A CHURCH GIRL'S TALE (Episode 11)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story6 years ago

Daddy said he would be celebrating his 60th birthday on 30th of May, and would want me to come and grace the occasion with him and other members of the family.
I promised to come, but after the conversation, I started praying that I would have gotten over the mood I was before going to Lagos, because I didn’t want anybody in my family to have an idea of what I was going through.

The next day I had an appointment with my pastor’s wife. I decided not to go as I didn’t know how to tell her what was wrong with me.
Fortunately for me, she called around 2.30pm to inform me that we would have to postpone the meeting as she needed to attend to a matter urgently. I was very happy to hear that. To avoid people coming to my house again, I decided to attend Sunday service the following week, only to discover that Bode was absent. I didn’t even ask of him as I preferred not to see him, but I overheard someone telling the pastor he had gone back to school.

Immediately after the service, Mrs Williams sent an usher to tell me she was waiting for me at the church office. When I got there, she asked me what was bothering me. I was too scared to tell her the truth, so I said “It’s family matter ma, my dad and mum are not in good terms, and it’s
seriously affecting me….”
She said “Are you sure?”
“I said “Yes ma”.
“Anyway, if that is the case, don’t let that affect you. There’s no marriage without its own crisis. God will be glorified in that union it doesn’t have to bother you, after all, you know how to pray, just pray for them, and everything will be well.”
Then she paused,and looked at me “Sis Sewa, are you sure this is what is bothering you?.I’m having a feeling you are not telling me the truth.”
“That is it ma.”
“Okay. Let’s pray.”
She prayed with me, and I left.

As I was going home, the thought came to me.”Hunnnn!.You have just told another lie!! That’s another blunder..Go back and confess your sins.”
I refused to go back.
How would I face her to tell her I told a lie, after asking me twice if I was sure I was telling the truth, and which I answered in the affirmative?.

About a week before my dad’s birthday, I fell sick. I was throwing up, nothing stayed in my tummy, in fact, I couldn’t eat. “But I just treated malaria, why this again?”.I said to myself.
I became very weak.
I decided not to call anybody’s attention. I was fighting it alone. Then, very early one Saturday morning, Pastor Mrs came to my house. I was so surprised to see her.
“What’s wrong with you Sis Sewa?”. “Just a bit weak ma”.
“Just a bit weak? When did it start”.
“About a week ago ma”
She looked at me closely, and said “No, it can’t be. Let me see your eye and your palm”
She checked both.
“You are pregnant!”.
“No ma, I’m not, it’s malaria”.
She sat on my bed, and was looking at me.
“I said you are pregnant!.I knew it last Sunday when I saw you, but I didn’t want to be too fast. Okay, if you are not sure,et’s go to the clinic.”
“No ma, I’m not pregnant, I’m sure I’m not”.
“Now, tell me, what did you do?. Did you sleep with any man?”
I didn’t answer.
“Oh my God! You of all people? I’ve been using you to counsel sisters in church, I saw you as a role model to them….”
She bursted into tears.
I started weeping too.

But then, who was really Pastor Mrs Williams?

Watch out for Episode 12

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13