Junk Market

in #story5 years ago

I promised @dismayedworld I would take her to a car boot today, preferably one that doesn’t charge to park or gain admittance.

There are a couple of these nearby that cost £2 each to get in, and most of the time there’s nothing there so as well as the wasted fuel and time, I have made a point to veto such events.

I noticed one in Haslingden, Lancashire a few weeks ago while passing on Sunday morning that looked busy. If it’s busy in March when everyone is freezing their knackers off it must have something going for it.

IMG_6653.jpg

We arrived at about 9am, and it was in full flow. No charges for anything was a good sign and the sun shining another as it was taking that Baltic edge off the temperature.

Once upon a time I was up every Sunday going to these things in search of old computers such as Commodores, Acorns and Atari’s and picked up many, but those days are long gone.

IMG_6655.jpg

@dismayedworld was after vinyl to fuel her in going collection. At least records are cheap and plentiful, after all, nobody wants vinyl right?

You might think so, but there is a revival and after @bingbabe paid almost £30 for a NEW copy of Rubber Soul (The Beatles) a few days ago, it seems the demand is back but they are no longer made mass market.

IMG_6654.jpg

The junk market was a typical affair and I had to drag @dismayedworld away from a seller who was flogging old newspapers. This one dated 1945 and talking about the arrest of Nazi generals!

IMG_6656.jpg

This bunch of 33's looked interesting and in great condition except it was full of Patsy Cline, Jim Reeves and other material my father would like. That's besides this Simon and Garfunkel classic.

IMG_6658.jpg

£1 disappeared from my wallet and we had one in the bag. @dismayedworld at just 15 years is not impressed with current music and loves all this old stuff I’m into.

IMG_6657.jpg

We passed on Cluedo and Snakes and Ladders before finding a seller who dealt in just vinyl.

Let’s come back to him’, I said. I was after the 20p man, and these dedicated guys can be expensive.

IMG_6659.jpg

After passing a trunk that looked like it was from another time, and a load of old rope that was for sale, we found a dude selling a load of singles. He wanted a quid each, and they were in nice condition.

IMG_6660.jpg

I thought of offering him £10 for the lot before moving on and thinking better of it. I might have got a sock in the chin instead.

IMG_6661.jpg

Old flippers and this car radio were of no interest, though I had to explain what the latter was to @dismayedworld as she had never seen one before.

IMG_6663.jpg

I bought a nicked one once from the Barrows in Glasgow’, I explained. You had to assume that when buying anything Car Hi-Fi related from there.

IMG_6664.jpg

On our way back to the dedicated vinyl seller I noticed an old ruin in the background. Is that a potential Urbex site or just some old decrepit farmhouse?

IMG_6665.jpg

The vinyl man was selling his 33's for £1 or £2. Not bad compared to ‘Rubber Souls' price I thought.

IMG_6666.jpg

We got FOUR more there for £6 making the total outlay £7. Nothing newer than 35 years ago and we even bought ‘Duke’ for just a quid. I can’t argue with that!


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

What a cool boot market, I love visiting those you neve rknow what you will find, thats some cool vinyl you got, I still am annoyed I lost my collection of well over a 200 twenty or so years ago, the box supposedly got lost in the move, but I am sure someone actually stole the boxes with them and my camera gear which went missing in the move

Well that sucks! Box movers in the US don't impress me. When I was moving out of my apartment, one dropped a box and it went tumbling down the steps (was a 2nd floor apt). He didn't even apologise.

Actually i have never used movers here in the states yet have done it myself for the moves here
These were for earlier moves between countries

Very nice. I didn't understand what you were walking into for a second there. Now I get it is a flea market or swap meet. That is pretty cool. It looks like you got some great records. Patsy Cline is awesome by the way...

Patsy Cline is awesome by the way...

The number of comments about this woman.., I'll need to watch my words!

I think you just misjudged the timelessness of her :)

lol the Simon and Garfunkel photo on their LP is hilarious.

Yeah, 'Art' looks a little pissed off doesn't he?

Goodness me, Madonna was a looker back in the day :)

I used to frequent these car boot sales a couple of years ago when I was building stock for my store haha. Good times. The prices started creeping up after a while, like in charity shops too.

Looking forward to photos from that farm house haha.

Goodness me, Madonna was a looker back in the day :)

She was, and that was the newest one we got at circa 1981 :)

Looking forward to photos from that farm house haha.

I don't know whether its worthy of being named Urbex, more like UrbWreck!

The Barrows, hehe. You mean The Barras! :0) and yes, it would have been nicked. That's where I used to get all my pirated games and software

I think it's funny someone was selling old rope!

