Sci-fi Story: Salary Increase (English/Turkish)

in #story6 years ago

biker-407123_1280.jpg

Part One

I was drenched when I came home from work on my motorcycle. It was raining without interruption for days. Pelin saw me at our flat's door and said, “take your clothes out.” I couldn't stop thinking about if she doesn't love me.

“Even my pants?” I asked.

“I just ran the cleaning robot,” she said.

I took my pants and coat off the door. Fortunately, no one saw me without pants. Was it normal that Selin took the risk of getting his boyfriend caught by neighbors in his underwear? If she didn't like me, then why were we planning on getting married?

“Why are you standing there, take your clothes to the bathroom?”. What a nice gesture it would have been if she took the clothes from me and took them to the bathroom.

I said, “I need a capsule motorcycle.”

“We haven't got the wedding money yet,” said Pelin.

I explained the reason for my wish by saying, “It combines the comfort of the car and the fuel economy of the motorcycle.”

"What about your salary increase?” she asked.

“I'm in the eve of rebelling against the boss, you'll look after me if I'm unemployed, right?"

"I look after myself hardly," said Pelin.

Even though other people's girlfriends were liars in such situations, they said: “Of course, my honey." It was clear that Pelin didn't love me, I just couldn't figure out why she wanted to marry me. Her family was more prosperous than ours, she was earning better than me, and she was very young. If I were her, I'd marry myself, because my legs are like columns, I thought.

While I came back to the hall wearing my pants, it sounded like a bomb exploded outside the door. The earth could have been torn apart, or the sky was divided into two. Soon, our house's hall was filled with white light.

"Shouldn't the light of the lightning come first?” Pelin said in a very calm voice.

It was astonishing that she could remain so calm in the face of such a sound that shooked the windows and trembled the ground. There was no such thing as the fact that she didn't like me; apparently, she could have had her emotions removed by surgery.

Before long, the walnut-sized grains started falling from the sky. While the grains blew out the windshields of cars and likened their bonnets to the surface of the moon, Pelin was throwing roasted chickpeas into her mouth one by one.

"I'm scared, Pelin, can you hold me?” I said. She rubbed my back like I was a baby to take out the gas.

Although hail was cut off, thunder and rain continued until the morning. Pelin asked me why the light of lightning did not come first during my sleep twice. According to the laws of Pelin Özsoylu, since it is not permissible to sleep in the same bed before marriage, I was sleeping on the couch that turned into a bed. I didn't answer her because I also had my rules.

In the morning, it seemed to have calmed down a bit, the sky was cloudy, and it was raining, but at least there was no thunder. We left the house with Pelin, the lady called an air taxi to go to work. “Yesterday I had a tight bargain with the boss, he could raise my salary,” she said. Although Pelin did not compromise from her comfort, about the capsule motorcycle, the wedding expenses were an excuse. I was gonna get that capsule bike, and Pelin couldn't stop it.

On the way, while I was passing through the supersonic cars, the rain has again turned into a thunderstorm. In capsule motorcycles like American football, people were traveling without getting wet. I was shaking like a wet rat. Suddenly, a vast frog fell on my helmet, and a smaller one slipped out of my jacket and landed on the roof of the electric car next to me. I pulled my motorcycle under the tent of a clothing store on the side of the road and started to watch what was happening with curious eyes. With the rain, not only the frogs but the snails were falling from the sky.

“I was just going to ask the boss for a raise today,” said the motorcycle boy parked next to me.
God, The Greatest Boss, must have punished all the people who were on a salary increase. Since frogs and snails now formed a thin layer on the road, the traffic had stopped completely. The frogs jumped in amazement, and dozens of amateur journalists were trying to record this historic event with their smartphones. All the snails and frogs just disappeared when I was going to hit the frog that bounced over me.

“You saw the frogs too, didn't you?” I asked the boy.

“Yes, fortunately, they have disappeared, we live here in vital danger, 20% raise in salary is even less,” said the boy.

After making sure only was water drops were falling from the sky, the traffic rebounded. I took off the grass that blossomed in my motorcycle's flood and went on my way.

I just moved to my desk at work, so Masal came to me with two coffee cups in both hands.

"I brought you nuts-flavored coffee, Metin," said Masal.

I said, "I can cry at any moment soon because I'm not used to this kind of treatment."

“Frogs and snails rained, these are signs of the apocalypse my grandfather said"

I said,” the weirdest thing is they just disappear."

“Anyway, I hope everything works out. Can I ask you something?”

“sure,” I said, wondering what will she ask.

