Have You Ever Seen a Shadow Figure? - Supernatural Writing Contest

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Or maybe you've seen an angel? I've seen both. @JerryBanfield is hosting a pretty cool writing challenge all about sharing our personal supernatural experiences. Check out his page to find out more about it. I haven't participated in a contest yet...but this one grabbed my attention.

I love this challenge because I'm fascinated by the supernatural, but have been too afraid to share some of my own stories publicly before. You'll see why if you keep reading.

I'm still a little afraid, but I'm inspired to share, anyway. That's the beauty of Steemit, and part of the point of this challenge. Steemit gives us the freedom to share. This is going to be fun.

Story No. 1- The Black Shadow Figure

I was told that the beach condo was haunted, but I stayed there anyway.
I wasn’t afraid.

I didn’t really believe in ghosts... but a part of me wondered if the haunting story was true. I was curious, more than anything.

The back room was supposedly haunted by a middle-aged lady, according to my uncle who had stayed there a year before. He had woken up in the middle of the night to see his wife standing over him by the side of his bed.

He started to ask her what she was doing ...

...when he looked over and saw that she was still asleep beside him.

When he looked back up again, the figure that looked eerily similar to his wife had disappeared.

The next day, my little cousin was playing in this same bedroom. He suddenly ran out into the living room, eyes wide as sand dollars on the beach, screaming “The blinds just moved by themselves! I saw a lady move across the mirror, but I was the only one in the room!”

My aunt and uncle refused to stay in that condo again after that.

So, the next year when we planned a trip to Florida, I volunteered to stay in the "haunted" condo while they took a different one.

I was supposed to sleep in the “haunted” bedroom with my friend that I brought to the beach with me…but we started freaking ourselves instead of sleeping.

We ended up going to the living room to sleep. The thought of waking up to a lady standing next to us suddenly felt very real and very terrifying while lying there in the dark.

My friend fell asleep quickly in the living room, but I was still awake, just staring off towards the direction of the kitchen. It was pitch black.

Then, in the darkness, I saw a black shadow figure, hovering in the air above the kitchen floor. He was shaped like a man wearing a cape. He had no eyes or features that I could see.

“That’s not possible,” I thought. “You can’t see black on black…you’re imagining things. Also, this place is haunted by a woman…not a black shadow figure. Go to sleep," I told myself.

The next day, I walked out to the beach with my family, but my friend said she wanted to stay behind for a bit to do some work on her computer. I had only been outside for all of 5 minutes, when she came running out on the sand, super panicked.

She was panting heavily as she yelled “You guys! I just saw a black shadow figure floating in the kitchen! 😱 ”

It was pure daylight, so there’s no way her mind was playing tricks on her.
Plus, I’d obviously seen it too, the night before.

We never saw the ghostly lady in the condo on that trip. Did the mysterious black shadow figure scare her away?


Story No. 2- The Story I've Been Too Afraid To Tell

I’ve never shared this story publicly because I actually feared being put in the looney bin if I told it. And I still do fear that a little bit.

So, let's just say, this is for Steemit eyes only.

First of all, you should know I’m not crazy (well, except for the time I jumped off of a waterfall. That was a little nuts).

I know what I saw was real.

I was 9 years old. I couldn’t sleep. I stared out into the lit hallway, trying to quiet my racing mind.

All of the sudden, the prisms of light that were cast onto the wall from the ceiling light started shifting into indistinguishable shapes that danced across the hall.

After some time...

The shapes on the wall slowly began to form a clear image.

The first image looked like a manger scene you’d see at Christmas time. It looked like Mary and Joseph, kneeling over baby Jesus. None of the figures had eyes, or noses, though.

They were just faces with no features.

Suddenly, the image changed.

Now it was the picture of Mary, Joseph, and Jesus going to Nazareth on a camel.

The images started changing faster. And faster. Similar to flip books that were popular in the 90s, with the image moving quickly and changing as you flipped through the pages.

Only instead of changing scenes in a book, it was happening right there on the wall.

The scenes start to change even faster. My eyes could hardly keep up the pace. The scenes before me kept going all through Jesus’ life on earth.

They flipped all the way to Him dying on the cross.

And then?

The images suddenly stopped.

And in the place of fast-moving images… there was a large image of an angel.

This angel was huge, from the floor to the ceiling.

She had light brown hair and wore a blue dress. Her face was featureless as well, no eyes, nose or lips at all. There was something about that angel though that was comforting.

She kind of looked like this:

The next morning after seeing this, I found out my grandma had died the night before.

Was she taking her very last breaths as the images were shifting on the wall? Was her final breath at the moment that the images stopped shifting and left an angel in her wake?

I’ll never know the answers to these questions...

But I think about it from time to time.

Was the angel image on the wall there to remind me that she was happy in heaven, and I could be at peace? Was she watching over me?

The angel image appeared again each night but slowly faded away with time, harder to distinguish as the months passed by.

We moved away from that house and never went back.

Sometimes I wonder what would happen if I could go back, knock on the door, and ask to see the house. I wonder if the faded remains of the angel still reside in the hallway at night, watching silently over those who now live there.


Story No. 3- The Man Who Disappeared

I couldn’t move. I couldn’t breathe.

I tried desperately to come up from under the water, clawing at it like a caged animal trying to break free. But the weight of my brother on top of me held me down, pushing me further and deeper into a hopeless despair.

What a difference from two minutes before when I had been peacefully asleep on a raft, unconsciously drifting far from the shoreline…

... unaware that I was slowly gliding toward my ultimate demise.

I knew how to swim…

...if he would just stop struggling, maybe I could drag us both to shore.

But I couldn’t get above the water to tell him that.

