BEHIND MY SMILE, THERE IS A STORY YOU NEED TO KNOW.

in #story6 years ago

stock-photo-what-s-your-story-concept-575090866.jpg
Source

Before I joined steemit in June 2017, my story was full of rough edges, disappointments and setbacks. I was a undergraduate student that cannot boost of a dollar in his bank account. I heard life on the other side is pleasurable and pleasant, I even heard that college students over there have a part time job to support their schooling. Giggle, you may not know why but I will tell you.
Situation of things here is so critical that you cannot even consider taking a part time job to support your schooling, that is if there are part time jobs at all. Even the full time jobs available is not enough to go round the labour market. Meanwhile, there is an option available, although it is cost efficient you can decide to run a part time course while scouting for jobs- either part or full time jobs.

My early life on campus, hmm, although, I cannot possibly say I was young when I entered university because we are in a jet world now. At least we have a 20 years youngest professor on the record. So, definitely I am neither young nor old when I resumed school. I came from an average background- a low class family but I am proud of my family.
My mom is working for a Federal University as a Non-Teaching Staff (she is still in active service) and trust me her income isn't up to anything because she was catering for about five kids then- (feeding, clothing, schooling and lot more) I know what you can call her right now, she is a woman like a man. While my dad is a retired civil servant or an ex-service man who patiently wait for his not too buoyant pension before we feed. Although, all these happened while he was still alive, he is far beyond in a dream land now. May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace.

I started out my first year on campus with some pairs of cloth which I was able to get through an illegal means and I will tell you. I got in for Law which is a five years course, so I have a great deal of time to spend on campus you will say. When I got in, I had a different idea of life on campus. Due to the flamboyant lifestyle I saw then, I was intimidated to sell my bedspace (which is contrary to the school regulation) in order to live up to standard. I was able to change my wardrobe and got a phone since my motive for selling my bedspace was to get a new phone. So, I did. All these was before I joined steemit.
To be sincere with you, I have this traits in me that whenever I set my mind to something either positive or negative, I will definitely achieved it. Have done that several times, for instance, I came across the request of @fulltimegeek via @oluwoleolaide blog and that very moment I said to myself I will do this too. That is my traits and I like being challenged.

Let's do this very quick, life was really terrible for me while schooling because it was only my mom that was pushing myself and my siblings with her stipend. She is really my backbone apart from God, during this struggle and at a crucial stage I lost my dad. It was really difficult for me and my siblings and especially my family back then but little or nothing can be done to avert his death.Few years later, almost leaving school
In my penultimate year, I got to found out about steemit from my friends- @destinysaid and @ehiboss and I did some ground research. I hastily joined, that is, I was not really prepared for this then. Let me tell you why?
I was still in school back then, remember I told you it is pretty difficult for students here to manage through a job while schooling. Exactly my challenges then, I had less time for steemit because of my school. Although, my friend encouraged me to keep blogging then but I couldn't help it. So, I dang steemit. Bye!

Probably, you maybe wondering why my reputation score does not commensurate with my steem power, this is because I took almost like 5 months away from blogging. That really had a drastic effect on my blog. I am paying my dues now (sober). All together, it was not really my fault but I am back!
During this break from steemit, I had an ambition I was nurturing and that is my career in media enterprise. I really love entertainment, music (good ones) and media. I hope to do this as a long term goal. At that time, I was called up by my friends to anchor the first ever conference in Nigeria tagged "STEEMIT IN NIGERIA CONFERENCE" where I earned my first pay aside my other jobs off the blockchain. My professional skills was employed in other subsequent "STEEM MEET UPS" which I anchored. There and then, my affection for my lost love- steemit started building up.
In no few months from then, I finished from school and now I can rate my blog now to then. And all I can see is and say is...There is a great difference!

Without mincing words, steemit is nothing like Facebook, Twitter nor Instagram. It is purely an economical and financial platform liberating people from the shackles of government's unemployment scheme and a way of oppressing us to do their whims and caprice.

I am a victim of change through the help of Steemit.Inc. and I am ready to propagate this vision, are you ready to join me?

Taking this time out to say Happy Birthday to my MOM! I LOVE YOU FROM THE MOON TO THE BACK AND I CAN NEVER WISH FOR LESS.

new footer.gif

Sort:  

Wow! Your story is inspiring, thank God for this amazing platform.

Happy birthday to your mum, she will live long in sound health and wealth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78