“Do you think I should accept an 8% salary hike? I got a job interview last week, and they pay a salary worth of 20% hike.”

“I think you have to admit, tell them you have a higher offer, and they will definitely take into account for the next one, even if they don't change the 8% bid.”

“The programmer's head works differently,” said Masal smiling.

I thought, "if my head worked so hard, I would have a capsule bike and a lover who love me" but I didn't articulate it. You never know what would happen.

Towards noon, while I was acting as if I was working hard and trying to estimate the rate salary increase, Batu yelled: “Breaking news.” Everyone in the bureau has been swept away and gathered around Batu's desk.

“A giant dead whale has fallen to Taksim Square,” said Batu, showing photographs of the whale taken from different angles.

"How did it get there? " asked Masal.

I said, “Conquerer Sultan Mehmet brought him from land, and he will soon bring him down to Golden Horn.”

Nobody took my humor into consideration because everyone was busy watching the security camera showing the whale's image. Batu then reflected on the screen the live broadcast of internet television. A large crowd gathered around the whale, watching what was happening under the rain, with colorful umbrellas in their hands.

The traffic was calm on Büyükdere Street as was returning from Levent to my house in Zekeriyaköy on my motorcycle. The velocity of the rain was reduced, and there was an unwelcome silence. The air was darkened early due to the black clouds that gradually spread through creating anaphors and covering the sky. First, a freezing wind blew, and then a massive piece of ice fell off the coast of the road. I said to myself, this time it is dangerous. I felt the cold air brought by the violent wind to my bones. From the sky, sharp pieces of ice, each of them like a knife, began to fall in a thunderstorm. I had some kind of enlightenment when I felt my death was imminent. Pelin loved me, in fact, because of her character she was not able to express it openly. Sharp pieces of ice that fell from the sky were stuck in my body, and my presence on Earth came to an end, and the road in front of me was shattered in pixels.

Part Two

“Salary hike simulation is an extraordinarily complex system with over a million lines of code. You have monitored the log records from your employee Metin İzsüren. We keep the reporting to our customers at a much more summary level,” said Bora Peremencioglu.

“If this were the first time we had trouble, I wouldn't have come all the way down here. Using this system, we decide to raise salaries for more than ten thousand employees working in Demirkol Holding's 28 companies. Every year you asked for price increases over inflation for simulation. We have always accepted these increases that we do not find reasonable. We haven't been able to take advantage of this market research for a month. This is the third interruption we have this year,” replied Serkan Sezer. This blackout, which coincided with the period of increase in wages, was very troubling.

Serkan Sezer knew that some customers were trying to make extra concessions by exaggerating their victimhood. He thought Bora Peremencioglu was experiencing a real trouble. Demirkol Holding was a significant customer, and it was critical that they continue to work with them. To show the importance they gave to Demirkol Holding, the participation of the parent company abroad was organized.

He gave the word to Marc Klaas, who attended the meeting through the holo-conference. Marc Klaas said the error was caused by one of the local software developers along with a lot of technical explanations nobody understood.

Serkan Sezer felt the need to intervene and explained: “The problem was actually caused by the software engineer in charge of the operation of the local simulation who did not like his salary increase. Ismail Öcal, who realized that his salary was not raised, added a code block called Weather Events to the simulation. We've split our way with this guy who added the code block to the simulation that creates extreme weather events for computer games.”

“Naughty Mikail. Look what did he cause when he was trying to take revenge," Bora Peremencioglu said.

"Not Mikail, sir, Ismail. Other interruptions during the year were also caused by inappropriate additions made by this guy. Another programmer who is more proficient in these matters is now interested in the simulation. He just told me next week that the system will start to reprocess healthily. In the meantime, we will refund all your payments of this year to your company. I hope we will not suffer such trouble again, "said Serkan Sezer.

"I hope it will be as you say. Thank you for the sensitivity you have shown, "Bora Peremencioğlu replied.

Image Source: https://pixabay.com

star-wars-2369317_1920.png

MAAŞ ZAMMI

Birinci Bölüm

Kaç gündür aralıksız yağan yağmur şiddetini iyice artırdığı için motosikletimle işten eve gelirken sırılsıklam olmuştum. Beni stüdyo dairemizin kapısında o halde gören Pelin “kıyafetlerini dışarıda çıkar” dedi. Bu kız acaba beni sevmiyor mu diye düşünmekten kendimi alamadım.

“Pantolonumu da mı?” diye sordum.

“Temizlik robotunu daha yeni çalıştırdım” dedi.

