Broken

in #story5 years ago

Miss Debbie to her bewilderment knew who the thief sitting right before her was, it's been 26 years she last saw him, then he was a little child with dreams but what happened? Was the question she was yet to have an answer to. Chukwuemeka noticed her emotions toward him and could see tears running down her cheeks, he was surprised to see a detective crying when he was suppose to be the one in such state. "I know your mum" Debbie broke out. "I don't have a Mum" chukwuemeka replied. Debbie knew he was right, the mum has abandoned him and his sister since when they were children and were left alone to survive on their own.
image
Source

"My sister"? Chukwuemeka shocked to know his sister is still alive , he had lost his way and couldn't return home. "I want to see her, where is she"? "Am sorry, she had a psychological trauma and is in a psychiatric hospital" Debbie replied "take me to where she is" he said.

Few days later, Mrs Smith had a knock on her door and advance to open the door, just immediately a young man holding a psychological derail girl dashed in as if being chased. Without saying a word , he took the girl straight into one of the bedrooms and lay her there. Mr and Mrs Smith rush suit. On setting eyes on them, Mrs Smith realized who they were and ran out to her bed room. "Who are those children"? Mr Smith asked his wife who was now crying. "They are my children" she replied. "You never told me you had children before we met" Smith said. "Am sorry" she replied. "I also have a secret, the girl who is serving as a maid ,is also my daughter, she is the fruit of my past relationship" Smith said. And the night all turned sorrowful for the household.

Mrs Smith knew Debbie must have been the one who directed her children to her new home, "that's wickedness" she thought but then who is more wicked, she had abandoned her children because she fell out of love with the father who happened to have impregnated her and refused his responsibility. "Whose fault is it, the children or her's"? . Now she finds it hard to apologize, she just didn't know how to ," what can I tell them that they would truly believe she is sorry about her actions. On this she kept weeping over day and night. Her husband narrated how hard it was for him also when he apologized to his daughter but then it finally ended just well.

After many tried and failed approach, Mrs Smith Dashed into her ex husband's office and narrated everything that is happening " our children are now back and I have been the one facing it all alone, I can't be having sleepless nights over the mistake that we both did while you are here with your new family having a peace of mind" Mrs Smith told him. "It wasn't their fault at all that they were born, we brought them into this world, abandoned them to either die or try to survive on their own, while we went our separate ways and made new families, I learnt Johnson whom I abandoned in the trashcan to die was picked and raised by some nun ,then sold him out to a family who pushed him out after they had their own children ,is now in the prison on a death sentence". With tears she ran out.

The home became a hell for Mr and Mrs Smith with chukwuemeka and his sister, he wanted the mother to pass through the same pain they passed through as children, and as he also kept in touch with his brother who was imprisoned.

Lucas decided to visit Johnson in the prison. "I can help you out, all I need is your cooperation, my name is Lucas, am a good lawyer, I learnt of your case and am interested in it, I will reopen your file and fight for you to be strip off this sentence probably give you some years in prison and you will be out soon" Lucas kept talking but Johnson was mute all this while. "Get out, the next time I see you, I will kill you" Johnson finally said a word. and stood up and left.

Back in the prison Johnson recapture what has transpired between him and Mr Lucas "the moment I saw him, I knew he was the man who had taken me all through this life of misery, I saw the resemblance, I heard it from his voice. I could see me in him and then I knew he was my father who had abandoned me right before I could even breath the air, I will never forgive me".

After fews weeks , Johnson encountered Christ in the prison and he later forgive his parents but asked them to witness his death ,
image
Source

he wanted them to forever bear the mistake of their past which was a strive from their youthful desire and chukwuemeka and his sister gave them a chance as well but then, they never forgot.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25