TALES FROM HIGH SCHOOL- MY LONG KEPT SECRET

in #story5 years ago

I had a very close friend in high school, she was every bit of the attention grabber. Not that she sought for the attention her self, infact she did not even have too, her skin tone, charming smile and personality did all that for her.

I was regarded as one of the most cutest girls in school, but i would loose to her, no one would even notice my presence once i stood next to her. This was no problem to me at all, and i still loved my friend regardless.

This came with alot of attention from boys to men, including teachers. Both good and bad kind of attention..
Most times, i , the best friend had to deal with it as the boys seeking for her attention would pass through me to get to her. Most of them tried to impress me first, you know, the whole Shebang, buy me things, and little favours here and there just to get me into convincing my friend to consider their "proposals".
We were in boarding school far away from the city, so most of the things used to bribe me were canteen sold break fast goodies such as fried cassava, chapatis, maandazis, samosas, fried potatoes and all those small things that are true treasure for a Ugandan boarding school kid. These things were great treat because our breakfast consisted of Plain maize flour porridge with no sugar , Or roasted soya powder Tea.

A guy would have done the most if he bought me Dairy milk chocolates and apples. Now that was considered a real deal as those things came rare and they were not found in school canteens so one had to send for them from out of school, or go out of school him self to get them, which was never an easy thing to do. Oh and Milk, yes, milk was a rare luxury. If a guy had a little bit more cash (from his pocket money) then he would go to the far lengths of buying a take away meal of chips and chicken. We liked the chips and chicken guys more ofcourse as that was a treasure compared to the boiled beans we used to have for lunch and supper on a daily in boarding school.

Well, among all the guys that liked my friend, Daniel stood out the most. To be honest, i am yet to meet a guy like him, persistent, consistent , passionate, thoughtful and very Romantic, he had the right amount of feminity to him that made him very caring and soft spoken, i liked him for her, to me he was the most genuine and deserving, but my friend disagreed with this.
For almost 2 years, Daniel consistently did things to please her. He wrote her love letters almost every night, sent her flowers from time to time, we never ran out of chocolates and apples were a daily bread. Aside from the material things, he spent all his free time either plotting his next surprise fo her, talking to me about his love for her or wanting to spend time with her. The latter was more special, not only because he got chance to spend time with the most important person in his life, but mostly because she rarely paid him any sort of attention. To her, spending time was more like doing him a favor, she disliked him but for some reason, she still kept him around. Or maybe she told him , but he kept pushing, hoping someday she would place value in him.

Aaannnyyywwwaayyysss, back to the main story.
I was Daniels Main confidant when it came to his love pursuit for my friend. At some point, i believe he became more desperate to prove her worth to him, or earn his with her.
One Friday evening, he called me for a sit up to let me in on his master plan to surprise her.
In our boarding school, the female dormitory was far away from the boys dormitory. Both places were strictly prohibited for the opposite sex. There was a high wall surrounding the girls dormitory that boardered the village.
By 10pm, every one was supposed to be locked up in the dorm and be asleep on the bed. There was security guards and dogs that roamed around the school at night untill around 4am.

His master plan was that he wanted to deliver a surprise gift to the girls dorm, for her personally, at night when everybody is sleeping.
Knowing how strict this church school was , i had many concerns and asked questions. He seemed he had it all planned out perfectly and even though i thought he was crazy, he didn't let my concerns get to him. He was sure this would go perfect as planned and all he needed was my help to locate her dormitory room by putting a mark on the door and on her decker.
How crazy was this guy? To want to risk it all by breaking into the girls dorm just to deliver flowers and a box of chocolates? I told him he could easily just give them to any girl to deliver them safe and easy, even me, but he didn't want it the easy way. He also mentioned that he wanted to see where she slept , that would give him some sort of fulfillment. This sounded crazy but i did not think of him as psycho or anything.

That night, as everyone slept, i got bit of oil and dropped a few drops on the door to her dorm room, i then put small white chalk markings on the door as he had instructed me too. I also tied her sweater around her bed handle and gave him verbal instructions to where her bed was located.
I went to sleep very late that night while making sure i had done everything right, without creating any suspicion . It took me long to fall asleep that night as any small sound from outside made me think it was him, I eventually fell asleep, deeply.

Next morning i woke up to a bit of commotion, amusement and whispers all around the dorm.
My heart skipped a beat in fear that the plan had gone wrong, i trembled. I jumped off the Tripple decker and went straight to my friends Dorm. Her dorm was filled with lots of people , each of them saying their own thing, i went straight to my friends bed and there she was standing, looking a bit confused, and beside her was the most beautiful bouquet and a box of chocolates, with a stuffed animal.
She looked at me with frustration mixed with confusion on what had just happened. Before i could even say "A", word had already reached the matron and the deputy Principal , and they were on their way.
What had actually happened is that someone had locked their dormitory door, so instead of dropping the surprise on her bed, he had to pass it through the window and on someone else's bed. He had written a note addressed to my friend and he actually woke the lady up and told her to deliver the package to my friends bed. After saying that, he immediately fled away and she did not get chance to see his face or which he way he fled too. It was in the wee hours of the morning already.
Now instead of the girl to quietly go and and drop the package as instructed, she raised alarm, which woke everybody up in that dorm.
Ofcourse there's no way she woke up to that shock that she would not raise an alarm, especially because she did not know who it was, and male figures were strictly not allowed into the boys dormitory. So the fact that this had happened,. It must have occured to her as a terrible nightmare and she must have been in great shock, hence the alarm.

When the matron and the assistant principal arrived, after assessing the situation, they called aside my friend, i and the girl who received the flowers. I was called of course because i was the best friend .
We were called in for an interrogation , and was asked basic questions if we had any idea who it was. We all knew who it was. He was the only guy knows to send flowers to my friend on a weekly basis, I obviously knew but we knew what harm the repurcussions of his actions would do and we decided not to snitch.. SOLIDARITY.
We did not discuss it and i of course did not tell my friends that i had a hand in it but we knew he had the best if intentions and we individually decided to hide his identity.

My friend was not at all pleased with this sweet gesture as it was a huge risk and it would have resulted into a more serious situation had it gone wrong. Realizing this, i swore to my self to die with this secret and i have since done that, untill today. Its been 13 years
My friend is now happily married (i hope) to another man. She never gave Daniel a chance,even after we graduated high school. Although i am told that she realized the mistake she made and she wished she gave him a chance. I don't know how she will take it if she knew that i was part of it. But i am quite confident she will understand that it was all with intentions to make her happy.

High school days were the best days for me. I will live to cherish those moments.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Sounds like a teen comedy movie!

Looking back now, yes it sure does.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73