Çaresiz montumla birlikte pantolonumu da kapının önünde çıkardım. Bereket kimse pantolonsuz halimi görmedi. Selin’in erkek arkadaşının iç çamaşırlarıyla komşulara yakalanma riskini alması normal bir davranış mıydı? Madem beni sevmiyordu, o zaman neden evlenmeyi planlıyorduk?

“Neden orada dikiliyorsun, giysilerini banyoya götürsene” dedi. Giysileri elimden alıp banyoya götürme zahmetine katlansaydı ne hoş bir jest olurdu. İç çamaşırlarımla banyoya doğru ilerlerken “Bana bir kapsül motosiklet lazım” dedim.

“Daha düğün parasını denkleştiremedik” dedi Pelin.

İsteğimin nedenini “Otomobilin konforuyla motosikletin yakıt ekonomisi bir arada” diyerek açıkladım.
“Senin maaş artışı ne oldu?” diye sordu.

“Resti çekmek üzereyim, işsiz kalırsam bana bakarsın değil mi?”

“Ben kendime zor bakıyorum” dedi Pelin.

Başkalarının sevgilileri böyle durumlarda yalancıktan da olsa “tabii ki hayatım” diyorlardı. Pelin’in beni sevmediği açıktı, benimle neden evlenmek istediğini çözemiyordum sadece. Ailesi bizimkilerden zengindi, benden daha iyi kazanıyordu ve evde kalmış sayılmazdı. Onun yerinde olsam gerçi ben de kendimle evlenirdim, bacaklarım maşallah sütun gibiydi.

Tam eşofmanımın altını giyip salona dönmüştüm ki dışarıdan kapının önünde bomba patlamış gibi bir ses geldi. Yer yarılmış ya da gök ikiye ayrılmış olabilirdi. Çok geçmeden evimizin salonu bembeyaz bir ışıkla doldu.

“Yıldırımın önce ışığı sonra sesi gelmiyor muydu?” dedi Pelin gayet sakin bir ses tonuyla.

Camları zangırdatan, yeri titreten böylesi bir ses karşısında bu kadar sakin kalabilmesi hayret vericiydi. Özel olarak beni sevmemesi gibi bir durum yoktu belli ki, ameliyatla duygularını aldırmış olabilirdi.
Çok geçmeden gökyüzünden ceviz büyüklüğünde dolu taneleri yağmaya başladı. Dolu arabaların ön camlarını patlatıp kaportalarını ayın yüzeyine benzetirken Pelin avcundaki leblebileri birer birer ağzına atıyordu.

Şakayla karışık “korkuyorum Pelin, bana sarılır mısın?” dedim. Gazı çıkarılacak bir bebekmişim gibi sırtımı sıvazladı.

Dolu yağışı kesilmiş olsa da gök gürültüsü ve sağanak sabaha kadar devam etti. Pelin uyku arasında iki kez yıldırımın ışığının neden gök gürültüsünden önce gelmediğini sordu. Pelin Özsoylu kanunlarına göre evlenmeden önce aynı yatakta yatmak caiz olmadığından ben yatağa dönüşebilen koltukta uyuyordum. Kendisine cevap vermedim, zira benim de kendime göre kurallarım vardı.

Sabah ortalık bir parça sakinleşmiş gibiydi, gökyüzü yine kapalıydı ve yağmur yağıyordu ama en azından gök gürültüsü yoktu. Evden Pelin’le birlikte çıktık, hanımefendi işe gitmek için hava taksisi çağırdı. Taksiye binerken “Dün patronla sıkı bir pazarlık yaptım, maaşıma zam yapabilirler” dedi. Pelin konforundan zerre taviz vermediği halde kapsül motosiklete sıra geldiğinde düğün masraflarını bahane ediyordu. O kapsül motosikleti alacaktım, Pelin buna engel olamazdı.

Yolda süpersonik arabaların arasından slalom yaparak geçerken yağmur yeniden sağanağa dönüştü. Amerikan futbolu topuna benzeyen kapsül motosikletleri içinde millet hiç ıslanmadan seyahat ediyordu. Bense ıslanmış bir sıçan gibi titreyerek yol alıyordum. Birdenbire kaskımın üzerine kocaman bir kurbağa düştü, daha küçük olan bir ikincisi montumdan sekerek yanımdaki elektrikli otomobilin tavanına kondu. Motosikletimi yolun kenarındaki bir giyim mağazasının tentesinin altına çekip büyümüş gözlerle olup biteni izlemeye başladım. Yağmurla birlikte gökten sadece kurbağa değil salyangoz da yağıyordu.

