house. Months after the incident I'd be woken up to the sounds of a kid puking in our front yard after getting drunk. We got new neighbors across from us would throw keggers so our neighborhood was always littered with idiot drunk kids on weekends.

I hope my kid never goes off to college and gets so drunk she wanders into the wrong place. That guy was so lucky my husband and I are nice people. We took care of him. If he had wandered into someone else's home he might have had the cops called on him or worse. It's not safe to get that drunk.

I sometimes wonder what happened to the guy. I hope his college career went alright and he was successful. He was lucky that night. I hope he was more careful after that but we never even learned his name so we'll never know...

photo credit: all photos are my own


Banner.png

Sort:  

Thank God it didn't got worse. Your husband is really a wise man to have taken such steps. I learnt a lot of lesson here.

Thanks. He is a wise man and we are lucky.

Such things, u'd only think they happen in movies and not real life., 😂😂😂

I know! It was such a strange night!

He thought our house was his friends house. He was slurring his words.

images-1.jpeg

The environment we raise our kids and the manner we raise them really matters a lot. I can imagine raising a child in an environment where the most crimes is been "drunk" and probably the high school he'll attend has lots of alcoholics in it.

I wish the boy well. I hope he is fine and better wherever he is.

@marxrab, a nice and simple home you've got there.

Funny picture. I too hope the guy is fine and had success in school.

Yeah. Lock the doors so someone like me when I was young comes knocking at 3 am because I think I'm at grandma's. Then, thirty minutes later someone like me might just pass out outside somewhere. Then, someone like me might wake up with the sun and be incredibly confused while holding on to vague memories of yelling, "Grandma! Let me in!"

Then someone like me gets the hell out of there as fast as possible, so it's all good. Yup, lock the doors.

lol. Thing is my husband did some crazy things when he was young and in college. He was into partying culture. He's pretty cool when it comes to dealing with crazy kids. Because of that if you had come knocking at 3 am looking for grandma my husband would probably have opened the door and tried to help you find your way home. I on the other hand, being a petite female, probably would have called the cops!

That was a good one Marx!

Thank you!

That's crazy it's so casual to have drunk students wander into homes and pass out. Good thing you got him out and to his destination safely. I must admit I have passed in the back random pick up trucks during bush parties when I was a teen. I once woke up in another town. Hitch hiked home. lol I get it.!

That's a hell of a story in itself! lol. In South Dakota it was also common to find drunk kids passed out in the wrong car. People left their cars unlocked all the time because they felt safe doing so.

Great story!! You've had so many kooky experiences!

My life is pretty kooky at times. :)

Interesting story and I'm glad it appeared that it all worked out, at least from your viewpoint. It could have been worse, he could have puked all over your coach, or maybe even tried to sue you for some crazy reason!

I never even thought of him puking! lol. That would have been horrible. That kid probably had a horrible hangover the next day.

That's a really cute story. You're right that kid was lucky to run into nice people like you and your husband. He could very easily have been shot.

That house is very nice looking, by the way.

I know! The wrong kind of people could have caused the kid problems. It was a beautiful house. I miss it. It was a lovely yellow.

Unfortunate thing to find a drunk kid... Your husband did a good job because he was positive with him. This is the best way to handle these cases with the teenagers.
And you should be careful next time, my friend.@marxrab

Yes, my husband is a good person. He handled things well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16