Nepal | Earthquake | Part 10

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Part 10

There was a storm in the night - rain, wind, lightening…the lot, and A LOT. So much so that I crawled out my tent to film it on my camera for a while. It doesn’t make for good viewing so I won’t post it but it was impressive enough (at the time) that I felt the need to document it in video form.

I just about settled back into my sleeping bag when there was a loud crack followed by some suspicious banging and tent zips unzipping. It was standard procedure to get out of your tent at the slightest rumbling, but this was a different sound. I unzipped my own tent and crawled out, I could hear mum shouting, before noticing the shelter the medics were sleeping under had collapsed in the storm…but the medics hadn’t come out. Fearing the worst, mum had run in to help them. I set about trying to hold together the frame of an exit so they could all get out. A load of drama for nothing really, turns out they slept through it all too!

IMG_5044.jpg
IMG_5047.jpg
IMG_5059.jpg
Moody skies

The next day would be the last in Dolakha for me. I had to get back to work, having already extended the trip an extra 2 weeks, plus I was tired and running out of money. This problem would be endless and I could only give so much. Olly and Roger would come too, we needed to catch up with the orphanage build to make sure it got off to a good start. The guys working on it were builders but their tools were basic and their techniques needed some…fine tuning.

IMG_5064.jpg
IMG_5081.jpg
IMG_5093.jpg
IMG_5092.jpg
IMG_5097.jpg

You can see the video of the damages here and the story here

After some wrestling with a mitre saw and figuring out how we would cut and bend the re-bar into shape, the team got off to a good start. The foundations had been partially dug out already and the rubble had been fully cleared. Olly set to work demonstrating best techniques, as an architect he had a very good eye for detail and high standards!

IMG_5105.jpg
IMG_5110.jpg
IMG_5113.jpg
IMG_5133.jpg
IMG_5152.jpg
IMG_5155.jpg

IMG_5162.jpg

I also managed to spend some time hanging out with the kids too, we had a kick about with a football for a while until the ball flew over the side of the big hill. It rolled a far way down as they laughed, “Gone” - one of the smaller kids scrambled down after it. One of the kids had a guitar, he was learning a Green Day song from a handwritten guitar tab.

IMG_5121.jpg
IMG_5131.jpg
IMG_5125.jpg
1x selfgoat
IMG_5137.jpg

I learnt that the orphanage was supported by an Australian couple. They been working on some other projects too. You can see the story they wrote about the rebuild here.

Also, now I have my videos back and I’m down with d.tube, you can find a short video here too!

x.jpg
1x extra selfgoat. @minnowbooster, please feel free to use my selfgoat images


You can find the other parts to this story below! Thanks for your support.

Nepal | Earthquake | Part 1
Nepal | Earthquake | Part 2
Nepal | Earthquake | Part 3
Nepal | Earthquake | Part 4
Nepal | Earthquake | Part 5
Nepal | Earthquake | Part 6
Nepal | Earthquake | Part 7
Nepal | Earthquake | Part 8
Nepal | Earthquake | Part 9

Other links
The Charity
More Photography
Instagram

Sort:  

I invite you to come and give him a look More info| my purpose @sammarkjames

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 6.54 % upvote from @bellyrub. Please make sure to vote for my pops as a witness @zeartul,Here

This post has received a 15.70 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @sammarkjames.

Very interesting, good post and I like, hopefully the next post better with a more perfect idea. follow me @pojan, Upvote and give a positive comment for me.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@pojan/at-the-gate-of-this-steemit-place-we-incised-the-decree-above-the-throne-crowned-pearly-grains-of-pearls-we-reign-on-each

Congratulations @sammarkjames, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2168 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2556.99. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25