Yanıma park eden diğer bir motosikletli “Tam da bugün patrondan zam isteyecektim, şansa bak” dedi.

Herkes maaş zammıyla kafayı bozduğu için en büyük patron olan Tanrı bizi cezalandırıyor olmalıydı. Kurbağa ve salyangozlar artık yol üzerinde ince bir tabaka oluşturduklarından trafik tümüyle durmuştu. Kurbağalar şaşkınlık içinde sağa sola zıplıyor, onlarca amatör gazeteci akıllı telefonlarıyla bu tarihi olayı kaydetmeye çalışıyordu. Üzerime doğru sıçrayan kurbağaya voleyi çakacağım sırada tüm salyangoz ve kurbağalar birdenbire ortadan kayboldu.

Yanımdaki çocuğa “Kurbağaları sen de gördün, değil mi?” diye sordum.

“Evet, neyse ki yok oldular, burada hayati tehlike altında yaşıyoruz, %20 zam az bile” dedi çocuk.

Millet gökten sadece yağmur yağdığına emin olduktan sonra trafik yeniden hareketlendi. 20 gündür aralıksız yağan yağmur yüzünden motosikletimin selesinde yeşeren otları koparıp yoluma devam ettim.
İşyerinde masama henüz yeni yerleşmiştim ki Masal iki elinde iki kahve fincanıyla yanıma geldi.

“Sana fındık aromalı kahve getirdim Metin, kek de var” dedi Masal.

“Böyle muamelelere alışık olmadığım için her an ağlayabilirim” dedim.

Çantasından çıkardığı keki önüme koyarken “Kurbağa ve salyangoz yağmış, dedem bunların kıyamet alameti olduğunu söyledi” dedi.

“En tuhaf olanı birdenbire ortadan kaybolmaları” dedim.

“Neyse, umarım her şey yoluna girer. Sana bir şey sorabilir miyim?”

“Elbette” dedim ne soracağını merak ederek.

“Sence %8 maaş zammını kabul edeyim mi? Geçen hafta bir iş görüşmesi yaptım, %20 zamma denk gelecek bir maaş veriyorlar”

“Bence kabul et, ama elinde daha yüksek bir teklif olduğunu sezdir onlara, %8’lik teklifi değiştirmeseler de bir sonrakinde mutlaka dikkate alırlar” dedim.

“Yazılımcıların kafası farklı çalışıyor” dedi Masal gülümseyerek.

“Kafam o kadar çok çalışsa kapsül motosikletim ve nazımı çeken bir sevgilim olurdu” diye düşündüm ama bunu dile getirmedim. Neyin ne olacağı hiç belli olmazdı.

Öğlene doğru, çok yoğun çalışıyormuş gibi yapıp bir yandan patronun yapacağı zammın oranını tahmin etmeye çalışırken Batu “bomba haber” diye bağırdı. Bürodaki herkes yerinden fırlayıp Batu’nun başında toplandı.

“Taksim meydanına dev gibi bir ispermeçet balinası ölüsü düşmüş” dedi Batu, balinanın farklı açılardan çekilmiş fotoğraflarını göstererek.

“Oraya nasıl gelmiş ki” diye sordu Masal.

“Fatih Sultan Mehmet karadan yürüterek getirmiş, birazdan Haliç’e indirecekmiş” dedim.

Herkes Taksim’deki güvenlik kamerasının balinanın meydana düştüğü anı gösteren görüntüsünü izlemekle meşgul olduğu için esprimi kimse dikkate almadı. Batu daha sonra ekrana bir internet televizyonunun yaptığı canlı yayını yansıttı. Büyük bir kalabalık balinanın çevresinde toplanmış, ellerinde rengarenk şemsiyelerle durmaksızın yağan yağmurun altında olup biteni izliyordu.

Akşam motosikletimle Levent’ten Zekeriyaköy’deki evime dönerken Büyükdere Caddesi üzerinde trafik sakindi. Yağmurun şiddeti azalmış ve ortalığa tekinsiz bir sükûnet hâkim olmuştu. Anaforlar yaratarak yayılan ve yavaş yavaş gökyüzünü kaplayan kara bulutlar yüzünden hava erkenden kararmıştı. Önce dondurucu bir rüzgâr esmeye başladı ve ardından yolun kıyısına kocaman bir buz parçası düştü. Oğlum Metin bu sefer iş ciddi dedim kendi kendime. Şiddetlenen rüzgârın getirdiği soğuk havayı iliklerime kadar hissediyordum. Gökyüzünden bir anda her biri birer bıçak gibi keskin buz parçaları bir sağanak halinde dökülmeye başladı. Ölümümün yakın olduğunu hissettiğim o anda bir tür aydınlanma yaşadım. Pelin beni seviyordu aslında, sadece karakteri bunu açıkça ifade etmeye uygun değildi. Gökten düşen jilet gibi keskin buz parçalarından birkaçı vücuduma saplandı ve dünya üzerindeki varlığım son bulurken önümde uzanan yol pikseller halinde dağılarak yok oldu.

