The Unparalleled Power of a Good Story

in #story6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1676.JPG
Photo by: Lisa L Peters ©

Yesterday morning I was listening to a fascinating radio piece about a painting about to go to auction. A lost work of Leonardo da Vinci. A masterful portrait painted with all of the earmarks of the quintessential renascence man. It is said to be a perfect representation of his skillful style. Perhaps too perfect... In fact, it cannot be fully authenticated. And it's not in great condition.

In spite of this, the painting sold for over $450 million USD.


So why would anyone be willing to shell out that amount of money for an ambiguous, old, deteriorated piece of art?

The answer is simple: It came with a priceless story.

Humans cannot resist a good story. We need the wonder, the provocative and intriguing possibilities to feed our imaginations and spark our senses. A good story transports us, transforms us, transcends the boundaries around us. It can elevate our place and our purpose. It can literally change who we are...if only in our minds, if only for a moment.

Advertisers know this. Marketers, writers, artists. Anyone adept at allure and seduction knows this.


We are all innate storytellers. It's in our bones, our DNA. Communication in all its forms is nothing more than storytelling. Some of us are better than others. Or perhaps some are simply more focused or try harder.

But let me ask you this: If the difference between a junky, dilapidated old painting and a priceless work of art is nothing more than a good story, what could that mean for you? What in your life could use an extreme makeover, a massive upgrade? And what if - indulge me here - all it took to make that happen was, in fact, a good story?


Five and a half years ago, I was a woman facing unemployment and the death of my mother. I was lost and stunned. I'd spent nearly a decade telling other people's stories...or at least modifying my own to nestle neatly inside narratives that cast me as nothing more than an incidental plot point. My life wasn't mine. I'd forgotten who I truly was.

I'd always wanted to be a photographer. My dad is one. I grew up in his darkroom. It's deep in my blood. But my photographic story ended there. I was a woman who wanted to be a photographer.

Then one day - 1 August 2013 to be precise - a switch flipped deep in my soul. I picked up the old Nikon d700 my dad had bought for me secondhand and declared out loud, "I am a photographer."

Instantly, my story began to change. I took photos every day. I posted them on social media. I joined photo groups and submitted work to curations and contests. I walked around carrying cameras. And guess what happened: Everyone believed me! I was suddenly a photographer. A celebrated one at that.

My story still evolves daily. And the better it gets, the more detailed, the richer, and the more impassioned, the better my life becomes. No one gave a crap about the woman who wanted to be a photographer. But the woman who'd spent countless hours as a little girl assisting her daddy in his darkroom and can still evoke the sour smells and the red light...who strayed from her path...only to find her way back to a camera after meeting tragedy and setback...who spent every day for four years teaching herself the art of photography and has had work shown in Porto, Milan, Florence, Paris, Los Angeles, and other cities around the globe...THAT woman has a good story!

Change your story, change your life.

Sort:  

You are dead spot on with this one! 👌

I have my moments 😉

Congratulations @outrayjust! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This was very inspiring, especially for a wannabe photographer like myself who is still hesitant about calling himself like that. Beautifully written.

I'm so glad it inspired you! Take the leap, my friend. You are a photographer!

you are right i also inspiring on this post

I LOVE this post - or better, this story! :) It is very meaningful and touching, and just please share it everywhere possible, everyone should read this :D!

I'm so glad it spoke to you. I'm always excited to connect with a fellow ENFP!

I really loved your post @outrayjust. You are right. A good story can make a change in your point of view. Thank you for making me smile and please never stop writing! You have a talent. :)

I'm very pleased you connected to it🙏🏻

Wow! I loved your story. Very inspiring.

Thank you. 😊

You are welcome.

nice one @outrayjust
i was also amazed of the news of the huge sale but as you rightly said...there is huge potential and power in a a good story...thanks for sharing this..

My pleasure. 😊 Thank you for reading.

Welcome as always 😋

I am voting your post so hopefully you will upvote my post....

Congratulations @outrayjust, this post is the tenth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 849 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3611.35. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37