A kick here, a shove there. The more he panicked, the worse things became.

And then, a wave came, tossing us both like a tumbleweed in the desert.

As a person who is already incredibly directionally challenged, being tossed about by a wave does NOT make things any easier when trying to figure out which way is up.

Right, left, up, down… nothing made sense as I tried to come up and gasp for air.

For all I knew, I was going down instead of up.

Panic choked me with it’s long, icy fingers and cold steely grip. The fear settled deep into my chest, like a cough that wouldn’t go away.

My heart was beating so fast, it could've won an Olympic race.

I tried to scream for help, but when I opened my mouth, my lungs were filled with murky seawater. And probably fish urine.

My salty tears became one with the ocean. I could not tell where my tears ended and the ocean began.

Terror and anxiety pounded me in the stomach as I thought “This is it. We’re going to die here…and it’s going to be all my fault. I hope my mom won’t be mad at me. I couldn’t save my brother.”

I’d seen him drowning, but didn’t know that trying to save him was going to cost me my life, too.

I was too young to die. We were too young to die.

But no one was around us. We were going to die here, alone.

At only 8 years old, my body was giving up quickly...even though my mind had a different agenda and wanted to keep on fighting.

As hope faded away…

... my thrashing body suddenly went still.

Silence.

Confusion.

What was going on?

Our bodies were both lifted from the water by someone I didn’t recognize.

I wasn’t supposed to talk to strangers…

…but we weren’t really doing much talking, so I figured this was okay.

Now, this guy put the strange in stranger.

There was something odd about him.

Despite the fact that we were in water that was at least 15 feet deep, he carried us effortlessly, as he walked through the water.

That’s right. He didn’t swim us to shore. He just…calmly walked through the water, as if his feet were on solid ground.

He set us on shore and I turned to my brother to see if he was okay.

When I saw that he was alright, I turned to thank the man who had saved us…

...but he was gone.

Nowhere to be found. He had disappeared into thin air as quickly as he had appeared from it.

There were no footprints on shore to indicate where he’d gone.

The only reason I believed that he had really ever been there at all is that I was alive.

I am living, breathing proof that this "man" exists.

Some say that angels roam the earth, and we could interact with them at any moment, without ever never knowing it.

I know this man was an angel, and he saved my brother and me. Because I was spared, I hope to spread good in the world and live a life full of purpose.


Thanks @jerrybanfield for hosting this super fun contest! And thanks to @gmichelbkk for helping! These writings are my @originalworks. P.S. Images are from the google.

Word Count: 1,823

👉 👉 I've got another story to share about the time I accidentally bought a cursed item in Guatemala... comment if you'd like me to write it! 👻

Sort:  

I am so touched by your experiences especially, the way your lives were saved by the person whom I would call God. God watches us all the time and will give us a chance to do our bit and when it fails, he will simply help us. No need to ask. do write more about your experiences. I thank Jerry for connecting all of us. you are not looney, there are many like you who are chosen to get messages. I too have seen apparitions and my son and husband did too. My fil died two years back and last year, we saw a shadow of someone walking to my mil who is having dementia. Till then, she was not able to remember anything or speak legibly but now she recognises and also tries to talk to us. Maybe he had come to help her. They were very close to each other. we did not see it after that.

Thank you SO much for reading my post!! And for making me feel like I'm not crazy, and not alone. Also, thanks for sharing your experiences here on this comment and in your post as well.

I'm also thankful that Jerry connected all of us. It's true about God watching us and helping us. People don't think about it very much in day to day life.

I really appreciate your thoughtful comment and feedback. Especially because I'm new on steemit, it's really encouraging to get feedback and hear people's thoughts when you're really putting yourself out there for the first time.

welcome and hugs

OMG!! Those first two incidences happen with me also but in a different way, I didn't include it in my post.

My mom used to hang a lantern at the corner of kitchen's entry as 24hrs electricity was just a dream at that time. From our bed, I could see the dimly lighted lantern, one day of winters in middle of the night I saw a shadow near lantern and he was waving towards me. It freaked me out and I choose to become statue inside my blanket with my eyes closed(childhood trick) 😂 and...

... I saw changing patterns on cloud while I went to take cow milk from one cattle nearby our quarter house. I saw tanks, fighter jets and all fighting with each other

I couldn't remember the whole incidence but those changing clouds made me mad. I informed this whole incidence to my mom and few other people there and no one believed me.🙄

But trust me that was true because I saw it, and I am sure

Your story really helped me to believe in myself.
That last incidence is a real miracle happened with you. GOD is helping you for something big, Your life is very important 😉


भगवान् के भरोशे मत बैठिये...
क्या पता भगवान् हमारे भरोसे बैठा हो।

Don't sit and wait around for God to do something ... Who knows God is probably waiting for us to do something

Thanks so much especially for the last sentence you wrote!! :) Hahaha I also did the statue trick as a child. NO WAY!!! You saw changing patterns, too?!?? That's amazing. I never told anyone because I also thought no one would believe me and would say I'm crazy! I believe you. Hopefully now other people can believe you too. I'm glad to know that it happened to someone else and not just me!

You won't believe but I also jumped from around 15ft high stage in my childhood and I still don't know why 😂

We have so many common incidences and I don't know why 😅

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Your post is very nice ..i like it ...thanks to share

thank you for reading

Congratulations @nomadicsoul, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 4927 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3613.87. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Upvote and follow back bram17

Did you enjoy reading it? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nomadicsoul from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

The best amazing...

This post has received a 100.00 % upvote from @spotlight thanks to www.resteemit.com.

I like this story. Please keep going on your work. And remember me.

Thank you! I'll remember you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77