İkinci Bölüm

“Maaş zammı simülasyonu bir milyonun üzerinde kod satırı içeren olağanüstü karmaşık bir sistem. Bu sistem üzerinde çalışanlarınızdan Metin İzsüren için oluşan log kayıtlarını dinlediniz. Müşterilerimize yapılan raporlamayı çok daha özet bir seviyede tutuyoruz. Malum herkesin ilgilenmesi gereken birçok konu var” dedi Bora Peremencioğlu.

“Bu sıkıntı başımıza ilk defa gelse, kalkıp buralara kadar gelmezdim. Bu sistemi kullanarak Demirkol Holding’in 28 şirketinde çalışan onbini aşkın arkadaşımız için maaş zammı kararı veriyoruz. Her sene simülasyon için enflasyonun çok üzerinde fiyat artışları istediniz. Çok da makul bulmadığımız bu artışları her seferinde kabul ettik. Parasını düzenli ödediğimiz bir pazar araştırmasından bir aydır yararlanamıyoruz. Bu yıl yaşadığımız üçüncü kesinti bu” diye cevap verdi Serkan Sezer. Tam da maaş artış dönemine denk gelen bu kesinti canını çok sıkmıştı.

Serkan Sezer bazı müşterilerin yaşadıkları mağduriyeti abartarak kendilerinden fazladan taviz koparmaya çalıştıklarını biliyordu. Bora Peremencioğlu’nun gerçekten ciddi bir mağduriyet yaşadığını düşündü. Demirkol Holding çok önemli bir müşteriydi ve kendileriyle çalışmaya devam etmeleri çok kritikti. Demirkol Holding’e verdikleri önemi göstermek üzere toplantıya yurt dışındaki ana şirketten de katılım olmasını sağlamıştı. Sözü toplantıya holo-konferans yoluyla katılan Marc Klaas’a verdi. Marc Klaas Bora Peremencioğlu’nun anlamadığı bir sürü teknik açıklama eşliğinde hatanın yerel yazılımcılardan birinden kaynaklandığını söyledi.

Serkan Sezer araya girip açıklama yapma ihtiyacı hissetti. “Sorun aslında yerelde simülasyonun işletilmesinden sorumlu yazılımcı arkadaşımızın maaş artışını beğenmemesinden kaynaklandı. Beklediği terfiyi alamadığı gibi maaşına da zam yapılmadığını gören İsmail Öcal adındaki yazılımcı arkadaşımız simülasyona Weather Events adında bir kod bloğu eklemiş. Bilgisayar oyunları için ekstrem hava olayları yaratan bu kod bloğunu simülasyona ekleyen arkadaşımızla yollarımızı ayırdık”.

“Mikail’e bak sen. Öç alayım derken ne işler açtı başımıza” dedi Bora Peremencioğlu.

“Mikail değil efendim, İsmail. Yıl içinde yaşanan diğer kesintiler de arkadaşımızın yaptığı uygun olmayan eklemelerden kaynaklanmıştı. Simülasyonla artık bu konularda çok daha yetkin olan bir diğer yazılımcı arkadaşımız ilgileniyor. Az önce bana en geç önümüzdeki hafta başında sistemin yeniden sağlıklı bir biçimde işlemeye başlayacağı bildirdi. Bu arada bu yıl yaptığınız tüm ödemeleri şirketinize iade edeceğiz. Umarım böylesi bir aksaklığı bir daha yaşamayız.” dedi Serkan Sezer.

“İnşallah söylediğiniz gibi olur. Göstermiş olduğunuz hassasiyet için teşekkür ederim” diye cevap verdi Bora Peremencioğlu.

Sort:  

Bize çok bilgi veriyorsunuz. Teşekkürler

It’s a real life story. Just felt like I’m the story character. Heart touching article. Awesome

Love to this awesome story. Scifi is my love and life.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Fantastic and amazing, thank you for choosing such themes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23