Yes, the Barra's, it was around 1990 before stereo's were pre-fitted in cars. My mate HootMon (the Cumbernauld guy) dragged me to this large dodgy market and I got a Blaupunkt nice looking one for not a lot.

Hehe, yeah. It's quite the place. Seedy and shady as heck lol!

People sell weird and wonderful stuff at these carboot sales not so! I find it fascinating as one often find real treasures there, although I have bought stuff I've never used and end up donating it back to charity!
That Simon & Garfunkel was a real find!

Posted using Partiko Android

They are not as good as they used to be. eBay has seen to that, but there are still technophobes who wont use the internet. The amount of pure crap you see is staggering!

I noticed the ruins on the hill even before I read your post. (That series seems to have me on the lookout for them. Sometimes I come across photos of things I would love to show you -- but I figure that prospect probably isn't terribly exciting to you.) You guys sure seem to have a lot of 'em.

Sometimes I come across photos of things I would love to show you -- but I figure that prospect probably isn't terribly exciting to you.

Oh please do, i'm sure things there would be much different than here.

Speaking of Urbex, expect one very soon.

I miss car boot sales. I went to loads as a kid in church car parks and fields but I’ve not been to one as an adult. I’ve heard they’ve changed a bit - perhaps with quality items not being present in favour of being eBay’ed. Also not sure I could handle the feisty nature of buyers and sellers! It’s a jungle out there

Posted using Partiko iOS

There's a few in your part of the world, I went to one in Halifax years ago on a huge car park. eBay has killed the quality of the items as you say and they are a shadow of what they once were for bargain hunters.

There's an oddly apocalyptic feeling to this -- people rooting around in other people's garbage.

They call them yard sales there, but surely that's not as good.. as its just one persons gear?

I know. The very prospect of "yard sales" leaves me cold -- but The Weasel loves them. (Now there's a surprise!!) They have something here called "flea markets." There's a huge one every other Saturday in Albuquerque, so big they hold it at the fair grounds ... and some people live for them. Believe me, I never saw the appeal. However ... some seem to think they get pretty good bargains there -- and the vendors get to know each other to the extent they can give advice to the customers as to who's apt to have what ... and where to look for things, etc. It's as much a social occasion as anything else. But still ... I just can't get into them.

I have a friend who hates to pay retail for anything -- and is constantly urging me to go. But the answer is always, "Thanks, but no thanks." That's one of the blessings of being so busy. I always have a good excuse.

However. A rather odd thing happened a few months back. I mentioned to The Weasel I wanted some ramekins to replace the ones I lost over the years. I thought they'd be a great place to put little individual servings of cheesecake ... and maybe discourage @catweasel from eating a whole cheesecake in one sitting. He's done that before. Believe it.

Naturally the request that he include them on an upcoming Amazon order went in one ear and out the other. (No surprise there either.) But on his way back from the grocery store the next day. (The very next day.) He passed a yard sale going on -- and while he's usually a fan, his first impulse was to keep on driving. He had frozen food in the car that needed to get home, etc., but for some reason the memory of my ramekins resurrected itself in his mind at just that moment. (I tell you, it's strange living with him. Considering.)

So ... he decided to stop. And lo and behold, he found a literally brand new boxed set of ramekins on one of the tables. They had all the packing materials inside and everything. Truly beautiful. They look like they might have been a wedding gift that never got used. (Probably lasted longer than the marriage did if the wife was an unimaginative cook. I have all kinds of reasons to use ramekins.)

Anyway, for two bucks his Valentine's Day shopping was solved. ("Here you go, honey. Happy Valentine's Day.") It's hard to complain under the circumstances. And I'm sure you know how hard it is to hear "I told you so." I like that one a whole lot better when it goes the other direction.

One more thing:

full of Patsy Cline, Jim Reeves and other material my father would like.

Me, too. Tread softly before you diss the old-time C&W greats. I grew up on them. (Maybe I'll start a music post series of my own and feature them. That would serve you right.)

This is a post in itself, nobody but nobody has comments as verbose as you!

Of junk markets, I rarely go but apart from the freezing temperatures this one was a change from the old routine. She hasn't played even one of those vinyls yet.. but is studying for her SAT's so I cant hassle her.

Me, too. Tread softly before you diss the old-time C&W greats.

No diss, my father was as big a music lover as me, but our tastes rarely overlapped.

I have to get to some of these as it has been years I have been to one! The family was talking about going to some Garage sales which are similar. I wonder what typebof things we will find!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80