The abandoned steel mill and Sam's story

in #story6 years ago

oleg.png

I have only posted small segments of this story; no extra reading required.

@oleg326756 granted permission for use of his photograph.

An abandoned passage that workers used to get to the now-decommissioned steel factory, Forsbacka Bruk.

Since you are reading part of a scene know that:
  1. Sam is the main character
  2. Maggie is Sam’s dog
  3. Ben rescues Sam in a previous scene.

Scene

Ben sounds anxious, “Hate to break up your reunion with Maggie, but we’ve got to get going. I know this neck of the woods, follow me, we’ll be safe … if we keep moving.”

His voice quickens, “There’s an abandoned tunnel, part of an old steel mill; I believe we can make it there before sunset. It’s a supply station for the Resistance.”

Hiking through the nearby forest I look back, Maggie is wagging her tail.

I wonder if there’s any whiskey or beef jerky.

Ben slows down a bit and points to my arm, “Sam we need to get those metal sleeves off your arms; it must have been some stay at the Robot Reserve.”

Shivers run up my spine thinking of the crash that let up to the metal sleeves, “Ben despite all I went through, I know technology saved my life; robots or not.”

Picking up our pace we come into a clearing. Nearby, I hear a stream with fresh water flowing.

Ben points in the direction of the stream, “Time to clean up and get something to drink.”

I have to ask, “Is the water safe to drink?”

Ben looks over at the water and then me, “Last time I was here it was. Maggie seems to think so; look at her, she’s lapping it up.”

Sitting down we take off our shoes then wade across the stream. In one step and I feel the water wrapping around my ankles. Flashes of light start blocking my ability to see well and I hear buzzing.

The stream is triggering my memories of the Enforcers trying to purge my mind of any memories. Once captured it is their mission; if Ben and the others hadn’t shown up when they did my memories would be toast.

“Ben I don’t think I ever knew anything about this supply post. Thank God for your memory either way.”

We enter the tunnel and see some of the bricks are beginning to fall out of the walls. Still it is a strong hold.

I keep reminding myself this is a place to meet up with others in the Resistance, to get a plan, and most of all something to eat. I can’t wait to see what supplies are stored.

Metal beams are supporting the walls overhead and there is a brick floor leading through the tunnel.

Inspecting the long hall I see bricks on either side, an arched opening with what looks like someone dancing a type of jig. He seems glad to see us.

“Isn’t this great Sam? Just the way I remember. Looks like we have friends here, you’ll never guess who is motioning for us to join them.”

I look over at my dog, “Come on, Maggie let’s see.”

End of scene


Thank you @oleg326756 for use of your photograph - The original photo can be found here

Thanks for reading

Upvote, comment and resteem

@rebeccabe

Sort:  

You have chosen a great photo to use as your story background Rebecca, well done! Credit to the photographer as well!

Thank you for stopping by; this is one thing that Steemit is known for and that is generic comments.

You are welcome!
Your post/story deserve more audiences than this.

@roselifecoach You are so kind to say that. See it for me.
I am writing a story and only occasionally post some of a scene. When I saw this photo and thought it would be fun to write something about it into my story.

Yes, it really matches!

Wow! What a great story.
It is really very amazing.
Awesome photography. 😊
Yoy are such a great writer my dear friend. 🤗💙💚
I really loved your post.
I appreciate your work.
Wish a great success.
Love, light and peace.💕

Thanks @ rebeccabe for sharing this post.

what about the story did you like?

The first Bot or person to post a comment that makes sense (look up the word "sense" if needed) will receive 100% upvote because right now I have 3 comments that do not make sense to me. lol ❤️ gotta love Steemit

There's a lot of these people around here right now making comments that really wants to smack their head! LOL

Cant help but chuckle at this...

I enjoyed reading this scene; it made me want to read the previous parts to learn more of the story. And I’m cheering for Maggie!! :) Cannot wait to see who Sam and Ben will be joining at the supply station (and if there will be dog food for Maggie there ;)).

Great job, @rebeccabe!

thanks @oleg326756 your photo heoped.. I love that photo

Great writing sir. .Thanks for share

thanks for voting up my post... now I must share a secret with you: I am not a sir.

OK & Please Support me

The story is really very beautiful
Great writing great publishing

Beautiful story? What makes it beautiful?

Who does not like to see the natural scene. Everyone wants to visit the beautiful places of the world. We have become mechanical to see ourselves the buildings of the brick-cement-stone buildings around us. Difficulty in nesting the house. So maybe our mechanical city, where there is a lot of opportunities, as well as our sightseeing. Because we are naturally comfortable. Now we do not go to enjoy the wonderful landscapes at any place of trouble, where we have to face many problems. And that is why we go beyond our sights, some of the wonderful places in the world.


LOL what does this have to do with my post/ story?
I can't wait to hear.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63243.61
ETH 3078.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89